Reported events, notices, advertisements and letters. OCR matches need visual checking; place names, vessels and matches to other surnames are excluded from Glasgow surname evidence.
Availability depends on the particular repository, locality, date range and record series. We have not established complete coverage for this collection. Follow each provider link for its holdings and access terms; a missing result is not proof of absence.
Reading the evidence: an index, transcript, provider search page and original image are different sources. A recorded image link does not mean its reading or identity match is confirmed. Inspect the assessment and source page before changing a family relationship. Repository guides checked 4 October 2026.
Reviewed newspaper notices
7 distinct notices from 16 retained pages, earliest first. Reprints of the same notice are merged; 16 pages have saved inline excerpts. Open a notice for its clipping, reading and profile assessment.
How to read these notices
Cards lead with the person named in the notice; profile candidates are assessed separately. Birth cutoffs labelled “by c.” are estimates, usually assuming an adult professional was at least 18; open the birth note for the basis. Event groups are broad navigation aids built from each notice’s record type. A relationship filter identifies family wording in the notice, not a proved match to a WikiTree family.
New Gaol, Southwark (reported confinement)b. by c. 1728 adult estimate
Listed among officers in the rebel army reported committed to New Gaol.
Birth estimate / source
Adult role: officer in rebel army in 1746; age unstated; estimate assumes the role holder was at least 18.
Occupation / trade
Published 1746-06-20 · Weekly Worcester Journal · p. 4
Complete prisoner-roster paragraph. Nicholas Glasco is reported among rebel-army officers committed to New Gaol, Southwark; conviction and individual rank are not stated. Date follows provider metadata. Source reference: Weekly Worcester Journal · 1746-06-20 · p. 4. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.
What the notice says
Nicholas Glasco appears in the list of officers in the rebel army reported committed to New Gaol, Southwark.
Evidence and identity limits
Original roster inspected. Printed Glasco is retained as a surname variant; no Glasgow-family or Irish identity is established. This reports committal, not conviction or an individual rank. No compatible historical profile found in the bounded local lookup; a complete documentary draft is linked. Issue date follows provider metadata; masthead date has not been separately checked. Identity review (6 October 2026): 1746 Worcester roster of Jacobite officers committed to New Gaol, Southwark, naming Nicholas Glasco. He is Nicholas Glascoe/Glasgow, a French-born officer of Dillon's regiment and major in Ogilvy's; there is no WikiTree profile, so a new profile is needed. No compatible WikiTree profile after a duplicate search for: Nicholas Glasco (new-profile draft pending).
1746Verified surname passagecriminal proceedingPrinted in 4 issuesNo profile yet
Nicholas Glascoe
New Goal (location as printed)Birth unknown
described as calling himself Major Glascoe · reported as a principal engineer among the rebels · accused of raising a battery against the Hazard sloop of war and imprisoning its captain and officers; reported to be awaiting trial
Occupation / trade
Published 1746-06-27 – 1746-06-30 · The Weekly Worcester Journal · p. 2
CUA supported Newspapers.com viewer screenshot; bounded legible PNG crop; not a source-scan download; long s normalized in the maintained reading. Issue metadata follows Newspapers.com unless noted. Source reference: The Weekly Worcester Journal · 1746-06-27 · p. 2. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.
What the notice says
Nicholas Glascoe, who styles himself Major Glascoe, now a Prisoner in the New Goal, and one of the Rebels principal Engineers, was the Person who rais'd the Battery against the Hazard Sloop of War, and imprison'd the late Captain of that Sloop, and his Officers; for which he will be tried.
Evidence and identity limits
Reprint of the June Nicholas Glascoe allegation and self-styled rank. Original issue retained; neither guilt nor official rank is established. Identity review (6 October 2026): June 1746 reprinted report that Nicholas Glascoe, self-styled Major and a principal rebel engineer, raised the battery against the Hazard sloop and would be tried. This is the same Nicholas as the TNA SP 36 records; no WikiTree profile. No compatible WikiTree profile after a duplicate search for: Nicholas Glascoe ('Major Glascoe') (new-profile draft pending).
Listed among rebel-army officers reported committed to New Gaol, Southwark.
Occupation / trade
Published 1746-06-30 · The Western Flying Post; or, Sherborne and Yeovil Mercury (The Sherborne Mercury, or Weekly Advertiser) · p. 2
CUA supported Newspapers.com viewer screenshot; bounded legible PNG crop; not a source-scan download; long s normalized in the maintained reading. Issue metadata follows Newspapers.com unless noted. Source reference: The Western Flying Post; or, Sherborne and Yeovil Mercury (The Sherborne Mercury, or Weekly Advertiser) · 1746-06-30 · p. 2. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.
What the notice says
Nicholas Glascoe is listed among officers in the rebel army reported committed to New Gaol, Southwark.
Evidence and identity limits
Reported committal, not conviction. This roster lists Alexander Low junior after Nicholas; its wording is not copied from the earlier Worcester roster. Identity review (6 October 2026): Sherborne Mercury roster of Jacobite officers committed to New Gaol, Southwark, including Nicholas Glascoe. Same man; no WikiTree profile. No compatible WikiTree profile after a duplicate search for: Nicholas Glascoe (new-profile draft pending).
1746Verified surname passageindictment / military servicePrinted in 6 issuesNo profile yet
Nicholas Glascoe
Place not statedb. by c. 1728 adult estimate
Listed as a major in the indictment; said to have raised the battery against the Hazard sloop and taken her.
Birth estimate / source
Adult estimate from major in military command in 1746, assuming 18+; age not stated.
Occupation / trade
Published 1746-08-22 – 1746-09-02 · The Weekly Worcester Journal · p. 4
CUA supported Newspapers.com viewer screenshot; bounded legible PNG crop; not a source-scan download; long s normalized in the maintained reading. Issue metadata follows Newspapers.com unless noted. Source reference: The Weekly Worcester Journal · 1746-08-22 · p. 4. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.
What the notice says
An indictment list for High Treason at St Margaret’s Hill, Southwark, includes “5. Nicholas Glascoe, Maj. in ditto. He raised the Battery against the Hazard Sloop (which was commanded by Capt. Hill) and took her.”
Evidence and identity limits
Reprinted indictment list, not proof of guilt. Each issue and clipping is preserved; repeated text is presented together. Identity review (6 October 2026): Reprinted Aug-Sep 1746 indictment list: '5. Nicholas Glascoe, Maj. in ditto' who took the Hazard sloop. Same man; no WikiTree profile. No compatible WikiTree profile after a duplicate search for: Nicholas Glascoe, Maj. (new-profile draft pending).
Trial adjourned; accused of raising the battery against and taking the Hazard sloop. · Reported to call himself a French officer.
Birth estimate / source
Adult role: army major in 1746; age unstated; estimate assumes the role holder was at least 18.
Occupation / trade
Published 1746-11-07 · The Derby Mercury · p. 3
Bounded original passage visually checked; long s is transcribed as s. Issue date follows provider metadata. Saved from the accessible original viewer. Source reference: The Derby Mercury · 1746-11-07 · p. 3. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.
What the notice says
The Court adjourned until nine o’clock, when the trial of Major Glascoe, who raised the battery against the Hazard Sloop and took her, and who calls himself a French Officer, was to come on first.
Evidence and identity limits
Trial scheduling report; neither a verdict nor independent proof of French military service. Identity review (6 October 2026): Nov 1746 Derby Mercury: trial of Major Glascoe, who took the Hazard sloop and calls himself a French officer, to come on first. Probably Nicholas Glascoe from the unique Hazard detail; no WikiTree profile. No compatible WikiTree profile after a duplicate search for: Major Glascoe (forename not printed) (new-profile draft pending).
St Germain-en-Laye, France (birthplace as reported)Birth unknown
described as Major in Lord Ogilvie’s Second Battalion · defence evidence described him as a lieutenant in Dillon’s Regiment in French service and native of France, born at St Germain-en-Laye · reported tried and acquitted; order to detain him as a French prisoner
Occupation / tradeBirth
Published 1746-11-08 · The Newcastle Weekly Courant · p. 3
Bounded original passage visually checked; long s is transcribed as s. Issue date follows provider metadata. Saved from the accessible original viewer. Source reference: The Newcastle Weekly Courant · 1746-11-08 · p. 3. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.
What the notice says
Nicholas Glascoe, described as a Major in Lord Ogilvie’s Second Battalion, was tried. Defence evidence described him as a lieutenant in Dillon’s Regiment in French service and a native of France, born at St Germain’s en lay. The paper reports acquittal and an order to detain him as a French prisoner.
Evidence and identity limits
Reported defence evidence and outcome, requiring comparison with original legal and military records. The paper does not identify relatives or a birth date. The 17 November reprint adds a Not Guilty verdict and removal of his bolts; the saved excerpt stops before the full cartel articles. Identity review (6 October 2026): Nov 1746 trial report: Nicholas Glascoe, Major in Ogilvie's 2nd battalion, proved a lieutenant in Dillon's and native of St Germain-en-Laye, was acquitted and detained as a French prisoner. TNA cabinet minute SP 36/89/2/32 (14 Nov 1746) independently records the acquittal. No WikiTree profile. No compatible WikiTree profile after a duplicate search for: Nicholas Glascoe (new-profile draft pending).
1746Verified surname passagecourt reportPrinted in 2 issuesNo profile yet
Major Glascoe
SouthwarkBirth unknown
Reported acquitted by direction of court after witnesses were examined and counsel opened the cartel signed at Francfort.
Occupation / trade
Published 1746-11-17 – 1746-11-18 · The Western Flying Post; or, Sherborne and Yeovil Mercury · p. 2
Newspapers.com original-page JPG saved through the visible CUA page controls; bounded PNG made by a pixel-preserving crop of that downloaded JPG. No image retouching or OCR reconstruction.; long s normalized in the maintained reading. Issue metadata follows Newspapers.com unless noted. Source reference: The Western Flying Post; or, Sherborne and Yeovil Mercury · 1746-11-17 · p. 2. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.
What the notice says
A Southwark report says Major Glascoe was acquitted by direction of the court after witnesses were examined and counsel opened the cartel signed at Francfort. A translated portion of the cartel follows.
Evidence and identity limits
Likely the Nicholas case, without a forename in this passage. The articles are preserved in the excerpt but their complete legal effect has not been assessed. No conviction is stated. Identity review (6 October 2026): Nov 1746 Southwark report: Major Glascoe acquitted by direction of the court on the Frankfurt cartel. This is Nicholas, by the Hazard/cartel context and TNA SP 36/89/2/32; no WikiTree profile. No compatible WikiTree profile after a duplicate search for: Major Glascoe (forename not printed) (new-profile draft pending).
These are search leads or exclusions, not confirmed surname records.
1746Excluded matchNewspaper noticeNo profile yet
Excluded search match
Place not statedBirth unknown
Published 1746-12-27 · The Newcastle Weekly Courant · p. 3
What the notice says
Robert and John of Glasgow
Evidence and identity limits
Robert and John is one vessel: the report uses singular she. The indexed issue date and later dates printed within the page conflict; no two men surnamed Glasgow are established.
Who this may be
No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved.
Place, vessel or other-surname OCR match; excluded from surname evidence.
Collected references 0
Reference items in this project, not the total surviving archive. A reference can appear in several types or locations; several references can concern the same record. Countries are inferred from source descriptions and recorded places, so check the citation. Undated and ambiguous items remain available.
0 reference items · earliest first
No reference item assigned to this collection yet. This does not mean the archive has no relevant records.