Reported events, notices, advertisements and letters. OCR matches need visual checking; place names, vessels and matches to other surnames are excluded from Glasgow surname evidence.
Availability depends on the particular repository, locality, date range and record series. We have not established complete coverage for this collection. Follow each provider link for its holdings and access terms; a missing result is not proof of absence.
Reading the evidence: an index, transcript, provider search page and original image are different sources. A recorded image link does not mean its reading or identity match is confirmed. Inspect the assessment and source page before changing a family relationship. Repository guides checked 4 October 2026.
Reviewed newspaper notices
3 distinct notices from 3 retained pages, earliest first. Reprints of the same notice are merged; 3 pages have saved inline excerpts. Open a notice for its clipping, reading and profile assessment.
How to read these notices
Cards lead with the person named in the notice; profile candidates are assessed separately. Birth cutoffs labelled “by c.” are estimates, usually assuming an adult professional was at least 18; open the birth note for the basis. Event groups are broad navigation aids built from each notice’s record type. A relationship filter identifies family wording in the notice, not a proved match to a WikiTree family.
3 distinct notices · 3 retained pages
1826Verified surname passagemilitary medical appointmentNo profile yet
Glasco (surgeon)
60th Foot (Army)b. by c. 1808 adult estimate
Assistant Surgeon John Winterscale from the 71st Foot was appointed surgeon vice Glasco, promoted.
Birth estimate / source
Adult role: surgeon in the 60th Foot in 1826; age unstated; estimate assumes the role holder was at least 18.
Occupation / trade
Published 1826-05-16 · Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · p. 3
Faithful bounded excerpt of the visually inspected original newspaper page; provider issue metadata retained. No reconstructed text. Source reference: Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · 1826-05-16 · p. 3. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.
What the notice says
For the 60th Foot, Assistant Surgeon John Winterscale from the 71st Foot was to be surgeon vice Glasco, promoted; this replacement entry is dated 20 April 1826.
Evidence and identity limits
The source shows Glasco promoted from the 60th Foot surgeon post but does not specify the promotion destination. This documentary sequence may involve one or more men; identity continuity is unresolved. Weak possible comparisons: Glasgow-2058: Weak comparison only: compatible chronology and later Cookstown merchant context, but no service, Liverpool, family, or surname-spelling bridge. Glasgow-3927: Weak comparison only: 1831 John Glasco of Inishrush, but no age or occupation and no military bridge; keep separate from proposed Glasgow-822 identity. Glasgow-822: Weak comparison only: chronology and Irish family context fit broadly, but Ohio records by 1833 create location tension with later Liverpool notices; no service bridge. Identity review (6 October 2026): 1826 notice: Winterscale to be surgeon of the 60th Foot vice Glasco, promoted (dated 20 April 1826). The promoted man is John Glasco junior, who joined the Hospital Staff on 20 Apr 1826. No WikiTree profile. No compatible WikiTree profile after a duplicate search for: Glasco (surgeon, 60th Foot).
Lieutenant John James Peck appointed to the 84th Foot in his place · Edward George Glasgow reported retiring upon half-pay of the 18th Light Dragoons
Birth estimate / source
Lieutenant in the 84th Foot establishes adult status; assuming age 18+ by 1826, age unstated.
Occupation / trade
Published 1826-06-20 · Freeman’s Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · p. 1
Original page passage checked from root-approved crop. Issue header is not in this bounded excerpt; date and page follow provider issue metadata. Source reference: Freeman’s Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · 1826-06-20 · p. 1. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.
What the notice says
84th ditto: Lieutenant John James Peck from the 89th Foot to be Lieutenant, vice Edward George Glasgow, who retires upon half-pay 18th Light Dragoons. Same full name and 84th Regiment as the 1825 notice; career continuity is plausible, not independently identified.
Evidence and identity limits
84th ditto: Lieutenant John James Peck from the 89th Foot to be Lieutenant, vice Edward George Glasgow, who retires upon half-pay 18th Light Dragoons. Same full name and 84th Regiment as the 1825 notice; career continuity is plausible, not independently identified. The 1825 and 1826 entries plausibly concern one career subject, but no profile is identified; no Irish origin, residence, or family is stated. Identity review (6 October 2026): June 1826 notice: Peck appointed to the 84th vice Edward George Glasgow, who retires on half-pay of the 18th Light Dragoons. He is the same officer as in the 1825 notice (Gazette continuity). He returned to the 41st Foot in 1827, became a captain, and was dead by 1849, leaving a widow, Emily Caroline. No WikiTree profile. No compatible WikiTree profile after a duplicate search for: Edward George Glasgow.
1826Verified surname passagemilitary medical noticeNo profile yet
John Glasco, senior
Place not statedBirth unknown
Surgeon Alexander Melville appointed in his place; John Glasco senior retired on half-pay.
Occupation / trade
Published 1826-08-18 · Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · p. 1
Faithful bounded excerpt of the visually inspected original newspaper page; provider issue metadata retained. No reconstructed text. Source reference: Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · 1826-08-18 · p. 1. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.
What the notice says
Under Hospital Staff, Surgeon Alexander Melville, M.D., from the 25th Foot, was appointed vice John Glasco, sen., who retires upon half-pay. The printed surname wraps across a line.
Evidence and identity limits
The qualifier “sen.” is explicit and material; do not assume this retiree is the John Glasco reported in 1836–1839. Effective date is not established beyond the notice/issue dates. This documentary sequence may involve one or more men; identity continuity is unresolved. Weak possible comparisons: Glasgow-2058: Weak comparison only: compatible chronology and later Cookstown merchant context, but no service, Liverpool, family, or surname-spelling bridge. Glasgow-3927: Weak comparison only: 1831 John Glasco of Inishrush, but no age or occupation and no military bridge; keep separate from proposed Glasgow-822 identity. Glasgow-822: Weak comparison only: chronology and Irish family context fit broadly, but Ohio records by 1833 create location tension with later Liverpool notices; no service bridge. Identity review (6 October 2026): August 1826 notice: Melville appointed to the Hospital Staff vice John Glasco, sen., who retires on half-pay. This is the senior surgeon John Glasco (Deputy Inspector by brevet 1825, d. Lambeth 1834). 'Sen.' only distinguishes him from the younger John Glasco, who joined the Staff that April. No WikiTree profile, and no kinship is stated. No compatible WikiTree profile after a duplicate search for: John Glasco, sen..
These are search leads or exclusions, not confirmed surname records.
Collected references 0
Reference items in this project, not the total surviving archive. A reference can appear in several types or locations; several references can concern the same record. Countries are inferred from source descriptions and recorded places, so check the citation. Undated and ambiguous items remain available.
0 reference items · earliest first
No reference item assigned to this collection yet. This does not mean the archive has no relevant records.