Skip to page content
Home/Records & sources/Ireland newspapers, 1828
Catalogue · 27 Sep 2026

The source library

Ireland newspapers, 1828

Reported events, notices, advertisements and letters. OCR matches need visual checking; place names, vessels and matches to other surnames are excluded from Glasgow surname evidence.

0 collected reference items

← All Ireland newspapers

Coverage, survival & limitations

Availability depends on the particular repository, locality, date range and record series. We have not established complete coverage for this collection. Follow each provider link for its holdings and access terms; a missing result is not proof of absence.

Reading the evidence: an index, transcript, provider search page and original image are different sources. A recorded image link does not mean its reading or identity match is confirmed. Inspect the assessment and source page before changing a family relationship. Repository guides checked 4 October 2026.

Reviewed newspaper notices

3 distinct notices from 3 retained pages, earliest first. Reprints of the same notice are merged; 3 pages have saved inline excerpts. Open a notice for its clipping, reading and profile assessment.

How to read these notices

Cards lead with the person named in the notice; profile candidates are assessed separately. Birth cutoffs labelled “by c.” are estimates, usually assuming an adult professional was at least 18; open the birth note for the basis. Event groups are broad navigation aids built from each notice’s record type. A relationship filter identifies family wording in the notice, not a proved match to a WikiTree family.

3 distinct notices · 3 retained pages

1828Verified surname passagecommercial property noticeNo profile yet

James Glasgow

No. 32 Rosemary Street, Belfast (former business premises)Birth unknown

A shop and stores were described as formerly occupied by Mr James Glasgow; the leasehold was advertised for sale in 1828.

Published 1828-04-01 · Belfast News-Letter · p. 3

Newspaper excerpt for 1828-04-01; reading and assessment follow
Source reference: Belfast News-Letter · 1828-04-01 · p. 3. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.

What the notice says

An auction notice describes the large shop and stores at No.32 Rosemary Street, Belfast, as formerly occupied by Mr James Glasgow. The lease interest was offered for sale on 1 April 1828; the notice dated 21 March gives 34 years unexpired from 1 November next and £30 late Irish currency yearly rent.

Evidence and identity limits

Former occupancy is explicit; ownership, trade and residence are not. The surname is certain, but identity with the 1822–23 tobacco seller, William the grocer or another James remains unproved. Identity review (6 October 2026): March 1828 auction of the lease of the shop and stores at No. 32 Rosemary Street, Belfast, 'formerly occupied by Mr James Glasgow'. This ties the 1819 directory's Rosemary Street grocer to the premises, which he had left by 1828. No WikiTree profile fits. No compatible WikiTree profile after a duplicate search for: Mr James Glasgow.

Who this may be

No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved. Research draft (documentary subject)
1828Verified surname passagecollege examination awardsPossible match

Jas. Glasgow

BroughshaneBirth unknown

Listed for proficiency in the business of the Junior Division class at Belfast Institution College Department awards.

James Glasgow

Belfast Institution (Logic and Belles Lettres section)Birth unknown

Named for general eminence during the session in daily examinations and composition of exercises on class subjects.

Published 1828-05-09 · Belfast News-Letter · p. 3

Newspaper excerpt for 1828-05-09; reading and assessment follow
Source reference: Belfast News-Letter · 1828-05-09 · p. 3. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.

What the notice says

At the Belfast Institution College Department awards on 2 May 1828, Jas. Glasgow of Broughshane was listed for proficiency in the business of the Junior Division class. Separately, the Logic and Belles Lettres section named James Glasgow for general eminence during the session in daily examinations and composition of exercises on class subjects. The notice does not establish whether these two entries refer to one student or two.

Evidence and identity limits

The two 1828 entries are distinct mentions; whether they refer to one student or two remains unresolved. Glasgow-1780 remains a strong compatible candidate for the wider Institution, teaching and ministry sequence, but this award list alone does not establish the 1828 identity. These notices give no age, full middle name, parents or spouse; they establish no sibling relationship. Identity review (6 October 2026): Belfast Institution College Department awards, May 1828, list 'Jas. Glasgow of Broughshane' (Junior Division class) and, separately, James Glasgow (Logic and Belles Lettres, general eminence). The Broughshane student is probably James McClure Glasgow (Glasgow-1780), whose family burial ground is Racavan, Broughshane. The Logic entry is only a possible match.

Who this may be

[b. 1805-05-27; d. 1890-06-30] · student, Junior Division class, Belfast Institution
Why this candidate?

Glasgow-1780 is James McClure Glasgow, b. 27 May 1805 near Clough, Co. Antrim, d. 1890. His profile biography says he was educated at Ballymena Grammar School, Dr Paul's academy at Carrickfergus and the Royal Belfast Academical Institution (RBAI), and was licensed in 1834, minister of Castledawson in 1835 and an India missionary in 1840. He would have been 22-24 in 1828-29, which fits a collegiate student. The place link is Broughshane: the profile's family tombstone is in Racavan Burying-Ground, Broughshane. It names his brother William (d. 1823 aged 22), his father John (d. 1836 aged 70) and his sister Jane Armstrong, and his mother Jane died at Racavan in 1858. Name, place, institution an

Research draft (documentary subject)
1828Verified surname passagejury listNo profile yet

James Glasgow

Place not statedBirth unknown

listed on the petty jury for Friday 1 August 1828 · the newspaper distinguishes him from persons accused in the following riot-and-assault report

Published 1828-08-05 · Belfast News-Letter · p. 4

Newspaper excerpt for 1828-08-05; reading and assessment follow
Source reference: Belfast News-Letter · 1828-08-05 · p. 4. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.

What the notice says

A separate report lists James Glasgow on the petty jury for Friday 1 August 1828. He is a juror, not one of the accused in the following riot-and-assault report.

Evidence and identity limits

The name is James Glasgow, not the automated index’s combined William James Glasgow. No residence, occupation or kin is stated. This remains an unassigned legal occurrence; identity with the 1820 Exchequer plaintiff is unproved. Identity review (6 October 2026): Belfast News-Letter, August 1828: James Glasgow on the petty jury for Friday 1 August 1828. It is a bare juror listing without residence. He may be the Belfast merchant James Glasgow, but this listing alone cannot identify him.

Who this may be

No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved. Research draft (documentary subject)
Unresolved search hits — 0 pages · 0 distinct readings

These are search leads or exclusions, not confirmed surname records.

Excluded place, vessel and other-name matches — 3 pages · 3 distinct readings

These are search leads or exclusions, not confirmed surname records.

1828Excluded matchNewspaper noticeNo profile yet

Excluded search match

Place not statedBirth unknown

Published 1828-04-11 · Belfast News-Letter · p. 2

What the notice says

The stock-show report names Messrs Elches and Lang, gentlemen who attended as judges from Liverpool and Glasgow. Glasgow is the city from which a judge attended, not the judges’ surname.

Evidence and identity limits

Original alternate passage inspected. The narrow preview separated Messrs from the actual names and placed Glasgow nearby; both highlighted Glasgow instances in the viewed paragraph are places. This is not a full-page absence assertion.

Who this may be

No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved.

Place, vessel or other-surname OCR match; excluded from surname evidence.

1828Excluded matchNewspaper noticeNo profile yet

Excluded search match

Place not statedBirth unknown

Published 1828-07-15 · Belfast News-Letter · p. 2

What the notice says

Position 4 (vessel): Shipping passage: “The unrivalled Sheffield, steam-ship, Richards, sails for Greenock and Glasgow, this day, at twelve o'clock noon.” The adjacent arrivals/clearances list also contains Glasgow among vessel entries. Glasgow is the destination/port in a steam-ship notice. The fragment “Eve, Glasgow” belongs to the neighboring shipping-list column, not a personal surname.

Evidence and identity limits

Original-position final review: the quoted Glasgow/Rasharkin passage(s) on this page are classified as place, vessel, or other context, not a Glasgow personal surname. This is a passage-level result, not a claim that the entire page contains no relevant name.

Who this may be

No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved.

Place, vessel or other-surname OCR match; excluded from surname evidence.

1828Excluded matchNewspaper noticeNo profile yet

Excluded search match

Place not statedBirth unknown

Published 1828-08-22 · Belfast News-Letter · p. 1

What the notice says

Position 2 (place): Quoted anecdote about an inn sign and coach: “The Duchess leaves the Duke’s Arms every morning at five o’clock, for Glasgow,” followed by clarification that “the Duchess” means a coach; the reply says “although not for Glasgow.” The highlighted uses refer to Glasgow as a city/destination in quoted prose, not a personal surname. The article is clipped around the story but the full relevant paragraph is visible.

Evidence and identity limits

Original-position final review: the quoted Glasgow/Rasharkin passage(s) on this page are classified as place, vessel, or other context, not a Glasgow personal surname. This is a passage-level result, not a claim that the entire page contains no relevant name.

Who this may be

No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved.

Place, vessel or other-surname OCR match; excluded from surname evidence.

Collected references 0

Reference items in this project, not the total surviving archive. A reference can appear in several types or locations; several references can concern the same record. Countries are inferred from source descriptions and recorded places, so check the citation. Undated and ambiguous items remain available.

0 reference items · earliest first

No reference item assigned to this collection yet. This does not mean the archive has no relevant records.

Complete collection index — all reference links

    Saved people and pages

    Select 2 people to compare their evidence.