Reported events, notices, advertisements and letters. OCR matches need visual checking; place names, vessels and matches to other surnames are excluded from Glasgow surname evidence.
Availability depends on the particular repository, locality, date range and record series. We have not established complete coverage for this collection. Follow each provider link for its holdings and access terms; a missing result is not proof of absence.
Reading the evidence: an index, transcript, provider search page and original image are different sources. A recorded image link does not mean its reading or identity match is confirmed. Inspect the assessment and source page before changing a family relationship. Repository guides checked 4 October 2026.
Reviewed newspaper notices
1 distinct notices from 1 retained pages, earliest first. Reprints of the same notice are merged; 1 pages have saved inline excerpts. Open a notice for its clipping, reading and profile assessment.
How to read these notices
Cards lead with the person named in the notice; profile candidates are assessed separately. Birth cutoffs labelled “by c.” are estimates, usually assuming an adult professional was at least 18; open the birth note for the basis. Event groups are broad navigation aids built from each notice’s record type. A relationship filter identifies family wording in the notice, not a proved match to a WikiTree family.
1 distinct notices · 1 retained pages
1789Verified surname passagecertificate listPossible match
James Glasgow
Edinburghb. by c. 1771 adult estimate
Appears in the Mid-Lothian game-duty list of certificates issued since 8 September 1789.
Birth estimate / source
Adult role as Esq./game-duty certificate holder in 1789, assuming 18+; age not stated
Occupation / tradePlace / address
Published 1789-12-11 · The Edinburgh Advertiser · p. 8
Faithful bounded excerpt of the inspected original. Contrast adjusted 1.35 for legibility; no reconstruction. Supplemental context is separately preserved where needed; issue metadata supplied by Newspapers.com. Source reference: The Edinburgh Advertiser · 1789-12-11 · p. 8. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.
What the notice says
James Glasgow, Esq., Edinburgh, appears in the Mid-Lothian game-duty list of certificates issued since 8 September 1789.
Evidence and identity limits
Entry reads Glasgow, James, Esq; Edinburgh. The list concerns issued game certificates, not a dated shooting event or a family relationship. Date scope is the list heading, not an exact certificate date. The clipping has a disclosed contrast adjustment, without reconstruction. Identity review (6 October 2026): Dec 1789 Mid-Lothian game-certificate list: 'Glasgow, James, Esq; Edinburgh'. Best lead is James Glasgow (Glasgow-1142), St Vincent planter and brother of Robert of Montgreenan, who died in Calder parish near Edinburgh, but this is unproved.
[b. 1750-03-18; d. c. 1803] · game-certificate holder (gentleman)Why this candidate?
'Esq.' and a Mid-Lothian game certificate imply a landed or monied gentleman. Paterson says James, brother of Robert Glasgow of Mountgreenan, 'went to St Vincent's. He died in the parish of Calder, near Edinburgh, unmarried' - a returned planter living near Edinburgh fits the description, and Robert's 1803 trust names James's natural sons. That is Glasgow-1142 (bapt. Dalry 1750; d.1803). But nothing places him in Edinburgh in 1789. The earlier candidates have nothing behind them: 4124 (Saltoun mariner/surgeon 1733), 3944 (no data), 2988 and 1024 (Ireland) - weak. Glasgow-2848 (bapt. 1750 West Calder, son of John) is another Calder-area possibility. Williamson's 1790 Edinburgh directory has n
These are search leads or exclusions, not confirmed surname records.
1789Excluded matchNewspaper noticeNo profile yet
Excluded search match
Place not statedBirth unknown
Published 1789-12-04 · The Edinburgh Advertiser · p. 3
What the notice says
For The Margarets, Robert Lindsay master, goods at Rappahannock River, Virginia: ‘John Galloway, Glasgow; Robert Boy, Greenock, or the Master on board.’ Nearby Grandvale notice names Robert Baines/Baine and Port Glasgow.
Evidence and identity limits
Confirmed exclusion: John Galloway is named; Glasgow is a locality. No John Glasgow person.
Who this may be
No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved.
Place, vessel or other-surname OCR match; excluded from surname evidence.
Collected references 0
Reference items in this project, not the total surviving archive. A reference can appear in several types or locations; several references can concern the same record. Countries are inferred from source descriptions and recorded places, so check the citation. Undated and ambiguous items remain available.
0 reference items · earliest first
No reference item assigned to this collection yet. This does not mean the archive has no relevant records.