Skip to page content
Home/Records & sources/Ireland newspapers, 1822
Catalogue · 27 Sep 2026

The source library

Ireland newspapers, 1822

Reported events, notices, advertisements and letters. OCR matches need visual checking; place names, vessels and matches to other surnames are excluded from Glasgow surname evidence.

0 collected reference items

← All Ireland newspapers

Coverage, survival & limitations

Availability depends on the particular repository, locality, date range and record series. We have not established complete coverage for this collection. Follow each provider link for its holdings and access terms; a missing result is not proof of absence.

Reading the evidence: an index, transcript, provider search page and original image are different sources. A recorded image link does not mean its reading or identity match is confirmed. Inspect the assessment and source page before changing a family relationship. Repository guides checked 4 October 2026.

Reviewed newspaper notices

3 distinct notices from 3 retained pages, earliest first. Reprints of the same notice are merged; 3 pages have saved inline excerpts. Open a notice for its clipping, reading and profile assessment.

How to read these notices

Cards lead with the person named in the notice; profile candidates are assessed separately. Birth cutoffs labelled “by c.” are estimates, usually assuming an adult professional was at least 18; open the birth note for the basis. Event groups are broad navigation aids built from each notice’s record type. A relationship filter identifies family wording in the notice, not a proved match to a WikiTree family.

3 distinct notices · 3 retained pages

1822Verified surname passagetrade advertisementNo profile yet

James Glasgow

Belfast (advertisement location; residence Place not stated)b. by c. 1804 adult estimate

Offers recently landed leaf tobacco, steamed and unstemmed; notice dated Belfast, 9 March 1822.

Birth estimate / source

Age is not printed; inferred only as an adult lower bound from the stated professional role (tobacco seller/trader), assuming age 18 or older by the 1822 issue year.

Occupation / trade

Published 1822-03-15 · The Irishman · p. 2

Newspaper excerpt for 1822-03-15; reading and assessment follow
Source reference: The Irishman · 1822-03-15 · p. 2. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.

What the notice says

James Glasgow offers leaf tobacco, steamed and unstemmed, recently landed; Belfast 9 March 1822.

Evidence and identity limits

Repeated name, trade and contact support a consolidated seller account. M’Master’s premises are a commercial contact, not a proved home or owned property. No age, family or link to William Glasgow the grocer is stated. Chronologically compatible regional James profiles remain leads; no profile is selected. Identity review (6 October 2026): March 1822 Belfast advertisement: James Glasgow offering recently landed leaf tobacco. He belongs to the Belfast wholesale-grocer James Glasgow cluster (Rosemary Street, 1819). No WikiTree profile fits. No compatible WikiTree profile after a duplicate search for: James Glasgow.

Who this may be

No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved. Research draft (documentary subject)
1822Verified surname passagetobacco advertisementNo profile yet

James Glasgow

at Mr James M’Master’s (business contact/address)Birth unknown

Tobacco notice directs buyers to apply to him at Mr James M’Master’s; notice dated 20 August 1822.

Place / address

Published 1822-08-23 · The Irishman · p. 3

Newspaper excerpt for 1822-08-23; reading and assessment follow
Source reference: The Irishman · 1822-08-23 · p. 3. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.

What the notice says

Ten hogsheads of leaf tobacco plus some steamed tobacco; apply to James Glasgow at Mr James M’Master’s. 20 August 1822.

Evidence and identity limits

Repeated name, trade and contact support a consolidated seller account. M’Master’s premises are a commercial contact, not a proved home or owned property. No age, family or link to William Glasgow the grocer is stated. Chronologically compatible regional James profiles remain leads; no profile is selected. Identity review (6 October 2026): August 1822 notice: ten hogsheads of leaf tobacco; apply to James Glasgow at Mr James M'Master's. He is the same Belfast tobacco seller and wholesale grocer. No WikiTree profile fits. No compatible WikiTree profile after a duplicate search for: James Glasgow.

Who this may be

No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved. Research draft (documentary subject)
1822Verified surname passagemilitary appointmentNo profile yet

John Glasco

Place not statedb. by c. 1804 adult estimate

surgeon in the 60th Foot · appointed from half-pay of the 59th Foot to succeed William Burgess Marle, who exchanged

Birth estimate / source

Surgeon role establishes adult status; assuming age 18+ by 1822, age unstated.

Occupation / trade

Published 1822-10-02 · Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · p. 4

Newspaper excerpt for 1822-10-02; reading and assessment follow
Faithful bounded excerpt of the visually inspected original newspaper page; provider issue metadata retained. No reconstructed text. Source reference: Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · 1822-10-02 · p. 4. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.

What the notice says

The 60th Foot: Surgeon John Glasco, from half-pay of the 59th Foot, was to be surgeon vice William Burgess Marle, who exchanged.

Evidence and identity limits

The full name and prior 59th Foot half-pay provide a probable career link to the 1816 J. Glasco, not explicit identity proof. This documentary sequence may involve one or more men; identity continuity is unresolved. Weak possible comparisons: Glasgow-2058: Weak comparison only: compatible chronology and later Cookstown merchant context, but no service, Liverpool, family, or surname-spelling bridge. Glasgow-3927: Weak comparison only: 1831 John Glasco of Inishrush, but no age or occupation and no military bridge; keep separate from proposed Glasgow-822 identity. Glasgow-822: Weak comparison only: chronology and Irish family context fit broadly, but Ohio records by 1833 create location tension with later Liverpool notices; no service bridge. Identity review (6 October 2026): 1822 notice: Surgeon John Glasco, from half-pay of the 59th, to be surgeon of the 60th Foot. He is the same man as the 1816 J. Glasco: John Glasco junior (b. 1783, d. Dinan 1869). No WikiTree profile. No compatible WikiTree profile after a duplicate search for: John Glasco.

Who this may be

No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved. Research draft (documentary subject)
Unresolved search hits — 0 pages · 0 distinct readings

These are search leads or exclusions, not confirmed surname records.

Excluded place, vessel and other-name matches — 0 pages · 0 distinct readings

These are search leads or exclusions, not confirmed surname records.

Collected references 0

Reference items in this project, not the total surviving archive. A reference can appear in several types or locations; several references can concern the same record. Countries are inferred from source descriptions and recorded places, so check the citation. Undated and ambiguous items remain available.

0 reference items · earliest first

No reference item assigned to this collection yet. This does not mean the archive has no relevant records.

Complete collection index — all reference links

    Saved people and pages

    Select 2 people to compare their evidence.