Skip to page content
Home/Records & sources/Netherlands: Newspapers
Catalogue · 27 Sep 2026

The source library

Netherlands: Newspapers

Reported events, notices, advertisements and letters. OCR matches need visual checking; place names, vessels and matches to other surnames are excluded from Glasgow surname evidence.

0 collected reference items

By record year

Coverage, survival & limitations

Availability depends on the particular repository, locality, date range and record series. We have not established complete coverage for this collection. Follow each provider link for its holdings and access terms; a missing result is not proof of absence.

Reading the evidence: an index, transcript, provider search page and original image are different sources. A recorded image link does not mean its reading or identity match is confirmed. Inspect the assessment and source page before changing a family relationship. Repository guides checked 4 October 2026.

Reviewed newspaper notices

3 distinct notices from 3 retained pages, earliest first. Reprints of the same notice are merged; 3 pages have saved inline excerpts. Open a notice for its clipping, reading and profile assessment.

How to read these notices

Cards lead with the person named in the notice; profile candidates are assessed separately. Birth cutoffs labelled “by c.” are estimates, usually assuming an adult professional was at least 18; open the birth note for the basis. Event groups are broad navigation aids built from each notice’s record type. A relationship filter identifies family wording in the notice, not a proved match to a WikiTree family.

3 distinct notices · 3 retained pages

1746Verified surname passagenews reportNo profile yet

Nicolas Glascoe

UnknownBirth unknown

Named among officers or prisoners in a report on the 1746 proceedings.

Published 1746-09-21 · S Gravenhaegse Courant · p. 1

Newspaper excerpt for 1746-09-21; reading and assessment follow
Newspapers.com original-page JPG saved through the visible CUA page controls; bounded PNG made by a pixel-preserving crop of that downloaded JPG. No image retouching or OCR reconstruction.; long s normalized in the maintained reading. Issue metadata follows Newspapers.com unless noted. Source reference: S Gravenhaegse Courant · 1746-09-21 · p. 1. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.

What the notice says

A Dutch London report dated 16 September lists Nicolas Glascoe among named officers or prisoners in the 1746 proceedings.

Evidence and identity limits

Original Dutch passage verified. This is a cautious English summary of the named list; detailed legal wording has not been translated or equated with the English indictment notice. Identity review (6 October 2026): Dutch report (16 Sept 1746) listing Nicolas Glascoe among Jacobite officers/prisoners. He is the Irish-French Major Nicholas Glascoe of Ogilvy's regiment; no WikiTree profile exists. No compatible WikiTree profile after a duplicate search for: Nicolas Glascoe.

Who this may be

No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved. Research draft (documentary subject)
1746Verified surname passagemilitary reportNo profile yet

Nicolas Glascoe

FranceBirth unknown

Reported as a major in Lord Ogilvie’s second battalion and formerly lieutenant in Dillon’s Regiment in French service. · A Dutch report says an order was made to treat him as a prisoner of war.

Occupation / tradeBirth

Published 1746-12-01 · Opregte Haarlemsche Courant · p. 1

Newspaper excerpt for 1746-12-01; reading and assessment follow
Newspapers.com original-page JPG saved through the visible CUA page controls; bounded PNG made by a pixel-preserving crop of that downloaded JPG. No image retouching or OCR reconstruction.; long s normalized in the maintained reading. Issue metadata follows Newspapers.com unless noted. Source reference: Opregte Haarlemsche Courant · 1746-12-01 · p. 1. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.

What the notice says

A Dutch report names Nicolas Glascoe, major in Lord Ogilvie’s second battalion, as French-born and formerly a lieutenant in Dillon’s Regiment in French service; it reports an order to treat him as a prisoner of war.

Evidence and identity limits

Working English summary of the original Dutch. The passage does not give a birth date, relatives or the specific French town named in other reports. Identity review (6 October 2026): Dutch report (Dec 1746) on Major Nicolas Glascoe of Ogilvy's 2nd battalion, French-born ex-lieutenant of Dillon's, to be treated as a prisoner of war. Same man as group 1334222061; no WikiTree profile. No compatible WikiTree profile after a duplicate search for: Nicolas Glascoe.

Who this may be

No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved. Research draft (documentary subject)
1794Verified surname passageshipping-arrival reportNo profile yet

A. Glascow

Glasgow (stated origin)Birth unknown

Named as arriving from Glasgow in a shipping-arrival report dated 24 June 1794, alongside H. Jurriens from Riga and J. Mark from Königsbergen.

Published 1794-06-26 · Rotterdamse courant · p. 2

Newspaper excerpt for 1794-06-26; reading and assessment follow
Faithful bounded crop of the original downloaded page: A. Glascow and adjacent shipping entries. Personal-name reading; probable master role, initial unexpanded. Issue date follows provider metadata. Source reference: Rotterdamse courant · 1794-06-26 · p. 2. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.
Additional excerpts from this issue — 1
Supplemental newspaper excerpt from 1794-06-26
Separate original column lead-in: Rotterdam, 25 June; on 24 June arrived. This continues into the A. Glascow line in the next column. Separate excerpts, not a reconstructed or joined image. Original excerpt page ↗

What the notice says

A. Glascow from Glasgow is named with H. Jurriens from Riga and J. Mark from Königsbergen in a shipping-arrival report for 24 June 1794, under the Rotterdam dateline of 25 June.

Evidence and identity limits

Personal initial-and-surname reading supported by the parallel named entries and arrival-list syntax. Maritime-master role is probable, not expressly assigned to A. in this passage. The following commanded-by name is P. L. Markwaarden, a separate entry, not J. Mark. The given name, gender, vessel, residence, birthplace and family are unknown; the Glasgow port does not identify personal origin. All profile leads are weak, without a maritime or event bridge. Identity review (6 October 2026): June 1794 Rotterdam arrival list: 'A. Glascow' from Glasgow. Initial only, no vessel; cannot be identified.

Who this may be

No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved. Research draft (documentary subject)
Unresolved search hits — 0 pages · 0 distinct readings

These are search leads or exclusions, not confirmed surname records.

Excluded place, vessel and other-name matches — 4 pages · 4 distinct readings

These are search leads or exclusions, not confirmed surname records.

1690Excluded matchNewspaper noticeNo profile yet

Excluded search match

Place not statedBirth unknown

Published 1690-01-26 · Opregte Haarlemsche Courant · p. 1

What the notice says

na Glascow

Evidence and identity limits

Dutch report names Glascow as a destination; place name.

Who this may be

No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved.

Place, vessel or other-surname OCR match; excluded from surname evidence.

1725Excluded matchNewspaper noticeNo profile yet

Excluded search match

Place not statedBirth unknown

Published 1725-07-30 · S Gravenhaegse Courant · p. 1

What the notice says

Glasgow

Evidence and identity limits

Dutch report concerns troops going to Glasgow; place name.

Who this may be

No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved.

Place, vessel or other-surname OCR match; excluded from surname evidence.

1728Excluded matchNewspaper noticeNo profile yet

Excluded search match

Place not statedBirth unknown

Published 1728-03-22 · Leydse courant · p. 1

What the notice says

te Glascow Kapt. Hamilton

Evidence and identity limits

Dutch shipping report places Captain Hamilton at Glascow; place name.

Who this may be

No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved.

Place, vessel or other-surname OCR match; excluded from surname evidence.

1737Excluded matchNewspaper noticeNo profile yet

Excluded search match

Place not statedBirth unknown

Published 1737-08-12 · S Gravenhaegse Courant · p. 1

What the notice says

William Smith na Glasgow

Evidence and identity limits

William Smith is named; Glasgow is the destination.

Who this may be

No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved.

Place, vessel or other-surname OCR match; excluded from surname evidence.

Collected references 0

Reference items in this project, not the total surviving archive. A reference can appear in several types or locations; several references can concern the same record. Countries are inferred from source descriptions and recorded places, so check the citation. Undated and ambiguous items remain available.

0 reference items · earliest first

No reference item assigned to this collection yet. This does not mean the archive has no relevant records.

Complete collection index — all reference links

    Saved people and pages

    Select 2 people to compare their evidence.