Skip to page content
Home/Records & sources/Ireland newspapers, 1825
Catalogue · 27 Sep 2026

The source library

Ireland newspapers, 1825

Reported events, notices, advertisements and letters. OCR matches need visual checking; place names, vessels and matches to other surnames are excluded from Glasgow surname evidence.

0 collected reference items

← All Ireland newspapers

Coverage, survival & limitations

Availability depends on the particular repository, locality, date range and record series. We have not established complete coverage for this collection. Follow each provider link for its holdings and access terms; a missing result is not proof of absence.

Reading the evidence: an index, transcript, provider search page and original image are different sources. A recorded image link does not mean its reading or identity match is confirmed. Inspect the assessment and source page before changing a family relationship. Repository guides checked 4 October 2026.

Reviewed newspaper notices

5 distinct notices from 5 retained pages, earliest first. Reprints of the same notice are merged; 5 pages have saved inline excerpts. Open a notice for its clipping, reading and profile assessment.

How to read these notices

Cards lead with the person named in the notice; profile candidates are assessed separately. Birth cutoffs labelled “by c.” are estimates, usually assuming an adult professional was at least 18; open the birth note for the basis. Event groups are broad navigation aids built from each notice’s record type. A relationship filter identifies family wording in the notice, not a proved match to a WikiTree family.

5 distinct notices · 5 retained pages

1825Verified surname passagemilitary appointmentStrong match

George Mark Glasgow

Royal Regiment of Artilleryb. by c. 1807 adult estimate

Office of Ordnance notice names him from half-pay to be First Lieutenant, vice Forster.

Birth estimate / source

Adult role: First Lieutenant in the Royal Regiment of Artillery in 1825; age unstated; estimate assumes the role holder was at least 18.

Occupation / trade

Published 1825-02-16 · Freeman’s Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · p. 3

Newspaper excerpt for 1825-02-16; reading and assessment follow
Bounded excerpt checked against the original on 4 October 2026; the issue heading is outside the crop. Source reference: Freeman’s Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · 1825-02-16 · p. 3. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.

What the notice says

Office of Ordnance, February 7: First Lieutenant George Mark Glasgow, from half-pay, to be First Lieutenant in the Royal Regiment of Artillery, vice Forster.

Evidence and identity limits

A return from half-pay to a post at the same rank, not a promotion from Second Lieutenant. 7 February 1825 is inferred from the contemporary issue. Glasgow-3127 has a matching Royal Artillery captain biography, but its live Sources section is empty; Glasgow-3785 is an exact-name chronology candidate and Glasgow-1536 a weaker linked comparison. No family identity, birth date, nationality or station is proved. Identity review (6 October 2026): February 1825 Ordnance notice: First Lieutenant George Mark Glasgow, from half-pay, to be First Lieutenant RA vice Forster. He is the George Mark Glasgow born at Quebec in 1795, later Captain RA, who died at Kingston, Canada West in 1851. His 1851 obituary calls him 'son of the late General Glasgow, of the same corps'. Glasgow-3785 is the match, Glasgow-3127 appears to be a duplicate of him, and a father link to the general (who has no profile yet) is supported.

Who this may be

[b. 1795-02-15; d. 1851-01-06] · First Lieutenant, Royal Regiment of Artillery (from half-pay)
Why this candidate?

The unique full name George Mark Glasgow in the Royal Artillery traces one career: London Gazette 18 Jan 1825 (2nd Lt to be 1st Lt, dated 15 Nov 1824); London Gazette 8 Feb 1825 (1st Lt from half-pay to be 1st Lt, dated 26 Dec 1824; this is the notice transcribed in Freeman's Journal); Times 12 Apr 1843 (2nd Capt to be Captain vice Raynes); Monthly Army List Jan 1849 (captain vice George Mark Glasgow, retired, 15 Feb 1849). The Spectator of 1 Mar 1851 and the Gentleman's Magazine of Apr 1851 report his death on 26 Jan 1851: 'At Kingston, Canada West, George Mark Glasgow, late Captain Royal Artillery, son of the late General Glasgow, of the same corps.' Glasgow-3785 is George Mark Glasgow, b.

Research draft (documentary subject)
1825Verified surname passagepassenger arrivalNo profile yet

Glasco

Dublin (arrival)Birth unknown

listed among passengers arriving in Dublin from Holyhead the previous day by the Cinderella Post Office Steam Packet

Published 1825-03-10 · Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · p. 4

Newspaper excerpt for 1825-03-10; reading and assessment follow
Faithful bounded excerpt of the visually inspected original newspaper page; provider issue metadata retained. No reconstructed text. Source reference: Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · 1825-03-10 · p. 4. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.
Additional excerpts from this issue — 1
Supplemental newspaper excerpt from 1825-03-10
Faithful bounded excerpt of the visually inspected original newspaper page; provider issue metadata retained. No reconstructed text. Original excerpt page ↗

What the notice says

A surname-only passenger list names Glasco among those who arrived in Dublin the previous day from Holyhead by the Cinderella Post Office Steam Packet.

Evidence and identity limits

The original establishes a passenger/transport context, not the earlier preview’s Cinderella performance. No first initial, occupation, kinship or residence is stated. Keep separate from the Staff-Surgeon Glasco notice of June 1825. Identity review (6 October 2026): March 1825 Dublin arrivals list naming a passenger 'Glasco' by surname only, from Holyhead by the Cinderella packet. Unidentifiable.

Who this may be

No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved. Research draft (documentary subject)
1825Verified surname passagemilitary appointmentNo profile yet

Edward George Glasgow

Place not statedb. by c. 1807 adult estimate

Lieutenant in the 84th Regiment, from half-pay of the 49th Regiment.

Birth estimate / source

Adult military officer rank in 1825, assuming 18+; age not stated

Occupation / trade

Published 1825-04-20 · Freeman’s Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · p. 3

Newspaper excerpt for 1825-04-20; reading and assessment follow
Bounded excerpt checked against the original on 4 October 2026; the issue heading is outside the crop. Source reference: Freeman’s Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · 1825-04-20 · p. 3. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.

What the notice says

84th Regiment: Lieutenant Edward George Glasgow, from the half-pay of the 49th Regiment, is listed among appointments to Lieutenants.

Evidence and identity limits

The complete name and shared 84th Regiment heading were read in one column. No exact Edward George Glasgow profile found in the bounded public historical catalogue; external duplicate checking remains incomplete. No Irish origin or relationship to the other officers is supplied. Identity review (6 October 2026): April 1825 notice: Lieutenant Edward George Glasgow, from half-pay of the 49th, appointed to the 84th. Army records trace one officer of this name: 84th c.1813-20, insolvent 1823, 84th again 1825, half-pay 18th Light Dragoons 1826, 41st Foot 1827, captain in India 1829, dead by 1849 leaving widow Emily Caroline. No WikiTree profile; a new profile is needed. No compatible WikiTree profile after a duplicate search for: Edward George Glasgow.

Who this may be

No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved. Research draft (documentary subject)
1825Verified surname passageuniversity reportProbable match

Benjamin Glasgow

Place not statedBirth unknown

Listed under Masters in Surgery in a Glasgow University report stating that gentlemen from Ireland were admitted to degrees during the session.

Published 1825-05-07 · Freeman’s Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · p. 2

Newspaper excerpt for 1825-05-07; reading and assessment follow
Bounded excerpt checked against the original on 4 October 2026; the issue heading is outside the crop. Source reference: Freeman’s Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · 1825-05-07 · p. 2. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.

What the notice says

Benjamin Glasgow is listed under Masters in Surgery in a Glasgow University report stating that gentlemen from Ireland were admitted to degrees during the session.

Evidence and identity limits

The newspaper reports a degree by May 1825; the university index, rechecked 4 October 2026, lists Benjamin Glasgow in 1826. Preserve the discrepancy: different dates, an index or printing error, or a namesake remain possible. Strong compatible candidate Glasgow-3412 and the Cookstown/New Orleans surgeon account; no father, hometown, age or overseas career appears here. Identity review (6 October 2026): May 1825 report of Glasgow University degrees conferred on gentlemen from Ireland lists Benjamin Glasgow as Master in Surgery. Glasgow-3412 is built solely on the university's record of this degree, so the match is probable: he is the only Benjamin Glasgow in the index, though it dates the degree 1826. The profile's 'born 1805 Scotland' is unsupported and contradicts 'from Ireland'.

Who this may be

[b. c. 1805; d. ?] · Master in Surgery, University of Glasgow (session 1824-25 per notice)
Why this candidate?

Glasgow-3412's only sourced fact is the University of Glasgow Story entry 'Benjamin Glasgow ... Master of Surgery, 1826'. A fresh query of that index returns exactly one Benjamin Glasgow. The newspaper reports the same uncommon degree at the same university for a Benjamin Glasgow in the 1824-25 session. Name, institution and degree agree. The one-year discrepancy (1825 report, 1826 index) is unresolved, which is why the match is probable rather than strong. The profile's birthplace 'Scotland' and birth year 1805 have no source, and the notice places him among 'gentlemen from Ireland'. A WikiTree search for Benjamin Glasgow or Glasco born 1780-1820 returns only Glasgow-3412.

Research draft (documentary subject)
1825Verified surname passagemilitary medical appointmentNo profile yet

John Glasco

Unknownb. by c. 1807 adult estimate

Named among Hospital Staff to be Deputy Inspector of Hospitals by brevet; identified as Staff-Surgeon.

Birth estimate / source

Age is not printed; inferred only as an adult lower bound from the stated professional role (staff surgeon), assuming age 18 or older by the 1825 issue year.

Occupation / trade

Published 1825-06-21 · Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · p. 3

Newspaper excerpt for 1825-06-21; reading and assessment follow
Faithful bounded excerpt of the visually inspected original newspaper page; provider issue metadata retained. No reconstructed text. Source reference: Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · 1825-06-21 · p. 3. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.

What the notice says

Under Hospital Staff, “To be Deputy Inspectors of Hospitals by Brevet,” the notice names Staff-Surgeon John Glasco.

Evidence and identity limits

Appointment wording is explicit. The precise effective/commission date is not established; the issue date is the safe date. This documentary sequence may involve one or more men; identity continuity is unresolved. Weak possible comparisons: Glasgow-2058: Weak comparison only: compatible chronology and later Cookstown merchant context, but no service, Liverpool, family, or surname-spelling bridge. Glasgow-3927: Weak comparison only: 1831 John Glasco of Inishrush, but no age or occupation and no military bridge; keep separate from proposed Glasgow-822 identity. Glasgow-822: Weak comparison only: chronology and Irish family context fit broadly, but Ohio records by 1833 create location tension with later Liverpool notices; no service bridge. Identity review (6 October 2026): June 1825 notice: Staff-Surgeon John Glasco to be Deputy Inspector of Hospitals by brevet. This is the senior army surgeon John Glasco (Regimental Mate 1794, Staff Surgeon 1809, d. Lambeth 14 Jan 1834), not the 59th/60th surgeon. No WikiTree profile. No compatible WikiTree profile after a duplicate search for: Staff-Surgeon John Glasco.

Who this may be

No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved. Research draft (documentary subject)
Unresolved search hits — 0 pages · 0 distinct readings

These are search leads or exclusions, not confirmed surname records.

Excluded place, vessel and other-name matches — 0 pages · 0 distinct readings

These are search leads or exclusions, not confirmed surname records.

Collected references 0

Reference items in this project, not the total surviving archive. A reference can appear in several types or locations; several references can concern the same record. Countries are inferred from source descriptions and recorded places, so check the citation. Undated and ambiguous items remain available.

0 reference items · earliest first

No reference item assigned to this collection yet. This does not mean the archive has no relevant records.

Complete collection index — all reference links

    Saved people and pages

    Select 2 people to compare their evidence.