Skip to page content
Home/Records & sources/Ireland newspapers, 1838
Catalogue · 27 Sep 2026

The source library

Ireland newspapers, 1838

Reported events, notices, advertisements and letters. OCR matches need visual checking; place names, vessels and matches to other surnames are excluded from Glasgow surname evidence.

0 collected reference items

← All Ireland newspapers

Coverage, survival & limitations

Availability depends on the particular repository, locality, date range and record series. We have not established complete coverage for this collection. Follow each provider link for its holdings and access terms; a missing result is not proof of absence.

Reading the evidence: an index, transcript, provider search page and original image are different sources. A recorded image link does not mean its reading or identity match is confirmed. Inspect the assessment and source page before changing a family relationship. Repository guides checked 4 October 2026.

Reviewed newspaper notices

3 distinct notices from 4 retained pages, earliest first. Reprints of the same notice are merged; 4 pages have saved inline excerpts. Open a notice for its clipping, reading and profile assessment.

How to read these notices

Cards lead with the person named in the notice; profile candidates are assessed separately. Birth cutoffs labelled “by c.” are estimates, usually assuming an adult professional was at least 18; open the birth note for the basis. Event groups are broad navigation aids built from each notice’s record type. A relationship filter identifies family wording in the notice, not a proved match to a WikiTree family.

3 distinct notices · 4 retained pages

1838Verified surname passagecriminal trial reportProbable match

Jane Glasgow

Antrim Assizes (gave evidence)Birth unknown

Named as the mother of the deceased Anne Armstrong.

Anne Armstrong

Bally-cluck (printed death locality)Birth unknown

Reported death on 23 June 1838. This is a death place, not evidence of residence.

John Armstrong

Place not statedBirth unknown

Named as Anne’s husband and son of Euphemia Armstrong.

Euphemia Armstrong

Antrim Assizes (gave evidence)Birth unknown

Named as mother of John Armstrong.

Spouse / marriageParents & childrenPlace / addressDeath

Published 1838-07-27 · Freeman’s Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · p. 3

Newspaper excerpt for 1838-07-27; reading and assessment follow
Bounded trial report visually checked against the original page on 5 October 2026. Full-page context identifies the ANTRIM ASSIZES; issue heading is outside the crop. Printed place: Bally-cluck; no modern mapping asserted. Source reference: Freeman’s Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · 1838-07-27 · p. 3. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.

What the notice says

Under Antrim Assizes, Jane Glasgow is named as the mother of the deceased Anne Armstrong. Euphemia Armstrong is named as mother of John Armstrong, who was married to Anne. The report says Anne died on 23 June 1838 at printed Bally-cluck; the manslaughter defendant William M’Gowan was found not guilty.

Evidence and identity limits

The original report directly establishes these named relationships, the printed locality and the acquittal. It does not give ages, Jane’s spouse or residence, or Anne’s birth surname. Retain Bally-cluck as printed. The checked catalogue supports compatible but unproved Jane Glasgow comparisons McClure-6341 and Glasgow-1779; neither is selected or attached. No concrete candidate was located for Anne, John or Euphemia. Identity review (6 October 2026): Antrim Assizes, July 1838: William M'Gowan, a man-midwife, was acquitted of the manslaughter of Anne Armstrong, who died in childbirth on 23 June 1838 at Bally-cluck (Ballyclug, beside Ballymena/Broughshane). Euphemia Armstrong was the mother of Anne's husband John Armstrong, and Jane Glasgow was Anne's mother. Jane Glasgow is probably the widow Jane (McClure) Glasgow (McClure-6341) of the Racavan/Broughshane family, and Anne is possibly her daughter Glasgow-1779 'Jane Armstrong', whose gravestone gives 1837 - so the notice may supply that daughter's husband and true death date. No compatible WikiTree profile after a duplicate search for: John Armstrong; Euphemia Armstrong.

Who this may be

[b. c. 1773; d. c. 1858-05] · mother of the deceased Anne Armstrong; witness
Why this candidate?

Independent agreements: (1) a living Mrs Jane Glasgow in 1838 - Jane (McClure) Glasgow was widowed in 1836 and lived until 1858 (Racavan stone: 'Jane, his widow 1858, aged 85'); (2) place - the death was at Bally-cluck (Ballyclug parish, which Lewis 1837 places in one manor district with Racavan; the family is buried at Racavan, Broughshane, and son Adam D. Glasgow was 'of Broughshane' in 1830-31); (3) family - the same stone records her daughter 'Jane Armstrong' (married an Armstrong) dying about this time (1837, aged 38). No other Jane Glasgow of County Antrim exists on WikiTree. Not strong because the deceased's forename (Anne vs Jane) and year (1838 vs 1837) do not match the stone transc

[b. c. 1799; d. c. 1837] · died 23 June 1838 at Bally-cluck after a difficult childbirth; wife of John Armstrong; daughter of Jane Glasgow
Why this candidate?

Glasgow-1779 is Jane (Glasgow) Armstrong, b. c.1799, daughter of John Glasgow and Jane McClure, 'died 1837 aged 38' per the Racavan stone transcription. Agreements: Glasgow-born daughter of a Jane Glasgow, married to an Armstrong, of childbearing age (38-39), died c.1837-38 in the parish next to Racavan. Conflicts: forename Anne (notice, twice) vs Jane (stone transcript) and year 1838 (notice, confirmed by the July 1838 assize) vs 1837 (transcript). Both could be transcription slips or an 'Anne Jane' double name, but neither is resolved, so only possible. If accepted, 1779's death should become 23 June 1838 at Ballyclug.

Anne Armstrong and her family, Antrim Assizes 1838 — research draft
1838Verified surname passagesubscription listNo profile yet

Glasco (Staff-Surgeon)

Liverpoolb. by c. 1820 adult estimate

Included as a subscriber to the Curran Monument fund.

Birth estimate / source

Adult role: Staff-Surgeon in 1838; age unstated; estimate assumes the role holder was at least 18.

Occupation / trade

Published 1838-08-31 · Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · p. 2

Newspaper excerpt for 1838-08-31; reading and assessment follow
Faithful bounded excerpt of the visually inspected original newspaper page; provider issue metadata retained. No reconstructed text. Source reference: Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · 1838-08-31 · p. 2. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.

What the notice says

A £1 Curran Monument subscription list includes “Staff-Surgeon Glasco, Liverpool.”

Evidence and identity limits

Surname only; compatible with the 1836 Liverpool appointment, but a contribution list is not a service record or independent continuity proof. This documentary sequence may involve one or more men; identity continuity is unresolved. Weak possible comparisons: Glasgow-2058: Weak comparison only: compatible chronology and later Cookstown merchant context, but no service, Liverpool, family, or surname-spelling bridge. Glasgow-3927: Weak comparison only: 1831 John Glasco of Inishrush, but no age or occupation and no military bridge; keep separate from proposed Glasgow-822 identity. Glasgow-822: Weak comparison only: chronology and Irish family context fit broadly, but Ohio records by 1833 create location tension with later Liverpool notices; no service bridge. Identity review (6 October 2026): Freeman's Journal, 31 August 1838: 'Staff-Surgeon Glasco, Liverpool' subscribed GBP1 to the Curran Monument. This is the same army surgeon John Glasco (Drew's Roll no. 2845), then Surgeon of the Liverpool Recruiting District; he has no WikiTree profile. No compatible WikiTree profile after a duplicate search for: Staff-Surgeon Glasco, Liverpool.

Who this may be

No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved. Research draft (documentary subject)
1838Verified surname passagepetition/requestPrinted in 2 issuesNo profile yet

J. Glasco

Place not statedBirth unknown

signed a parishioners’ request for a meeting at the Corn Exchange Rooms on 27 November 1838 to arrange collection for O’Connell’s Annuity

Published 1838-11-26 – 1838-11-27 · Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · p. 1

Newspaper excerpt for 1838-11-26; reading and assessment follow
Faithful bounded excerpt of the visually inspected original newspaper page; provider issue metadata retained. No reconstructed text. Source reference: Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · 1838-11-26 · p. 1. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.

What the notice says

A request by parishioners of St Andrew’s parish in Dublin, including St Mark’s, St Peter’s and St Anne’s, sought a meeting at the Corn Exchange Rooms at 3 p.m. on 27 November 1838 to arrange collection for O’Connell’s Annuity. J. Glasco signed the appeal.

Evidence and identity limits

This proves a signatory association with the appeal only. It does not establish occupation, age, family, residence, contribution amount or attendance. The 27 November issue is a reprint of the same planned event (“THIS DAY”), not proof of a second act. The 26 November issue says the planned meeting is tomorrow, 27 November. It repeats the same appeal, not a second act. Identity review (6 October 2026): Freeman's Journal, 26-27 November 1838: J. Glasco signed the St Andrew's parish (Dublin) requisition for a Corn Exchange meeting to collect O'Connell's Annuity. Initial only, no occupation or address beyond the parish; not identifiable on WikiTree. The staff surgeon John Glasco was posted at Liverpool at this time and is not indicated.

Who this may be

No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved. Research draft (documentary subject)
Original newspaper page ↗Link to this notice
Repeated notice — 2 original issues

These issues carry the same normalized maintained reading; each original page remains available.

Different issue assessments
  • 1838-11-26: This proves a signatory association with the appeal only. It does not establish occupation, age, family, residence, contribution amount or attendance. The 27 November issue is a reprint of the same planned event (“THIS DAY”), not proof of a second act. The 26 November issue says the planned meeting is tomorrow, 27 November. It repeats the same appeal, not a second act. Identity review (6 October 2026): Freeman's Journal, 26-27 November 1838: J. Glasco signed the St Andrew's parish (Dublin) requisition for a Corn Exchange meeting to collect O'Connell's Annuity. Initial only, no occupation or address beyond the parish; not identifiable on WikiTree. The staff surgeon John Glasco was posted at Liverpool at this time and is not indicated.
  • 1838-11-27: This proves a signatory association with the appeal only. It does not establish occupation, age, family, residence, contribution amount or attendance. The 27 November issue is a reprint of the same planned event (“THIS DAY”), not proof of a second act. The 27 November reprint says “THIS DAY” for the planned meeting. It repeats the same appeal, not a second act. Identity review (6 October 2026): Freeman's Journal, 26-27 November 1838: J. Glasco signed the St Andrew's parish (Dublin) requisition for a Corn Exchange meeting to collect O'Connell's Annuity. Initial only, no occupation or address beyond the parish; not identifiable on WikiTree. The staff surgeon John Glasco was posted at Liverpool at this time and is not indicated.
Alternative saved issue excerpts
Newspaper excerpt from 1838-11-27; Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser, page 1
Faithful bounded excerpt of the visually inspected original newspaper page; provider issue metadata retained. No reconstructed text. Source reference: Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · 1838-11-27 · p. 1. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.
Unresolved search hits — 0 pages · 0 distinct readings

These are search leads or exclusions, not confirmed surname records.

Excluded place, vessel and other-name matches — 0 pages · 0 distinct readings

These are search leads or exclusions, not confirmed surname records.

Collected references 0

Reference items in this project, not the total surviving archive. A reference can appear in several types or locations; several references can concern the same record. Countries are inferred from source descriptions and recorded places, so check the citation. Undated and ambiguous items remain available.

0 reference items · earliest first

No reference item assigned to this collection yet. This does not mean the archive has no relevant records.

Complete collection index — all reference links

    Saved people and pages

    Select 2 people to compare their evidence.