Skip to page content
Home/Records & sources/Ireland newspapers, 1811
Catalogue · 27 Sep 2026

The source library

Ireland newspapers, 1811

Reported events, notices, advertisements and letters. OCR matches need visual checking; place names, vessels and matches to other surnames are excluded from Glasgow surname evidence.

0 collected reference items

← All Ireland newspapers

Coverage, survival & limitations

Availability depends on the particular repository, locality, date range and record series. We have not established complete coverage for this collection. Follow each provider link for its holdings and access terms; a missing result is not proof of absence.

Reading the evidence: an index, transcript, provider search page and original image are different sources. A recorded image link does not mean its reading or identity match is confirmed. Inspect the assessment and source page before changing a family relationship. Repository guides checked 4 October 2026.

Reviewed newspaper notices

2 distinct notices from 5 retained pages, earliest first. Reprints of the same notice are merged; 5 pages have saved inline excerpts. Open a notice for its clipping, reading and profile assessment.

How to read these notices

Cards lead with the person named in the notice; profile candidates are assessed separately. Birth cutoffs labelled “by c.” are estimates, usually assuming an adult professional was at least 18; open the birth note for the basis. Event groups are broad navigation aids built from each notice’s record type. A relationship filter identifies family wording in the notice, not a proved match to a WikiTree family.

2 distinct notices · 5 retained pages

1811Verified surname passagetheft noticePrinted in 4 issuesNo profile yet

Glasco and Son — watch mark

Dublin (maker’s mark)Birth unknown

The stolen watch bore the mark “Glasco and Son, Dublin”; no individual is named.

Published 1811-03-11 – 1811-03-18 · Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · p. 2

Newspaper excerpt for 1811-03-11; reading and assessment follow
Faithful bounded excerpt of the visually inspected original newspaper page; provider issue metadata retained. No reconstructed text. Source reference: Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · 1811-03-11 · p. 2. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.

What the notice says

Under ROBBERY AND REWARD, the shop of Messrs Peter and Semple at 108 Grafton Street was entered and stolen watches listed. One is a gold double-cased watch marked “Glasco and Son, Dublin.” The stolen watch bears the number 3203.

Evidence and identity limits

This is a maker/firm mark on a watch listed among stolen property in a robbery notice. The issue dates the printed notice, not manufacture or continuous business activity; “and Son” does not prove named father and son. The watch is not established as made in the existing watchmaker’s shop, and no individual or family identity follows. Identity review (6 October 2026): Robbery notice (Freeman's Journal, March 1811) listing a stolen gold watch marked 'Glasco and Son, Dublin'. It is only a firm's mark and names no individual, so no profile can be assigned and no relationship follows.

Who this may be

No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved. Research draft (documentary subject)
1811Verified surname passagemilitary listNo profile yet

George Glasgow

Place not statedb. by c. 1793 adult estimate

Named under the COLONELS heading in a list headed “To be MAJOR-GENERALS in the Army”; surname wraps across lines.

Birth estimate / source

Adult estimate from colonel in the Royal Artillery in 1811, assuming 18+; age not stated.

Occupation / trade

Published 1811-06-10 · Freeman’s Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · p. 4

Newspaper excerpt for 1811-06-10; reading and assessment follow
Bounded excerpt checked against the original on 4 October 2026; the issue heading is outside the crop. Source reference: Freeman’s Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · 1811-06-10 · p. 4. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.

What the notice says

The military list under COLONELS names George Glasgow, of the royal artillery; the name wraps across two lines. The printed section heading reads ‘To be MAJOR-GENERALS in the Army / COLONELS.’

Evidence and identity limits

The surname and Royal Artillery association were checked at increased magnification. The printed heading reads ‘To be MAJOR-GENERALS in the Army / COLONELS’; George Glasgow is named under the COLONELS subheading. The page supplies list-heading context but no individually stated order date. Continuity with the 1819 Royal Artillery George is compatible but inferred. Neither this list nor its Irish publication proves Irish birth, residence or family. Identity review (6 October 2026): June 1811 brevet list naming Colonel George Glasgow of the Royal Artillery among the new major-generals. He is the artillery general George Glasgow who served in Canada and died in London on 28 Oct 1820, documented by the Dictionary of Canadian Biography. He has no WikiTree profile, and chronology excludes the three Scottish namesakes offered earlier. No compatible WikiTree profile after a duplicate search for: George Glasgow, of the royal artillery.

Who this may be

No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved. Research draft (documentary subject)
Unresolved search hits — 0 pages · 0 distinct readings

These are search leads or exclusions, not confirmed surname records.

Excluded place, vessel and other-name matches — 0 pages · 0 distinct readings

These are search leads or exclusions, not confirmed surname records.

Collected references 0

Reference items in this project, not the total surviving archive. A reference can appear in several types or locations; several references can concern the same record. Countries are inferred from source descriptions and recorded places, so check the citation. Undated and ambiguous items remain available.

0 reference items · earliest first

No reference item assigned to this collection yet. This does not mean the archive has no relevant records.

Complete collection index — all reference links

    Saved people and pages

    Select 2 people to compare their evidence.