Skip to page content
Home/Records & sources/Ireland newspapers, 1836
Catalogue · 27 Sep 2026

The source library

Ireland newspapers, 1836

Reported events, notices, advertisements and letters. OCR matches need visual checking; place names, vessels and matches to other surnames are excluded from Glasgow surname evidence.

0 collected reference items

← All Ireland newspapers

Coverage, survival & limitations

Availability depends on the particular repository, locality, date range and record series. We have not established complete coverage for this collection. Follow each provider link for its holdings and access terms; a missing result is not proof of absence.

Reading the evidence: an index, transcript, provider search page and original image are different sources. A recorded image link does not mean its reading or identity match is confirmed. Inspect the assessment and source page before changing a family relationship. Repository guides checked 4 October 2026.

Reviewed newspaper notices

4 distinct notices from 4 retained pages, earliest first. Reprints of the same notice are merged; 4 pages have saved inline excerpts. Open a notice for its clipping, reading and profile assessment.

How to read these notices

Cards lead with the person named in the notice; profile candidates are assessed separately. Birth cutoffs labelled “by c.” are estimates, usually assuming an adult professional was at least 18; open the birth note for the basis. Event groups are broad navigation aids built from each notice’s record type. A relationship filter identifies family wording in the notice, not a proved match to a WikiTree family.

4 distinct notices · 4 retained pages

1836Verified surname passagecriminal trial reportNo profile yet

James Glasgow

Kilrea (trial/indictment context)Birth unknown

Among men indicted after a procession and alleged riot at Kilrea on 13 July 1835. · The procession count was set aside under amnesty; trial proceeded on riot charge and the jury immediately acquitted the prisoners.

Published 1836-03-25 · Belfast News-Letter · p. 1

Newspaper excerpt for 1836-03-25; reading and assessment follow
Passage: opening. Kilrea prosecution report in overlapping sections, including the named defendants and judgment. Source reference: Belfast News-Letter · 1836-03-25 · p. 1. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.
Additional excerpts from this issue — 2
Supplemental newspaper excerpt from 1836-03-25
Passage: judgment. Kilrea prosecution report in overlapping sections, including the named defendants and judgment. Original excerpt page ↗
Supplemental newspaper excerpt from 1836-03-25
Passage: end. Kilrea prosecution report in overlapping sections, including the named defendants and judgment. Original excerpt page ↗

What the notice says

James Glasgow was among the men indicted after a procession and alleged riot at Kilrea on 13 July 1835. The procession count was set aside under the amnesty; the trial proceeded on the riot charge and the jury immediately acquitted the prisoners.

Evidence and identity limits

The court report establishes an accused surname bearer and acquittal, not a conviction, residence, occupation or kinship. Regional James Glasgow candidates remain unassigned. No connection to Alexander or Robert of Lisnagaver is supplied. Identity review (6 October 2026): Belfast News-Letter, 25 March 1836: James Glasgow was among men tried for riot after the Kilrea procession of 13 July 1835; the procession count was dropped under the amnesty and the jury acquitted them at once. Several local James Glasgows are possible; none can be assigned, and no relationship is stated.

Who this may be

No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved. Research draft (documentary subject)
1836Verified surname passagechurch reportStrong match

James Glasgow

Castledawson (stated affiliation); Bellaghy serviceb. by c. 1818

The Magherafelt Presbytery ordained Gilbert Kirker Wilson to Bellaghy on 15 March 1836. Rev. James Glasgow of Castledawson preached at the service and later returned thanks; he was not the ordinand.

Birth estimate / source

Rev. ministerial role documented by 1836; estimated age 18+ at that role, not stated by the source and not a sourced birth date.

Occupation / trade

Published 1836-04-05 · Belfast News-Letter · p. 4

Newspaper excerpt for 1836-04-05; reading and assessment follow
Faithful bounded excerpt of the identified newspaper passage; see private provenance for crop bounds and parent image. Source reference: Belfast News-Letter · 1836-04-05 · p. 4. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.
Additional excerpts from this issue — 1
Supplemental newspaper excerpt from 1836-04-05
Additional excerpt continuing the Bellaghy ordination report: toast to the gentlemen who officiated that day, followed by Rev. James Glasgow’s thanks and the Bellaghy congregation toast. Original excerpt page ↗

What the notice says

Under ‘ORDINATION AT BELLAGHY,’ the report says the Magherafelt Presbytery ordained Rev. Gilbert Kirker Wilson to Bellaghy on ‘the 15th ult.’ Rev. James Glasgow, of Castledawson, commenced the service with a sermon. After the report of the service, the same account describes the toasts: the chairman gave ‘The Gentlemen who officiated this day,’ and Rev. James Glasgow returned thanks. With the 5 April issue date, ‘15th ult.’ means 15 March 1836.

Evidence and identity limits

A contemporaneous Castledawson ministerial occurrence, compatible with Glasgow-1780 in the established career sequence; the source does not state his middle name or family. Identity review (6 October 2026): At the ordination of Rev. Gilbert Kirker Wilson to Bellaghy on 15 March 1836, Rev. James Glasgow of Castledawson preached and later returned thanks. He is James McClure Glasgow (Glasgow-1780), minister of Castledawson 1835-40; no family relationship is stated.

Who this may be

[b. 1805-05-27; d. 1890-06-30] · preacher at Bellaghy ordination
Why this candidate?

Exact office: Fasti no. 1123 and ministers' index make James Glasgow minister of Castledawson 1835-40 (ordained 6 Oct 1835); he is the only Rev. James Glasgow of Castledawson. Record-level bridge; no competitor.

Research draft (documentary subject)
1836Verified surname passageproperty-rental noticePossible match

Robert Glasgow

Cookstown (property-rental contact; residence not asserted beyond source wording)Birth unknown

Named as the contact for terms in an advertisement letting the King’s Arms Inn and about ten acres; notice dated 12 October 1836.

Published 1836-10-18 · Belfast News-Letter · p. 3

Newspaper excerpt for 1836-10-18; reading and assessment follow
Complete King’s Arms Inn advertisement, with Robert Glasgow of Cookstown as contact. Source reference: Belfast News-Letter · 1836-10-18 · p. 3. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.

What the notice says

King’s Arms Inn, Cookstown, to let from 1 November; about ten acres of land; terms from Mr Robert Glasgow, Cookstown. Notice dated 12 October 1836.

Evidence and identity limits

The notices name roles, not his age or family. The 1836 contact is not explicitly described as innkeeper or owner. The Academy is not described as a Sunday school. Consolidated as a same-name Cookstown research account; identity between the notices, the mill partner, Robert-2656 and Robert-3941 remains unproved. Neither notice identifies the already-deceased father of the surgeon. Identity review (6 October 2026): Advertisement dated 12 October 1836: the King's Arms Inn, Cookstown, with about ten acres, to let from 1 November; terms from Mr Robert Glasgow, Cookstown. Robert Glasgow Esq of Tullyveagh (Glasgow-2656, d. 1856) is the most plausible Cookstown Robert alive in 1836, but the notice is not proof; no relationship stated.

Who this may be

[b. c. 1798; d. 1856-08-20] · contact for letting the King's Arms Inn
Why this candidate?

Name + Cookstown + adult property agent in 1836. Glasgow-2656 (Robert Esq, b. c.1798, of Tullyveagh, Cookstown, d. 20 Aug 1856; prerogative probate 1856; mill-owning family) was a gentleman of property in the town at this date. Glasgow-3941 (Coltrim, Lissan) is weaker (outside the town; last record 1831). The surgeon's father Robert was already dead by 1834 and is excluded. The advertisement gives no designation linking to Tullyveagh.

Research draft (documentary subject)
1836Verified surname passagemilitary medical appointmentNo profile yet

John Glasco

Liverpool Recruiting District (appointed post); formerly employed at Grenadab. by c. 1818 adult estimate

Appointed Surgeon of the Liverpool Recruiting District in place of Staff-Surgeon Elliott, removed to Barbados.

Birth estimate / source

Adult role: Staff-Surgeon in 1836; age unstated; estimate assumes the role holder was at least 18.

Occupation / trade

Published 1836-12-30 · Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · p. 1

Newspaper excerpt for 1836-12-30; reading and assessment follow
Faithful bounded excerpt of the visually inspected original newspaper page; provider issue metadata retained. No reconstructed text. Source reference: Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · 1836-12-30 · p. 1. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.

What the notice says

Staff-Surgeon John Glasco, lately employed at Grenada, was appointed Surgeon of the Liverpool Recruiting District in the room of Staff-Surgeon Elliott, removed to Barbadoes.

Evidence and identity limits

Full name, prior Grenada employment and Liverpool appointment are explicit. Relationship to the senior 1826 retiree remains unresolved. This documentary sequence may involve one or more men; identity continuity is unresolved. Weak possible comparisons: Glasgow-2058: Weak comparison only: compatible chronology and later Cookstown merchant context, but no service, Liverpool, family, or surname-spelling bridge. Glasgow-3927: Weak comparison only: 1831 John Glasco of Inishrush, but no age or occupation and no military bridge; keep separate from proposed Glasgow-822 identity. Glasgow-822: Weak comparison only: chronology and Irish family context fit broadly, but Ohio records by 1833 create location tension with later Liverpool notices; no service bridge. Identity review (6 October 2026): Freeman's Journal, 30 December 1836: Staff-Surgeon John Glasco, lately at Grenada, appointed Surgeon of the Liverpool Recruiting District. He is the army surgeon John Glasco of Drew's Roll (b. 1783, BA TCD, staff surgeon 1826-39, d. Dinan 1869), who has no WikiTree profile; none of the earlier comparison profiles fits. No compatible WikiTree profile after a duplicate search for: Staff-Surgeon John Glasco.

Who this may be

No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved. Research draft (documentary subject)
Unresolved search hits — 0 pages · 0 distinct readings

These are search leads or exclusions, not confirmed surname records.

Excluded place, vessel and other-name matches — 0 pages · 0 distinct readings

These are search leads or exclusions, not confirmed surname records.

Collected references 0

Reference items in this project, not the total surviving archive. A reference can appear in several types or locations; several references can concern the same record. Countries are inferred from source descriptions and recorded places, so check the citation. Undated and ambiguous items remain available.

0 reference items · earliest first

No reference item assigned to this collection yet. This does not mean the archive has no relevant records.

Complete collection index — all reference links

    Saved people and pages

    Select 2 people to compare their evidence.