Reported events, notices, advertisements and letters. OCR matches need visual checking; place names, vessels and matches to other surnames are excluded from Glasgow surname evidence.
Availability depends on the particular repository, locality, date range and record series. We have not established complete coverage for this collection. Follow each provider link for its holdings and access terms; a missing result is not proof of absence.
Reading the evidence: an index, transcript, provider search page and original image are different sources. A recorded image link does not mean its reading or identity match is confirmed. Inspect the assessment and source page before changing a family relationship. Repository guides checked 4 October 2026.
Reviewed newspaper notices
4 distinct notices from 9 retained pages, earliest first. Reprints of the same notice are merged; 9 pages have saved inline excerpts. Open a notice for its clipping, reading and profile assessment.
How to read these notices
Cards lead with the person named in the notice; profile candidates are assessed separately. Birth cutoffs labelled “by c.” are estimates, usually assuming an adult professional was at least 18; open the birth note for the basis. Event groups are broad navigation aids built from each notice’s record type. A relationship filter identifies family wording in the notice, not a proved match to a WikiTree family.
4 distinct notices · 9 retained pages
1849Verified surname passagetrade advertisementPrinted in 2 issuesPossible match
John Glasgow
Cookstown (trade listing)b. by c. 1831 adult estimate
described as a merchant in Cookstown · listed as agent for the Russian Company’s Caravan Tea and Arabian Coffee
Birth estimate / source
Merchant role establishes adult status; assuming age 18+ by 1849, age unstated.
Occupation / trade
Published 1849-02-02 – 1849-04-13 · Belfast News-Letter · p. 3
Source reference: Belfast News-Letter · 1849-02-02 · p. 3. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.
What the notice says
Cookstown—Mr John Glasgow, Merchant, in agents for the Russian Company’s Caravan Tea and Arabian Coffee.
Evidence and identity limits
Glasgow-2058 is compatible by name, Cookstown district and the merchant occupation independently recorded in Benjamin-2059’s 1856 marriage. None of these advertisements names relatives, age or street address. Repeated agent lists are advertisements for one trading role, not independent family proofs. John’s parents remain unknown. Glasgow-1968 remains a weaker comparison: his family histories give migration to Michigan in 1844 or 1848; the Drummeen tithe and 1850/1851 probate leads are not securely assigned to him, and probate year is not a death date. Identity review (6 October 2026): Belfast News-Letter, 2 Feb and 13 Apr 1849: Mr John Glasgow, merchant, Cookstown, agent for the Russian Company's Caravan Tea. Same advertiser; Glasgow-2058 possible.
1849Verified surname passagecommercial agent listPrinted in 4 issuesPossible match
John Glasgow
Cookstownb. by c. 1831 adult estimate
Named as a merchant in John Cassell’s coffee-agent list.
Birth estimate / source
Adult merchant in 1849, assuming 18+; age not stated
Occupation / tradePlace / address
Published 1849-02-20 – 1849-11-03 · Belfast News-Letter · p. 3
Source reference: Belfast News-Letter · 1849-02-20 · p. 3. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.
What the notice says
Cookstown—John Glasgow, merchant, in John Cassell’s coffee agent list.
Evidence and identity limits
Glasgow-2058 is compatible by name, Cookstown district and the merchant occupation independently recorded in Benjamin-2059’s 1856 marriage. None of these advertisements names relatives, age or street address. Repeated agent lists are advertisements for one trading role, not independent family proofs. John’s parents remain unknown. Glasgow-1968 remains a weaker comparison: his family histories give migration to Michigan in 1844 or 1848; the Drummeen tithe and 1850/1851 probate leads are not securely assigned to him, and probate year is not a death date. Identity review (6 October 2026): Belfast News-Letter 20 Feb 1849, Impartial Reporter 22 Feb 1849 and Sligo Champion 28 Jul and 3 Nov 1849: John Glasgow, merchant, Cookstown, in Cassell's coffee agent lists. Same advertiser; Glasgow-2058 possible.
1849Verified surname passageagents listPossible match
Jno. Glasgow
Cookstownb. by c. 1831 adult estimate
Named as merchant in Cookstown in a Cassell agents list.
Birth estimate / source
Adult estimate from merchant in 1849, assuming 18+; age not stated.
Occupation / tradePlace / address
Published 1849-05-31 · Impartial Reporter and Farmers’ Journal · p. 3
Approved bounded agents list checked against the original; the issue date comes from the provider page metadata. Source reference: Impartial Reporter and Farmers’ Journal · 1849-05-31 · p. 3. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.Additional excerpts from this issue — 1Approved companion advertisement heading; it does not contain the newspaper masthead or issue date. Original excerpt page ↗
What the notice says
Cassell agents list: “Cookstown—Jno. Glasgow, merchant”; “Coleraine—John Wilson” is a separate entry. Heading names John Cassell, London, and T.P. Goodbody & Co. wholesale agents and consignees.
Evidence and identity limits
One Cookstown merchant/agent in a repeated Cassell advertisement; same documentary subject, with no proven profile identity or kinship. Identity review (6 October 2026): Impartial Reporter, 31 May 1849: 'Cookstown—Jno. Glasgow, merchant' in Cassell's agents list. Same advertiser; Glasgow-2058 possible.
1849Verified surname passagecommercial agent advertisementPrinted in 2 issuesNo profile yet
James Glasgow
Cookstown (tea-agent listing)b. by c. 1831 adult estimate
Named as a merchant in John Cassell’s tea-agent list, repeated in issues from 23 June through 25 October 1849.
Birth estimate / source
Age is not printed; inferred only as an adult lower bound from the stated professional role (merchant), assuming age 18 or older by the 1849 issue year.
Occupation / trade
Published 1849-06-23 – 1849-06-30 · The Sligo Champion · p. 1
Root-approved crop from inspected original. Issue metadata supplies date and page; issue header is outside this bounded excerpt. Source reference: The Sligo Champion · 1849-06-23 · p. 1. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.Additional excerpts from this issue — 1Root-approved crop from inspected original. Issue metadata supplies date and page; issue header is outside this bounded excerpt. Original excerpt page ↗
What the notice says
John Cassell’s tea-agent list names James Glasgow as a merchant in Cookstown.
Evidence and identity limits
The original page names James Glasgow as a Cookstown merchant in a John Cassell tea-agent list. This is a documented commercial role and locality, not a proved profile identity, residence, kinship, or link to John Glasgow. Identity review (6 October 2026): Sligo Champion (23 and 30 Jun 1849) and Fermanagh Mail (Aug-Oct 1849), 11 issues: John Cassell's tea-agent list names James Glasgow, merchant, Cookstown. He cannot be told apart from several Cookstown James Glasgows.
These are search leads or exclusions, not confirmed surname records.
1849Excluded matchNewspaper noticeNo profile yet
Excluded search match
Place not statedBirth unknown
Published 1849-04-06 · Belfast News-Letter · p. 3
What the notice says
Position 9 (place): The shipping advertisement says “For Greenock and Glasgow,” naming the ports served by the Clyde Steam Navigation Company’s vessel The Thetis, Captain William Stewart. This hit is Glasgow as a route endpoint/port. Passage also names a vessel, but Glasgow itself is not a vessel or surname. Position 10 (place): The same page’s timetable has a “FROM GLASGOW” sailing schedule; the surrounding ad is for the Clyde line/steam packet service. This hit is Glasgow as a departure place/port, not a surname. Another Glasgow occurrence elsewhere on this page may be a separate match; this review is limited to the shown ordinal.
Evidence and identity limits
Original-position final review: the quoted Glasgow/Rasharkin passage(s) on this page are classified as place, vessel, or other context, not a Glasgow personal surname. This is a passage-level result, not a claim that the entire page contains no relevant name.
Who this may be
No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved.
Place, vessel or other-surname OCR match; excluded from surname evidence.
1849Excluded matchNewspaper noticeNo profile yet
Excluded search match
Place not statedBirth unknown
Published 1849-12-31 · Freeman’s Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser · p. 4
What the notice says
The marriage paragraph names Andrew Goudie, Glasgow, Esq., and Jessy Newall; it also identifies her as relict of the late John Ferg… followed by Glasgow, Esq. The right edge is intrinsically damaged and the intervening surname is not fully legible. Both highlighted positions refer to the same paragraph. Glasgow supplies a location; the scan does not establish a person bearing the Glasgow surname.
Evidence and identity limits
Exclusion applies to both query positions, not a claim that the entire newspaper page contains no Glasgow surname. The unreadable surname ending is not reconstructed.
Who this may be
No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved.
Place, vessel or other-surname OCR match; excluded from surname evidence.
Collected references 0
Reference items in this project, not the total surviving archive. A reference can appear in several types or locations; several references can concern the same record. Countries are inferred from source descriptions and recorded places, so check the citation. Undated and ambiguous items remain available.
0 reference items · earliest first
No reference item assigned to this collection yet. This does not mean the archive has no relevant records.