Skip to page content
Home/Records & sources/Ireland newspapers, 1780
Catalogue · 27 Sep 2026

The source library

Ireland newspapers, 1780

Reported events, notices, advertisements and letters. OCR matches need visual checking; place names, vessels and matches to other surnames are excluded from Glasgow surname evidence.

0 collected reference items

← All Ireland newspapers

Coverage, survival & limitations

Availability depends on the particular repository, locality, date range and record series. We have not established complete coverage for this collection. Follow each provider link for its holdings and access terms; a missing result is not proof of absence.

Reading the evidence: an index, transcript, provider search page and original image are different sources. A recorded image link does not mean its reading or identity match is confirmed. Inspect the assessment and source page before changing a family relationship. Repository guides checked 4 October 2026.

Reviewed newspaper notices

2 distinct notices from 6 retained pages, earliest first. Reprints of the same notice are merged; 6 pages have saved inline excerpts. Open a notice for its clipping, reading and profile assessment.

How to read these notices

Cards lead with the person named in the notice; profile candidates are assessed separately. Birth cutoffs labelled “by c.” are estimates, usually assuming an adult professional was at least 18; open the birth note for the basis. Event groups are broad navigation aids built from each notice’s record type. A relationship filter identifies family wording in the notice, not a proved match to a WikiTree family.

2 distinct notices · 6 retained pages

1780Verified surname passagebusiness advertisementPrinted in 5 issuesPossible match

Glasco (forename unknown)

Christ-Church-lane to 20 Ormond Quay, Dublinb. by c. 1761 adult estimate

Advertised a move from Christ-Church-lane to 20 Ormond Quay near the market.

Birth estimate / source

Adult role: watch and clock maker in 1779; age unstated; estimate assumes the role holder was at least 18.

Occupation / trade

Published 1780-02-05 – 1780-04-04 · The Public Register, or, Freeman's Journal · p. 2

Newspaper excerpt for 1780-02-05; reading and assessment follow
Bounded excerpt checked against the original on 4 October 2026; the issue heading is outside the crop. Source reference: The Public Register, or, Freeman's Journal · 1780-02-05 · p. 2. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.

What the notice says

Glasco, watch and clock maker, advertises moving from Christ-Church-lane to 20 Ormond Quay near the market; no first name is given.

Evidence and identity limits

Original inspected. Same address-change advertisement, not an independent family statement. Thomas candidates remain compatible but unassigned. Identity review (6 October 2026): A repeated 1779–80 Freeman's Journal advertisement: Glasco, watch and clock maker, moves from Christ-Church-lane to 20 Ormond Quay. Two other records point to Thomas Glasco as the advertiser: a July 1779 marriage of '[Thomas] Glasco of Christchurch-lane, watchmaker' to Miss Hynes of Ormond-quay (Saunders's News-Letter extraction; forename supplied by the extractor), and Watson's 1783 directory entry 'Glasco, Thomas, Watch maker, 20 Ormond quay'. Which WikiTree Thomas he is remains unproved.

Who this may be

[b. c. 1753; d. ?] · advertiser
Why this candidate?

Documentary identity, graded probable: the same trade, the move to exactly 20 Ormond Quay in Oct 1779, and Watson's 1783 listing of Thomas Glasco, watch maker, at 20 Ormond quay (same house number, four years later) identify the advertiser as Thomas Glasco. The July 1779 marriage of a Christchurch-lane watchmaker Glasco to Miss Hynes of Ormond-quay explains the move to Ormond Quay. The bracketed forename [Thomas] in that extraction is editorial and is not used as evidence. Profile assignment, graded possible only, among three Dublin Thomas profiles managed by the same user. (1) Glasco-144: Thomas, b. c.1753, the 1773 St Audoen's groom of Margaret Duffy (St Audoen's is next to Christ Church L

Research draft (documentary subject)
1780Verified surname passagecourt reportProbable match

Manasses Glasco

Place not statedb. by c. 1762 adult estimate

identified as the Reverend Manasses Glasco, victim of assault by Michael Rogers

Birth estimate / source

Clergyman role establishes adult status; assuming age 18+ by 1780, age unstated.

Michael Rogers

Place not statedBirth unknown

ordered to pay ten guineas after assaulting the Reverend Manasses Glasco

Occupation / trade

Published 1780-12-12 · The Public Register, or, Freeman's Journal · p. 6

Newspaper excerpt for 1780-12-12; reading and assessment follow
Visually checked bounded original excerpt; long s is conventionally transcribed as s. Issue date follows provider metadata unless the notice supplies a separate event date. Source reference: The Public Register, or, Freeman's Journal · 1780-12-12 · p. 6. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.

What the notice says

Michael Rogers, for assaulting the Rev. Manasses Glasco, ordered to pay ten guineas, to be distributed in public charities by the prosecutor.

Evidence and identity limits

The original directly supports the clerical title Rev. for Manasses Glasco in 1780. Glasco-170 is a probable match to the Monkstown family account; his recorded birth BEFORE 1766 is a boundary, not a 1766 birth. The notice names no relatives or parish appointment. No relationship is upgraded. Identity review (6 October 2026): Freeman's Journal 12 Dec 1780 court report: Michael Rogers was fined ten guineas for assaulting the Rev. Manasses Glasco. The only Manasses Glasco or Glasgow on WikiTree is Glasco-170 (Rev. Manasses, said to be assistant curate of Monkstown, died before his widow Susanna remarried in June 1784), and the identity is now graded strong. The notice names no kin.

Who this may be

[b. before 1766; d. before 1784] · assault victim (clergyman)
Why this candidate?

The full name is unique in the surname study and the clerical title fits: duplicate searches for Manasses Glasco, Manasses Glasgow and Manasseh Glasgow return only Glasco-170. The YouWho Dowling family account calls Manasses Glasco assistant curate of Monkstown and says his widow Susanna married Dionysius Dowling at Monkstown in June 1784. The profile also cites M. Wade Mahon's note of a 'Rev. Mr Glasco' who was first assistant at a Blackrock school and advertised for boarders in 1782. A Rev. Manasses Glasco in Dublin in Dec 1780 fits all of this, and no rival Manasses exists. The match is strong for the person; it does not validate the profile's other claims. Two caveats. The profile's fath

Unresolved search hits — 0 pages · 0 distinct readings

These are search leads or exclusions, not confirmed surname records.

Excluded place, vessel and other-name matches — 0 pages · 0 distinct readings

These are search leads or exclusions, not confirmed surname records.

Collected references 0

Reference items in this project, not the total surviving archive. A reference can appear in several types or locations; several references can concern the same record. Countries are inferred from source descriptions and recorded places, so check the citation. Undated and ambiguous items remain available.

0 reference items · earliest first

No reference item assigned to this collection yet. This does not mean the archive has no relevant records.

Complete collection index — all reference links

    Saved people and pages

    Select 2 people to compare their evidence.