Reported events, notices, advertisements and letters. OCR matches need visual checking; place names, vessels and matches to other surnames are excluded from Glasgow surname evidence.
Availability depends on the particular repository, locality, date range and record series. We have not established complete coverage for this collection. Follow each provider link for its holdings and access terms; a missing result is not proof of absence.
Reading the evidence: an index, transcript, provider search page and original image are different sources. A recorded image link does not mean its reading or identity match is confirmed. Inspect the assessment and source page before changing a family relationship. Repository guides checked 4 October 2026.
Reviewed newspaper notices
3 distinct notices from 4 retained pages, earliest first. Reprints of the same notice are merged; 4 pages have saved inline excerpts. Open a notice for its clipping, reading and profile assessment.
How to read these notices
Cards lead with the person named in the notice; profile candidates are assessed separately. Birth cutoffs labelled “by c.” are estimates, usually assuming an adult professional was at least 18; open the birth note for the basis. Event groups are broad navigation aids built from each notice’s record type. A relationship filter identifies family wording in the notice, not a proved match to a WikiTree family.
3 distinct notices · 4 retained pages
1820Verified surname passagepublic noticePrinted in 2 issuesNo profile yet
William Glasgow
Belfast (location of banks’ confidence notice)Birth unknown
signed a Belfast banks confidence notice dated 15 June 1820
Published 1820-06-16 – 1820-06-23 · The Irishman · p. 3
User-supplied excerpt. The crop does not preserve its issue heading; the linked issue contains this notice. Source reference: The Irishman · 1820-06-16 · p. 3. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.
What the notice says
William Glasgow signed Belfast banks confidence notice dated 15 June 1820.
Evidence and identity limits
Compatible with Belfast grocer; signature alone does not establish that identity. Identity review (6 October 2026): William Glasgow signed the Belfast banks confidence declaration of 15 June 1820. He is most likely the Belfast grocer William Glasgow who advertised later that year, but the signature list gives no trade. No WikiTree profile. No compatible WikiTree profile after a duplicate search for: William Glasgow.
Dublin (report heading)b. by c. 1802 adult estimate
Plaintiff in an Exchequer matter against Maxwell Lepper and Clotworthy Dobbin; defendants’ motion was refused with costs.
Birth estimate / source
Adult plaintiff in court proceedings in 1820, assuming 18+; age not stated
Occupation / trade
Published 1820-06-30 · The Irishman · p. 2
Source reference: The Irishman · 1820-06-30 · p. 2. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.
What the notice says
James Glasgow was plaintiff against Maxwell Lepper and Clotworthy Dobbin in a Court of Exchequer report headed Dublin, 22 June 1820. The defendants’ motion to rescind the contempt process was refused with costs and liberty for the plaintiff to continue process.
Evidence and identity limits
The report gives a procedural decision, not final judgment on the dispute, and no age, occupation, residence or relatives for James. George Frederick Moulds is named as plaintiff’s agent. Identity with the later Belfast tobacco seller or any candidate is unproved. Identity review (6 October 2026): June 1820 Court of Exchequer report: James Glasgow was plaintiff against Maxwell Lepper and Clotworthy Dobbin, both Belfast spirit merchants, and the defendants' motion was refused with costs. The plaintiff is most probably the Belfast wholesale grocer James Glasgow of Rosemary Street. No WikiTree profile fits. No compatible WikiTree profile after a duplicate search for: James Glasgow.
34 Smith Street, Belfastb. by c. 1802 adult estimate
Moved from Rosemary Street to shop and stores at 34 Smith Street, Belfast. · Advertised teas, sugars and groceries; notice dated 30 October.
Birth estimate / source
Adult estimate from grocer and shopkeeper in 1820, assuming 18+; age not stated.
Occupation / tradePlace / address
Published 1820-11-03 · The Irishman · p. 1
User-supplied excerpt. The crop does not preserve its issue heading; the linked issue contains this notice. Source reference: The Irishman · 1820-11-03 · p. 1. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.
What the notice says
William Glasgow removed from Rosemary Street to shop and stores at 34 Smith Street, Belfast; teas, sugars and groceries; notice dated 30 October.
Evidence and identity limits
Documented Belfast grocer; no inspected bridge to Cookstown men. Identity review (6 October 2026): November 1820 advertisement: William Glasgow, grocer, moved from Rosemary Street to 34 Smith Street, Belfast (teas, sugars, groceries). No WikiTree profile fits, so a profile for this Belfast grocer would be new. James Glasgow, a wholesale grocer of Rosemary Street in 1819, is a possible business or family connection, but the notice does not state one. No compatible WikiTree profile after a duplicate search for: William Glasgow.
These are search leads or exclusions, not confirmed surname records.
Collected references 0
Reference items in this project, not the total surviving archive. A reference can appear in several types or locations; several references can concern the same record. Countries are inferred from source descriptions and recorded places, so check the citation. Undated and ambiguous items remain available.
0 reference items · earliest first
No reference item assigned to this collection yet. This does not mean the archive has no relevant records.