Skip to page content
Home/Records & sources/Ireland newspapers, 1834
Catalogue · 27 Sep 2026

The source library

Ireland newspapers, 1834

Reported events, notices, advertisements and letters. OCR matches need visual checking; place names, vessels and matches to other surnames are excluded from Glasgow surname evidence.

0 collected reference items

← All Ireland newspapers

Coverage, survival & limitations

Availability depends on the particular repository, locality, date range and record series. We have not established complete coverage for this collection. Follow each provider link for its holdings and access terms; a missing result is not proof of absence.

Reading the evidence: an index, transcript, provider search page and original image are different sources. A recorded image link does not mean its reading or identity match is confirmed. Inspect the assessment and source page before changing a family relationship. Repository guides checked 4 October 2026.

Reviewed newspaper notices

3 distinct notices from 3 retained pages, earliest first. Reprints of the same notice are merged; 3 pages have saved inline excerpts. Open a notice for its clipping, reading and profile assessment.

How to read these notices

Cards lead with the person named in the notice; profile candidates are assessed separately. Birth cutoffs labelled “by c.” are estimates, usually assuming an adult professional was at least 18; open the birth note for the basis. Event groups are broad navigation aids built from each notice’s record type. A relationship filter identifies family wording in the notice, not a proved match to a WikiTree family.

3 distinct notices · 3 retained pages

1834Verified surname passagedeath and family noticeProbable match

Benjamin Glasgow

New Orleans, Louisiana; formerly Vera Cruz, Mexicob. by c. 1816 adult estimate

surgeon, formerly of Vera Cruz, Mexico · died at New Orleans on 26 November 1833, as reported in May 1834

Birth estimate / source

Surgeon role establishes adult status; assuming age 18+ by death in 1833, age unstated.

Robert Glasgow

Cookstown, County TyroneBirth unknown

identified as Benjamin Glasgow’s late father

Parents & childrenOccupation / tradePlace / addressDeath

Published 1834-05-20 · Belfast News-Letter · p. 3

Newspaper excerpt for 1834-05-20; reading and assessment follow
Source reference: Belfast News-Letter · 1834-05-20 · p. 3. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.

What the notice says

Benjamin Glasgow, surgeon, formerly of Vera Cruz, Mexico, died at New Orleans on 26 November last, according to a May 1834 notice. He was son of the late Robert Glasgow of Cookstown, County Tyrone. A Dublin notice repeats the surgeon, New Orleans and father details.

Evidence and identity limits

1833 is inferred from “last” in the 1834 publication; no age or mother is stated. Both notices concern one death, not independent witnesses. Glasgow-3412 is a strong compatible surgery-graduate candidate, not a proved identity. The father was dead by 20 May 1834, distinct from the mill father who died in 1856. Robert-3941 remains compatible by chronology only. No existing-profile father confidence is upgraded. Identity review (6 October 2026): Belfast News-Letter, 20 May 1834: Benjamin Glasgow, surgeon, formerly of Vera Cruz, died at New Orleans on 26 November 1833, son of the late Robert Glasgow of Cookstown. Benjamin is probably Glasgow-3412 (Glasgow University surgeon, 1825, 'Hibernus'); his father is not securely on WikiTree, so the parent link stays a research note.

Who this may be

[b. c. 1805; d. ?] · deceased (d. New Orleans 26 Nov 1833)
Why this candidate?

Rare forename + occupation + Irish origin + chronology: Glasgow-3412 is the Benjamin Glasgow who took the Glasgow University Master of Surgery; Addison's Roll of Graduates (from the Graduation Album) prints 'GLASGOW, BENJAMIN, C.M. 1825. "Hibernus"' (an Irishman), agreeing with the Freeman's Journal report of 7 May 1825 listing him among Irish gentlemen admitted Masters in Surgery (the University Story index's 1826 is the outlier). A surgeon qualified 1825 who practised at Vera Cruz and died at New Orleans in 1833 fits; no other Benjamin Glasgow surgeon or Irish-born Benjamin of this generation exists on WikiTree (others b. 1827-1876). Probable, not strong, because no record yet joins the de

[b. before 1776; d. after 1831] · father of the deceased
Why this candidate?

No WikiTree profile is clearly the 'late Robert Glasgow of Cookstown' (dead by 20 May 1834). Glasgow-3941 (Robert of Coltrim, Lissan parish, a few miles from Cookstown; flax grower 1796, Drapers' lease 1820, tithe 1827, householder 1831, death 'after 1831') is compatible by chronology and district but is described by Coltrim, not Cookstown, and has no recorded children. Glasgow-2656 (Robert Esq of Tullyveagh, d. 20 Aug 1856) is excluded: alive in 1834. Glasgow-1189 (d. 1858 New York), -1983 (d. 1835 South Carolina) and -1367 (Antrim, d. 1852) conflict on place/chronology. Strongest unprofiled candidate: Robert Glasgow, gentleman, of Loy (Derryloran, i.e. Cookstown town), Tyrone freeholder (P

Research draft (documentary subject)
1834Verified surname passagedeath noticeProbable match

Benjamin Glasgow

New OrleansBirth unknown

Surgeon; died there on 26 November 1833. Named as son of the late Robert Glasgow of Cookstown, County Tyrone.

Robert Glasgow

Cookstown, County TyroneBirth unknown

Described as the late Mr Robert Glasgow; father of Benjamin Glasgow.

Parents & childrenOccupation / tradeDeath

Published 1834-05-23 · Freeman’s Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · p. 4

Newspaper excerpt for 1834-05-23; reading and assessment follow
Source reference: Freeman’s Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · 1834-05-23 · p. 4. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.

What the notice says

Benjamin Glasgow, surgeon, died at New Orleans on 26 November last; son of the late Mr Robert Glasgow of Cookstown, County Tyrone.

Evidence and identity limits

Repeats the same 1833 death and father notice; no Vera Cruz detail here. Not an independent witness or a second death. Identity review (6 October 2026): Freeman's Journal, 23 May 1834, repeats the same death: Benjamin Glasgow, surgeon, died at New Orleans 26 November 1833, son of the late Mr Robert Glasgow of Cookstown. Same conclusions as the Belfast notice: Benjamin probably Glasgow-3412, father unidentified; this reprint is not an independent witness.

Who this may be

[b. c. 1805; d. ?] · deceased (d. New Orleans 26 Nov 1833)
Why this candidate?

As group 390554297: Addison's Roll 'GLASGOW, BENJAMIN, C.M. 1825. "Hibernus"' + 1825 Freeman's Journal degree list of Irish gentlemen + surgeon occupation + chronology; no competing Benjamin; Cookstown parentage not yet bridged to the degree record.

[b. before 1776; d. after 1831] · father of the deceased
Why this candidate?

As group 390554297: only Glasgow-3941 among WikiTree profiles survives the 'late by May 1834' test; the unprofiled Robert of Loy (will 1823) is at least as likely; Glasgow-2656 excluded (alive to 1856).

Research draft (documentary subject)
1834Verified surname passageschool presentation reportProbable match

Rev. James Glasgow

Belfast Institutionb. by c. 1816 adult estimate

Pupils presented him a patent lever watch on his resignation as principal assistant in the Mathematical and Mercantile School department. · The report calls him an assistant, not the school principal.

Birth estimate / source

Adult estimate from Reverend and school assistant in 1834, assuming 18+; age not stated.

Occupation / trade

Published 1834-12-12 · Belfast News-Letter · p. 2

Newspaper excerpt for 1834-12-12; reading and assessment follow
Source reference: Belfast News-Letter · 1834-12-12 · p. 2. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.

What the notice says

The Belfast News-Letter reports that on Thursday evening, 11 December 1834, pupils of the Institution’s Mathematical and Mercantile School presented Rev. James Glasgow with a patent lever watch on his resignation as principal assistant in that department. The notice describes him as an assistant, not the school principal.

Evidence and identity limits

The 1834 resignation and presentation remain valid as a separate event. The Rev. title is printed before the profile’s stated 14 December 1834 licence; keep that date question open pending the Presbytery register. The newspaper’s Rev. title predates the profile-stated 14 December licence; the Presbytery-register question remains open. Identity review (6 October 2026): 11 December 1834: pupils of the RBAI Mathematical and Mercantile School presented Rev. James Glasgow with a patent lever watch on his resignation as principal assistant. He is James McClure Glasgow (Glasgow-1780), licensed by Belfast Presbytery in 1834 and ordained to Castledawson in 1835; no relationship stated.

Who this may be

[b. 1805-05-27; d. 1890-06-30] · principal assistant, Mathematical and Mercantile School, Belfast Institution (resigning)
Why this candidate?

Rev. title + RBAI mathematics + Belfast + 1834: Fasti no. 1123 has James Glasgow, educated at Old College Belfast, G.C. 1832 (mathematics/natural philosophy), 'lic. Belfast Pres. 1834', ordained Castledawson 1835; no other Glasgow licentiate of 1834 in the Fasti. His brother Adam D. Glasgow later held an assistantship in the same school (group 390542489). The 'Rev.' printed 12 Dec before DUB's 14 Dec licence date is a minor date tension (Fasti gives only the year), not an identity conflict. [Independent check 6 October 2026: downgrade — Neither cited source mentions this post. Fasti 1123 gives only 'ed. O.C.B.: G.C. 1832 : lic. Belfast Pres. 1834'. DUB gives his RBAI mathematics medals and s

Research draft (documentary subject)
Unresolved search hits — 0 pages · 0 distinct readings

These are search leads or exclusions, not confirmed surname records.

Excluded place, vessel and other-name matches — 1 pages · 1 distinct readings

These are search leads or exclusions, not confirmed surname records.

1834Excluded matchNewspaper noticeNo profile yet

Excluded search match

Place not statedBirth unknown

Published 1834-03-07 · Belfast News-Letter · p. 3

What the notice says

John Gemmill, 6 Horse Street, Glasgow, steamer agent; notice dated Glasgow, 4 March 1834.

Evidence and identity limits

This inspected occurrence is a city, not Glasgow surname. Other page highlights were not exhausted; exclusion applies to this occurrence.

Who this may be

No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved.

Place, vessel or other-surname OCR match; excluded from surname evidence.

Collected references 0

Reference items in this project, not the total surviving archive. A reference can appear in several types or locations; several references can concern the same record. Countries are inferred from source descriptions and recorded places, so check the citation. Undated and ambiguous items remain available.

0 reference items · earliest first

No reference item assigned to this collection yet. This does not mean the archive has no relevant records.

Complete collection index — all reference links

    Saved people and pages

    Select 2 people to compare their evidence.