Skip to page content
Glasgow archive/John Glasgow
Catalogue · 08 Sep 2026
Person dossier · Glasgow-4061

John Glasgow

before 1571-02-09 – after 1571-02-09

Tools
The research account

Current conclusion

This is the record-defined John Glasgow expressly called a son of [[Glasgow-1168|James Glasgow elder]] in the 9 February 1571 Corsinkell record. The relationship is direct and confident. The same wording makes [[Glasgow-3921|James Glasgow younger]] his brother.

Identity with [[Glasgow-3193|the John recorded at Burrowland and Dalgarven in 1559-60]] remains possible, not proved. No reviewed estate deed bridges those holdings to Corsinkell, so the profiles remain separate.

Glasgow-4061 · Read the complete current assessment

Birth
before 1571-02-09Place not recorded
Death
after 1571-02-09Place not recorded

The family

Explore →
James GlasgowWikiTree tree relationship
John GlasgowSelected person

No children attached here.

Relationship labels belong to each link. Partners are not assumed to be parents of every child.

A life in the records

Open the full chronology →

Personal events

  1. Death

  2. Birth

Records mentioning them

  1. Kin-inferred from father James Glasgow’s death place: Stevenston, Ayrshire, Scotland

    Mentioned person; role not specified

    Stevenston — Ayrshire

    One-Tree export profile fields are search leads, not sources; relationships are shown only where the export supplies parent links. This map placement is an estimate from kin and is not a directly recorded location for this person.

Later research and DNA dates 1
  1. research assessment

    Mentioned person; role not specified

    The 1559-60 list places John at one or two Kilwinning holdings while placing the two Jameses at neighbouring Corsankell; in 1571 James elder's son John is a Corsankell co-occupier. Multiple holdings were possible, and no competing regional John is known. The records do not carry a spouse or residence across the gap, so retain separate profiles and an uncertain father edge.

The research behind the story.

1 record associations →

Dated assessments, source transcriptions and earlier working notes remain available in full. Where those disagree, use the current conclusion above and inspect its reasoning.

Latest case researchThe current conclusion from the durable research case file.Updated

Conclusion

Glasgow-4061

This is the record-defined John Glasgow expressly called a son of [[Glasgow-1168|James Glasgow elder]] in the 9 February 1571 Corsinkell record. The relationship is direct and confident. The same wording makes [[Glasgow-3921|James Glasgow younger]] his brother.

Identity with [[Glasgow-3193|the John recorded at Burrowland and Dalgarven in 1559-60]] remains possible, not proved. No reviewed estate deed bridges those holdings to Corsinkell, so the profiles remain separate.

Life and record timelineChronological mapped occurrences and their underlying sources.1 record
b. 1571

Kin-inferred from father James Glasgow’s death place: Stevenston, Ayrshire, Scotland

Stevenston — Ayrshire

One-Tree export profile fields are search leads, not sources; relationships are shown only where the export supplies parent links. This map placement is an estimate from kin and is not a directly recorded location for this person.

Kin-inferred One-Tree profile leadunknown
Source and mapping detail

WikiTree profile export for Glasgow-4061

No sufficiently specific citation match found.

Precision: Kin-inferred relationship locality

Evidence assessmentWhat is supported, uncertain or disputed in the current case model.6 claims
2Original
1Tree Only

Documented or strongly supported

No claims in this category have been formally assessed.

Working hypotheses and conflicts

John Glasgow was probable same man as John Glasgow

probable1 linked evidence item

The 1559-60 list places John at one or two Kilwinning holdings while placing the two Jameses at neighbouring Corsankell; in 1571 James elder's son John is a Corsankell co-occupier. Multiple holdings were possible, and no competing regional John is known. The records do not carry a spouse or residence across the gap, so retain separate profiles and an uncertain father edge.

Research questionsOpen problems, missing bridges and the next records to inspect.4 open

Which records prove the subject's identity across events?

No current conclusion recorded.

Missing bridge: Not specified

Which original or indexed records identify the parents?

No current conclusion recorded.

Missing bridge: A contemporary record explicitly identifying the parent or parents.

Which spouses and children are directly supported by records?

No current conclusion recorded.

Missing bridge: Not specified

What conflicts or same-name conflations must be resolved?

No current conclusion recorded.

Missing bridge: Not specified

Sources and provenanceStructured citations and source-quality classifications.2 sources
Case-file source findings

Source findings

Glasgow-4061

National Records of Scotland, Charter Chest of the Earls of Glencairn, GD39/5/59, letters of reversion, 9 February 1571. The official catalogue describes the 40-shilling land of Corsinkell as occupied by “James Glasgow, elder James Glasgow and John Glasgow, his sons, Christian Campbell.” Catalogue entry inspected 30 August 2026; original open but off site, no online image.

For working on the evidence

Research tools and original material

Original imported identity & family snapshot

Preserved imported material. It may include superseded assertions; the current display assessment is shown at the top of this dossier.

At a glance

Identity & family

Tree links organise the family; documentary status still varies.

1Mapped records
1Close relations
3Evidence items
7Candidate leads
Birth
before 1571-02-09 · Place not recorded
Death
after 1571-02-09 · Place not recorded
Parents
James Glasgowconfident
Spouses
Not recorded
Children
Not recorded
Gender
Male
WikiTree
Glasgow-4061
Research clusters
Scotland One-Tree profile leads
Mapped descendants
0

Comparison context

These child positions and checks are the subject details used to rank possible parents below.

Naming sequence used by the parentage model

Paternal grandfather positionNot identifiable from dated child profiles
Maternal grandfather positionNot identifiable from dated child profiles
Maternal grandmother positionNot identifiable from dated child profiles
Paternal grandmother positionNot identifiable from dated child profiles

Known-position checks: 0 support · 0 conflict. Ordinals retain unnamed children and recognise reused names.

Candidate comparisons and scoring

Relationship comparison

Potential parents or duplicates

Compare scored leads with the subject details above—not proof.

Higher-signal leadReview carefullyWeak lead

No named children are recoverable, so child-naming analysis cannot be run.

How parent leads are calculated

Automated leads use birth surnames—not married surnames—as parental eligibility, role-specific biological age limits, bounded and approximate-date uncertainty, household chronology, specific time-aware localities, mapped distance, tenancy succession, migration destinations and sex-aware Scottish naming positions across generations. People already attached as the subject's parents stay in the identity summary and are excluded from this alternative-candidate list, regardless of relationship confidence. The main calibration uses clues available on disconnected profiles; existing parent and sibling links are retained as comparison context rather than treated as transferable evidence. Common ordered names and grandparent-to-child echoes receive a small non-zero weight, so a John or James match can support several independent criteria without producing a lead alone. Rare names, repeated bearers and bundles across otherwise distinct branches receive substantially more weight according to catalogue frequency. An exact migration place is weighted by its rarity and repetition across both branches; a shared destination country is worth only one point. Extra weight is added only when at least three independent clue types converge: naming, locality, specific migration, household chronology or collateral networks. Sparse profiles retain a clearly labelled chronology-only fallback instead of disappearing. Countries, states, counties and research clusters do not count as a shared locality, and fallback, broad representative or kin-inferred coordinates are excluded from distance scoring. Shared descendant profiles are removed before branch-name comparison. A candidate already recorded as a parent-in-law is excluded. A confident or independently supported parent is treated as settled; uncertain and unassessed attachments remain open to alternative comparison. A different linked parent, an uncle/aunt or grandparent path, and a matching existing child profile prevent an alternative from being classified as a strong direct-parent lead until the underlying tree conflict or duplicate is resolved. Familiar forms such as Bessie are normalised. Surname remains an eligibility filter worth zero points.

Naming customs, shared farms and occupations are circumstantial. Children, spouses and collateral relatives may be missing, and tree-derived family networks are not independent evidence. Scores rank research leads; they do not prove parentage.

Same-name candidate

John GlasgowGlasgow-1030

Automated fit43/100
Similar Person
Dates1570–?PlacesGlasgow, Lanarkshire, ScotlandParent comparisonNo shared parent is indexed
Why it may fit
  • same first and last name (+18)
  • birth years within 1 (+25)

uncertain father attachments differ (no deduction)

Full comparison detail
  • same first and last name (+18)
  • birth years within 1 (+25)

Conflicts: uncertain father attachments differ (no deduction)

Same-name candidate

John GlasgowGlasgow-1095

Automated fit18/100
Similar Person
Dates1475–?PlacesGlasgow, Lanarkshire, ScotlandParent comparisonNo shared parent is indexed
Why it may fit
  • same first and last name (+18)

record-derived birth estimates differ by 96; retained without deduction

Full comparison detail
  • same first and last name (+18)

Conflicts: record-derived birth estimates differ by 96; retained without deduction

How duplicate leads are calculated

Dates are eligibility gates, not merely deductions: chronologically impossible people are excluded. Dates, places, spouses, parent certainty and children's profiles and names are then compared. A high score is a prompt to inspect records, not a merge recommendation.

Structured data downloadsOriginal structured dossier
Technical profile and raw captureDataset metadata, machine dossier and captured WikiTree biography.Advanced

WikiTree profile information

Dataset: ONT_Glasco_2026-08-18T16_05.json · generated 2026-09-08

Machine-readable dossier

WikiTree biography, citations and relationship snapshot

Glasgow-4061 was captured 2026-09-07T21:05:55+00:00; WikiTree profile revision 2026-08-30.

Immediate relationship snapshot

RelationshipPersonWikiTree IDDates and places returned
ParentsJames GlasgowGlasgow-11681515-00-00 · Scotland · 1571-02-09 · Stevenston, Ayrshire, Scotland
SiblingsJames GlasgowGlasgow-39211540-00-00 · Scotland · 1571-02-09 · Stevenston, Ayrshire
SiblingsJohn GlasgowGlasgow-31931540-00-00 · Glasgow, Lanarkshire, Scotland · 1559-00-00 · Kilwinning, Ayrshire, Scotland
SiblingsMatthew GlasgowGlasgow-39081540-00-00 · Stevenston, Ayrshire, Scotland · 1558-00-00

Profile categories

Estimated_Birth_Date Glasgow Name Study Glasgow_Name_Study

Record-bearing passages

  • Biography John Glasgow was a son of James Glasgow elder of Corsinkell and a brother of James Glasgow younger. On 9 February 1571 letters of reversion concerning an annualrent of 18 bolls of oatmeal from the 40-shilling land of Corsinkell described the land as occupied by "James Glasgow, elder James Glasgow and John Glasgow, his sons, Christian Campbell." National Records of Scotland, Charter Chest of the Earls of Glencairn, GD39/5/59 (https://catalogue.nrscotland.gov.uk/nrsonlinecatalogue/details.aspx?reference=GD39%2F5%2F59), letters of reversion concerning the 40-shilling land of Corsinkell, 9 February 1571. Official catalogue entry inspected 30 August 2026; the original is open but held off site and no manuscript image is available online. The wording directly identifies James and John as sons of James elder. It does not identify their mother.
  • The record proves that John was born before and lived after 9 February 1571. It supplies no exact age, spouse, children, birthplace or death place. Research Notes This is deliberately a record-defined profile. John Glasgow of the Kilwinning district, recorded at Burrowland and Dalgarven in 1559–60, remains a possible identity match because Corsinkell was also in northern Ayrshire. No reviewed deed connects the Kilwinning holdings to Corsinkell, so the profiles remain separate and that proposed identity remains uncertain.
  • John Glasgow of the later Glasgow-burgh network is a different candidate and was rejected as a match when this profile was created. His approximate 1570 birth and later burgh context do not fit an already recorded Corsinkell occupier in 1571. Sources

Profile source citations

  1. National Records of Scotland, Charter Chest of the Earls of Glencairn, GD39/5/59 (https://catalogue.nrscotland.gov.uk/nrsonlinecatalogue/details.aspx?reference=GD39%2F5%2F59), letters of reversion concerning the 40-shilling land of Corsinkell, 9 February 1571. Official catalogue entry inspected 30 August 2026; the original is open but held off site and no manuscript image is available online. source link 1
Full captured biography text
Biography
John Glasgow was a son of James Glasgow elder of Corsinkell and a brother of James Glasgow younger. On 9 February 1571 letters of reversion concerning an annualrent of 18 bolls of oatmeal from the 40-shilling land of Corsinkell described the land as occupied by "James Glasgow, elder James Glasgow and John Glasgow, his sons, Christian Campbell." National Records of Scotland, Charter Chest of the Earls of Glencairn, GD39/5/59 (https://catalogue.nrscotland.gov.uk/nrsonlinecatalogue/details.aspx?reference=GD39%2F5%2F59), letters of reversion concerning the 40-shilling land of Corsinkell, 9 February 1571. Official catalogue entry inspected 30 August 2026; the original is open but held off site and no manuscript image is available online. The wording directly identifies James and John as sons of James elder. It does not identify their mother.

The record proves that John was born before and lived after 9 February 1571. It supplies no exact age, spouse, children, birthplace or death place.
Research Notes
This is deliberately a record-defined profile. John Glasgow of the Kilwinning district, recorded at Burrowland and Dalgarven in 1559–60, remains a possible identity match because Corsinkell was also in northern Ayrshire. No reviewed deed connects the Kilwinning holdings to Corsinkell, so the profiles remain separate and that proposed identity remains uncertain.

John Glasgow of the later Glasgow-burgh network is a different candidate and was rejected as a match when this profile was created. His approximate 1570 birth and later burgh context do not fit an already recorded Corsinkell occupier in 1571.
Sources
Raw WikiTree biography markup
[[Category:Glasgow Name Study]]
{{Estimated Date}}

== Biography ==

'''John Glasgow''' was a son of [[Glasgow-1168|James Glasgow elder]] of Corsinkell and a brother of [[Glasgow-3921|James Glasgow younger]]. On 9 February 1571 letters of reversion concerning an annualrent of 18 bolls of oatmeal from the 40-shilling land of Corsinkell described the land as occupied by "James Glasgow, elder James Glasgow and John Glasgow, his sons, Christian Campbell."<ref name="NRS1571">National Records of Scotland, Charter Chest of the Earls of Glencairn, [https://catalogue.nrscotland.gov.uk/nrsonlinecatalogue/details.aspx?reference=GD39%2F5%2F59 GD39/5/59], letters of reversion concerning the 40-shilling land of Corsinkell, 9 February 1571. Official catalogue entry inspected 30 August 2026; the original is open but held off site and no manuscript image is available online.</ref> The wording directly identifies James and John as sons of James elder. It does not identify their mother.

The record proves that John was born before and lived after 9 February 1571. It supplies no exact age, spouse, children, birthplace or death place.

== Research Notes ==

This is deliberately a record-defined profile. [[Glasgow-3193|John Glasgow of the Kilwinning district]], recorded at Burrowland and Dalgarven in 1559–60, remains a possible identity match because Corsinkell was also in northern Ayrshire. No reviewed deed connects the Kilwinning holdings to Corsinkell, so the profiles remain separate and that proposed identity remains uncertain.

[[Glasgow-1030|John Glasgow of the later Glasgow-burgh network]] is a different candidate and was rejected as a match when this profile was created. His approximate 1570 birth and later burgh context do not fit an already recorded Corsinkell occupier in 1571.

== Sources ==
<references />
Imported facts and reviewed decisions

Original exports stay unchanged. The public display uses explicitly approved decisions where available.

Read the original JSON · Reviewed decision register

Your research notebook.

Select 2 people to compare their evidence.