Researched biography · Glasgow-2058
John Glasgow
before 1788
Killycurragh, Derryloran, County Tyrone, Ireland
About John
The Cookstown merchant and tea/coffee agent documented in 1848–1850 is compatible with John Glasgow-2058; no notice names age, street address or relatives, and his parents remain unknown.
Connected pages
Other pages on this site that name John Glasgow: family studies, places, source pages and other people's research. Open a group to see its pages.
Family and study pages 2 pages
A study page may discuss this person without placing them in that family.
Places 1 place
Sources 3 source pages
Latest findings about this person 1 finding
Research and WikiTree study pages 8 pages
Mentioned in other people's research 1 person
- John Glasgow4 sections of notes
Newspaper evidence: career, family and identity
John Glasgow, explicitly called a merchant at Cookstown, appears among John Cassell coffee agents on 30 September 1848, and again in February 1849. A separate 2 February 1849 advertisement appoints him there as agent for the Russian Company’s Caravan Tea and Arabian Coffee. This extends the inspected Cookstown agency sequence to 1848–1850.
Glasgow-2058 is compatible by name, Cookstown district and the merchant occupation independently recorded in Benjamin-2059’s 1856 marriage. None of these advertisements names relatives, age or street address. Repeated agent lists are advertisements for one trading role, not independent family proofs. John’s parents remain unknown. Glasgow-1968 remains a weaker comparison: his family histories give migration to Michigan in 1844 or 1848; the Drummeen tithe and 1850/1851 probate leads are not securely assigned to him, and probate year is not a death date.
The Sligo Champion, 30 September 1848, p.3, John Cassell coffee agents · Belfast News-Letter, 2 February 1849, p.3, Russian Company tea and coffee agents · Belfast News-Letter, 20 February 1849, p.3, John Cassell coffee agents · Impartial Reporter and Farmers’ Journal, 22 February 1849, p.3, John Cassell coffee agents
What the research found
Summary of the research
Overall conclusion
The Cookstown merchant and tea/coffee agent documented in 1848–1850 is compatible with John Glasgow-2058; no notice names age, street address or relatives, and his parents remain unknown.
John Glasgow is directly named as Benjamin-2059’s father and as a merchant in the original 15 April 1856 Cookstown marriage entry. Benjamin, age 20, is also a merchant resident in Cookstown. This confirms an already-confident father attachment; it is not a relationship upgrade. John’s approximate birth, Killycurragh association and connection through Henry remain as previously attributed. The Drapersfield mill notices do not identify John’s parents.
Later additions
Newest first. Each addition adds to the summary above; it does not replace it.
Newspaper identity review, 6 October 2026The Sligo Champion, 1848-09-30, p.3 : John Glasgow, merchant, Cookstown (coffee and tea agent) — possible match.
- The Sligo Champion, 1848-09-30, p.3: John Glasgow, merchant, Cookstown (coffee and tea agent) — possible match. Glasgow-2058 fits by name, trade and district: he is the father of merchant Benjamin-2059 (married 1856). The Londonderry Sentinel of 9 May 1851 (transcription) reads 'At Cookstown, on the 4th inst., aged 49 years, Mr. John Glasgow, merchant', so this merchant was born c.1802. If he is Glasgow-2058, the 1788 birth estimate is wrong, and Henry-1735 (b. c.1810) could not be his son. Glasgow-1968 is weaker, since his family histories have him emigrating to Michigan in 1844 or 1848. Glasgow-2056 (1812-1898) is not the 1851 decedent. Slater's 1846 lists no John Glasgow in Cookstown trades. Sources: Londonderry Sentinel 9 May 1851 (transcription); Slater's 1846 Cookstown
- Belfast News-Letter, 1849-02-02, p.3: Mr John Glasgow, Merchant, Cookstown (tea agent) — possible match. See group 1256974148, including the lead that a merchant John Glasgow died at Cookstown in May 1851 aged 49.
- Belfast News-Letter, 1849-02-20, p.3: John Glasgow, merchant, Cookstown (coffee agent) — possible match. See group 1256974148. Repeated advertisements are one trading role, not independent proofs.
- Impartial Reporter and Farmers’ Journal, 1849-05-31, p.3: Jno. Glasgow, merchant, Cookstown (Cassell agent) — possible match. See group 1256974148.
- Belfast News-Letter, 1850-02-22, p.3: John Glasgow (Cookstown retail agent for John Cassell's coffee/tea) — possible match. Notice gives only 'John Glasgow', Cookstown, appointed retail agent for John Cassell's coffee/tea (a shopkeeper role); no age, street or kin. Glasgow-2058 (John, b. before 1788, father of Henry-1735 and Benjamin-2059; named 'John Glasgow, merchant' in Benjamin's 15 April 1856 First Cookstown marriage per the live profile) agrees on name, district and trade, but nothing bridges the shop agent to him: his Cookstown-town residence is undocumented, and Slater's 1846 Cookstown directory lists no John Glasgow among traders (only William, draper, and Robert, oatmeal merchant, both William St). Pigot 1824 lists a John Glasgow, publican, Cookstown, a possible earlier trading John but also unbridged. Competitors: Glasgow-1968 (b. c.1778; Hillsdale histories put his family in Michigan from the 1840s) weaker; Glasgow-2056 (farmer of Killycurragh, married June 1850) and Glasgow-2537 (farmer of Gortin Sources: WikiTree Glasgow-2058 (live profile: merchant in son Benjamin's 1856 marriage); WikiTree Glasgow-1968; WikiTree Glasgow-2056; Slater's Commercial Directory of Ireland 1846, Cookstown & Desertcreat (transcription): Glasgow William, linen & woollen draper, William St; Glasgow Robert, oatmeal merchant, William St; Glasgow & Wool[s], flax & tow spinners, Draper's field; no John or Benjamin Glasgow listed; Pigot's Directory 1824, Cookstown (transcription): Glasgow John, publican; Glasgow Robert, baker
- Belfast News-Letter, 1850-03-08, p.3: John Glasgow (Cookstown retail agent for John Cassell's coffee/tea) — possible match. Same subject and same reasoning as group 390556388. Name, district and merchant trade fit Glasgow-2058 ('John Glasgow, merchant' in son Benjamin-2059's 1856 marriage). There is no bridge: Slater 1846 lists no John Glasgow trader in Cookstown. Glasgow-1968 is weaker (Michigan migration); 2056 and 2537 are farmers, so weaker. Sources: WikiTree Glasgow-2058; Slater's 1846 Cookstown transcription; Pigot's 1824 Cookstown transcription
- The Sligo Champion, 1850-08-17, p.3: John Glasgow (Cookstown retail agent for John Cassell's coffees) — possible match. Same subject and reasoning as group 390556388: name, district and merchant trade fit 2058 without a bridge. Slater 1846 lists no John Glasgow trader in Cookstown. 1968, 2056 and 2537 are weaker. Sources: WikiTree Glasgow-2058; Slater's 1846 Cookstown transcription
- Belfast News-Letter, 1850-11-05, p.3: John Glasgow (Cookstown retail agent for John Cassell's coffees) — possible match. Same subject and reasoning as group 390556388. Sources: WikiTree Glasgow-2058; Slater's 1846 Cookstown transcription
Military and medical notices, 1816–1839; identity unresolved, 5 October 2026Eight inspected newspaper notices document successive military-medical roles or status changes under the names J.
Eight inspected newspaper notices document successive military-medical roles or status changes under the names J. Glasco, John Glasco, and Glasco. The 1816 J. Glasco to 1822 John Glasco connection is probable because the 1822 notice places John on half-pay of the 59 th Foot; it is not explicit. The August 1826 notice calls a retiring surgeon “John Glasco, sen.”, while the December 1836 notice names Staff-Surgeon John Glasco appointed at Liverpool after employment in Grenada. The senior 1826 retiree may be a different man from the later staff surgeon. The 1838 Liverpool subscription and 1839 half-pay retirement are compatible with a later career sequence but do not resolve all links. No existing profile is assigned.
The 59th Foot: Assistant Surgeon J. Glasco was to be surgeon vice Hagan, deceased; the appointment entry is dated 8 February 1816. The entry date is 8 February, not a reported date of Hagan’s death. The issue was published on 28 February. Only the initial J. is printed. Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser, 1816-02-28, p.3
The 60th Foot: Surgeon John Glasco, from half-pay of the 59th Foot, was to be surgeon vice William Burgess Marle, who exchanged. The full name and prior 59th Foot half-pay provide a probable career link to the 1816 J. Glasco, not explicit identity proof. Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser, 1822-10-02, p.4
Under Hospital Staff, “To be Deputy Inspectors of Hospitals by Brevet,” the notice names Staff-Surgeon John Glasco. Appointment wording is explicit. The precise effective/commission date is not established; the issue date is the safe date. Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser, 1825-06-21, p.3
For the 60th Foot, Assistant Surgeon John Winterscale from the 71st Foot was to be surgeon vice Glasco, promoted; this replacement entry is dated 20 April 1826. The source shows Glasco promoted from the 60th Foot surgeon post but does not specify the promotion destination. Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser, 1826-05-16, p.3
Under Hospital Staff, Surgeon Alexander Melville, M.D., from the 25th Foot, was appointed vice John Glasco, sen., who retires upon half-pay. The printed surname wraps across a line. The qualifier “sen.” is explicit and material; do not assume this retiree is the John Glasco reported in 1836–1839. Effective date is not established beyond the notice/issue dates. Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser, 1826-08-18, p.1
Staff-Surgeon John Glasco, lately employed at Grenada, was appointed Surgeon of the Liverpool Recruiting District in the room of Staff-Surgeon Elliott, removed to Barbadoes. Full name, prior Grenada employment and Liverpool appointment are explicit. Relationship to the senior 1826 retiree remains unresolved. Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser, 1836-12-30, p.1
A £1 Curran Monument subscription list includes “Staff-Surgeon Glasco, Liverpool.” Surname only; compatible with the 1836 Liverpool appointment, but a contribution list is not a service record or independent continuity proof. Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser, 1838-08-31, p.2
Under Hospital Staff, Surgeon A. Sinclair, M.D., from the 25th Foot, was appointed vice John Glasco, who retires upon half-pay. Full name and retirement upon half-pay are stated; exact effective date was not seen. Links among this John, the 1836–1838 staff surgeon and the senior 1826 retiree remain qualified. The Drogheda Argus and Leinster Journal, 1839-09-28, p.4
Cookstown merchant agency, additional April 1849 issue, 5 October 2026
Glasgow-2058 is compatible by name, Cookstown district and the merchant occupation independently recorded in Benjamin-2059’s 1856 marriage. None of these advertisements names relatives, age or street address. Repeated agent lists are advertisements for one trading role, not independent family proofs. John’s parents remain unknown. Glasgow-1968 remains a weaker comparison: his family histories give migration to Michigan in 1844 or 1848; the Drummeen tithe and 1850/1851 probate leads are not securely assigned to him, and probate year is not a death date. The 13 April 1849 issue repeats the Russian Company agency role; it is not a new person or independent family proof.
John Glasgow, explicitly called a merchant at Cookstown, appears among John Cassell coffee agents on 30 September 1848, and again in February 1849. A separate 2 February 1849 advertisement appoints him there as agent for the Russian Company’s Caravan Tea and Arabian Coffee. This extends the inspected Cookstown agency sequence to 1848–1850. The Russian Company agent list is repeated on 13 April 1849, again explicitly calling John a merchant at Cookstown. Glasgow-2058 is compatible by name, Cookstown district and the merchant occupation independently recorded in Benjamin-2059’s 1856 marriage. None of these advertisements names relatives, age or street address. Repeated agent lists are advertisements for one trading role, not independent family proofs. John’s parents remain unknown. Glasgow-1968 remains a weaker comparison: his family histories give migration to Michigan in 1844 or 1848; the Drummeen tithe and 1850/1851 probate leads are not securely assigned to him, and probate year is not a death date. The Sligo Champion, 30 September 1848, p.3, John Cassell coffee agents, Belfast News-Letter, 2 February 1849, p.3, Russian Company tea and coffee agents, Belfast News-Letter, 20 February 1849, p.3, John Cassell coffee agents, Impartial Reporter and Farmers’ Journal, 22 February 1849, p.3, John Cassell coffee agents, Belfast News-Letter, 1849-04-13, p.3
What the records show
Source findingsFurther Cookstown advertisement issues and Dundrum scan, 5 October 2026Two further John Cassell coffee advertisements expressly list “Cookstown—John Glasgow, merchant”: Sligo Champion, 28 July 1849, p.
Two further John Cassell coffee advertisements expressly list “Cookstown—John Glasgow, merchant”: Sligo Champion, 28 July 1849, p. 3 and 3 November 1849, p. 1. A later Fermanagh Mail, 5 September 1850, p. 3 names John at Cookstown in the agent list without the merchant title. These repeated commercial notices document the same role and give no age, street address or relatives. Glasgow-2058 remains a possible match by district and later merchant evidence; Glasgow-1968 remains the weaker comparison because the reported Michigan migration weakens a later Irish attribution. No identity or family relationship is upgraded.
An independently inspected alternate scan of the 19 October 1840 Dundrum subscription list again names John Glasgow under collector Edward Byrne. It is the same passage already retained from image 1050137248, not another event; Dundrum is collection context, and the list gives no age, relatives or individual amount. None of the candidate profiles has a checked Dundrum identity bridge. Freeman’s Journal, 19 October 1840, p. 4.
Cookstown coffee notices, 5 October 2026
Further coffee-only advertisements on 17 August and 4 October 1850 list Cookstown—John Glasgow among the agents. Neither calls him a merchant or names relatives; they are repeated commercial notices, not independent family proof. Glasgow-2058 remains a possible identity comparison; Glasgow-1968 remains the weaker comparison with reported Michigan migration. These issues do not identify a profile or change family relationships. The Sligo Champion, 1850-08-17, p.3, John Cassell coffee agents · Belfast News-Letter, 1850-10-04, p.3, John Cassell coffee agents
Earlier tea and coffee agencies, 4 October 2026
John Glasgow, explicitly called a merchant at Cookstown, appears among John Cassell coffee agents on 30 September 1848, and again in February 1849. A separate 2 February 1849 advertisement appoints him there as agent for the Russian Company’s Caravan Tea and Arabian Coffee. This extends the inspected Cookstown agency sequence to 1848–1850.
Glasgow-2058 is compatible by name, Cookstown district and the merchant occupation independently recorded in Benjamin-2059’s 1856 marriage. None of these advertisements names relatives, age or street address. Repeated agent lists are advertisements for one trading role, not independent family proofs. John’s parents remain unknown. Glasgow-1968 remains a weaker comparison: his family histories give migration to Michigan in 1844 or 1848; the Drummeen tithe and 1850/1851 probate leads are not securely assigned to him, and probate year is not a death date.
The Sligo Champion, 30 September 1848, p.3, John Cassell coffee agents · Belfast News-Letter, 2 February 1849, p.3, Russian Company tea and coffee agents · Belfast News-Letter, 20 February 1849, p.3, John Cassell coffee agents · Impartial Reporter and Farmers’ Journal, 22 February 1849, p.3, John Cassell coffee agents
Complete qualified newspaper account.
Newspaper career/family continuation, 4 October 2026
John Glasgow is listed at Cookstown among retail agents for John Cassell’s coffees in November 1850. The search had matched adjacent James Small of Ballymoney; the original agent list reads John Glasgow.
John Glasgow-2058, later described as a merchant in his son’s 1856 marriage, is compatible by name, trade and district. The advertisement gives no age, exact address or relatives, so it does not prove that identification or identify Benjamin’s grandparents. Other local Johns remain comparisons; no parent or brother is attached from this advertisement.
Belfast News-Letter, 5 November 1850, p.3, John Cassell coffee agents, Cookstown
Complete qualified newspaper account.
| Source | Finding | Assessment |
|---|---|---|
| Cookstown civil marriage return, 15 April 1856, printed p.273, entry 43 | Benjamin Glasgow, 20, bachelor merchant, Cookstown; father John Glasgow, merchant. Jane Little, full-age spinster, Oritor Craigs; father George Little, farmer. Witnesses John Potter and George Potter. | Direct inspected register, printed p.273 entry 43; father named, no grandparents. |
| Belfast News-Letter, 22 July 1858, p.3 | Earlier reading, superseded on 4 October 2026 (see the correction below): the witness Benjamin was son of the late Robert Glasgow, who died in 1856; an uncle is called "Mr. Glasgow, sen.". | Does not identify John or prove his parents. |
Source findings — Cassell tea and coffee, 4 October 2026
John Cassell coffee and five-shilling tea advertisement: COOKSTOWN—John Glasgow, among the appointed agents. A further original advertisement in the 1848–1850 Cookstown trading sequence, including Cassell tea as well as coffee. Repeated advertisements do not provide independent family proof. John Glasgow-2058 remains compatible by name, locality and merchant occupation; no age, address, parents or uncle link appears.
Belfast News-Letter, 22 February 1850, p.3 · Consolidated Cookstown merchant account.
Source findingsNewspaper identity review — 6 October 2026
- Lead: Mr John Glasgow, merchant, died at Cookstown on 4 May 1851 aged 49 (born c.1802). If this is Glasgow-2058, his birth estimate of c.1788 needs revising. — Londonderry Sentinel 9 May 1851 (transcription) https://cotyroneireland.com/surnames/glasgow.html (The Sligo Champion, 1848-09-30, p.3)
Still open
Questions the records have not yet answered, suggested next searches and suggested corrections.
Unresolved questions — reviewed 4 October 2026
Who were John’s parents? Follow his own merchant/deed/probate records. The mill case’s father and uncle belong to an unresolved family group and cannot fill John’s missing parents.
Recommended correction — reading of the 1858 mill case, 4 October 2026
The earlier reading of the Belfast News-Letter, 22 July 1858, p.3 in the source table above is superseded. On a full reading of the original page on 4 October 2026, the witness Benjamin Glasgow said he was the son of the late Robert Glasgow, that he had managed his father's mill since 1850, and that Robert died in 1856. His evidence mentions "witness's uncle, Mr. Glasgow, sen."; the forename William comes from the case context, not from this quotation, and the report does not say on which side of the family the uncle stood. Counsel's reference to Robert's sons supports only a qualified inference that the co-plaintiff William was Benjamin's brother. Seen as: original newspaper image. The father–son statement is direct; identifying this Benjamin and Robert with any WikiTree profile is not proved.
The report concerns the Drapersfield mill family. It does not identify John Glasgow-2058 or his parents, and it does not displace John as father of Benjamin-2059, whose 1856 marriage names John and who died in February 1870, before the Drapersfield Benjamin's July 1870 action.
Recorded in research/william-glasgow-irish-newspapers-2026-10-04.md (4 October 2026); carried into this file on 7 October 2026.
Suggested profile text
For WikiTree editors
Suggested update to the WikiTree profile
This study has prepared revised text for the public WikiTree profile. WikiTree editors can compare it with the current profile and copy it; the research account above is the study's own.
Add the original marriage’s direct father and merchant evidence; keep John’s parents unresolved and explain why the mill-family notice does not identify them.
Compared with Glasgow-2058, captured 2026-08-29T08:53:47+00:00 · 2026-08-05.
Current captured WikiTree biography
Read-only capture used for the comparison above.
Side-by-side comparison of the live and replacement profiles
Full replacement WikiTree biography
Copy this complete text into the WikiTree biography editor. Removed lines appear red on the left; added lines appear green on the right. Apply any structured vital or relationship correction described in the update separately in WikiTree's data fields.
Original notes and downloadsNotes as written, replaced interpretations, comparisons and data exports
The material the page is built from: research notes as originally written, earlier interpretations that have been replaced, automated comparisons and data downloads. The account above is the current one; nothing here overrides it.
Relationship register and imported attachments
Unless a link is marked otherwise, the family links below come from the WikiTree family tree and have not yet been checked against original records.
How to read the evidence What “Documented”, “Probable”, “Possible” and “Unassessed tree link” mean.
Children 2Henry Glasgowc. 1810–15 February 1874Benjamin Glasgowc. 1835–8 February 1870
| Person and dates | Relationship | Current assessment | Why this relationship is shown |
|---|---|---|---|
| Henry Glasgow c. 1810–15 February 1874 | son | Unassessed son link | From the family tree; not yet checked against records. |
| Benjamin Glasgow c. 1835–8 February 1870 | son | Unassessed son link | From the family tree; not yet checked against records. |
Earlier evidence summaries and record associations
No research questions have been written up for this person yet.
Search history and the wider research register
Active research priorities
No active task is recorded.
Research notes as originally written
Current conclusion
The Cookstown merchant and tea/coffee agent documented in 1848–1850 is compatible with John Glasgow-2058; no notice names age, street address or relatives, and his parents remain unknown. John Glasgow is directly named as Benjamin-2059’s father and as a merchant in the original 15 April 1856 Cookstown marriage entry. Benjamin, age 20, is also a merchant resident in Cookstown. This confirms an already-confident father attachment; it is not a relationship upgrade. John’s approximate birth, Killycurragh association and connection through Henry remain as previously attributed. The Drapersfield mill notices do not identify John’s parents.
Source findings
### Further Cookstown advertisement issues and Dundrum scan, 5 October 2026 Two further John Cassell coffee advertisements expressly list “Cookstown—John Glasgow, merchant”: [Sligo Champion, 28 July 1849, p. 3](https://www.newspapers.com/image/1256975114/) and [3 November 1849, p. 1](https://www.newspapers.com/image/1256975442/). A later [Fermanagh Mail, 5 September 1850, p. 3](https://www.newspapers.com/image/1369100894/) names John at Cookstown in the agent list without the merchant title. These repeated commercial notices document the same role and give no age, street address or relatives. Glasgow-2058 remains a possible match by district and later merchant evidence; Glasgow-1968 remains the weaker comparison because the reported Michigan migration weakens a later Irish attribution. No identity or family relationship is upgraded. An independently inspected alternate scan of the 19 October 1840 Dundrum subscription list again names John Glasgow under collector Edward Byrne. It is the same passage already retained from image 1050137248, not another event; Dundrum is collection context, and the list gives no age, relatives or individual amount. None of the candidate profiles has a checked Dundrum identity bridge. [Freeman’s Journal, 19 October 1840, p. 4](https://www.newspapers.com/image/1380778107/). ### Cookstown coffee notices, 5 October 2026 Further coffee-only advertisements on 17 August and 4 October 1850 list Cookstown—John Glasgow among the agents. Neither calls him a merchant or names relatives; they are repeated commercial notices, not independent family proof. Glasgow-2058 remains a possible identity comparison; Glasgow-1968 remains the weaker comparison with reported Michigan migration. These issues do not identify a profile or change family relationships. [The Sligo Champion, 1850-08-17, p.3, John Cassell coffee agents](https://www.newspapers.com/image/1256976506/) · [Belfast News-Letter, 1850-10-04, p.3, John Cassell coffee agents](https://www.newspapers.com/image/390562655/) ### Earlier tea and coffee agencies, 4 October 2026 John Glasgow, explicitly called a merchant at Cookstown, appears among John Cassell coffee agents on 30 September 1848, and again in February 1849. A separate 2 February 1849 advertisement appoints him there as agent for the Russian Company’s Caravan Tea and Arabian Coffee. This extends the inspected Cookstown agency sequence to 1848–1850. Glasgow-2058 is compatible by name, Cookstown district and the merchant occupation independently recorded in Benjamin-2059’s 1856 marriage. None of these advertisements names relatives, age or street address. Repeated agent lists are advertisements for one trading role, not independent family proofs. John’s parents remain unknown. Glasgow-1968 remains a weaker comparison: his family histories give migration to Michigan in 1844 or 1848; the Drummeen tithe and 1850/1851 probate leads are not securely assigned to him, and probate year is not a death date. [The Sligo Champion, 30 September 1848, p.3, John Cassell coffee agents](https://www.newspapers.com/image/1256974148/) · [Belfast News-Letter, 2 February 1849, p.3, Russian Company tea and coffee agents](https://www.newspapers.com/image/390559166/) · [Belfast News-Letter, 20 February 1849, p.3, John Cassell coffee agents](https://www.newspapers.com/image/390559823/) · [Impartial Reporter and Farmers’ Journal, 22 February 1849, p.3, John Cassell coffee agents](https://www.newspapers.com/image/1257358494/) [Complete qualified newspaper account](/research/subjects/newspapers-irish-1800-1850/#john-cookstown-coffee). ### Newspaper career/family continuation, 4 October 2026 John Glasgow is listed at Cookstown among retail agents for John Cassell’s coffees in November 1850. The search had matched adjacent James Small of Ballymoney; the original agent list reads John Glasgow. John Glasgow-2058, later described as a merchant in his son’s 1856 marriage, is compatible by name, trade and district. The advertisement gives no age, exact address or relatives, so it does not prove that identification or identify Benjamin’s grandparents. Other local Johns remain comparisons; no parent or brother is attached from this advertisement. [Belfast News-Letter, 5 November 1850, p.3, John Cassell coffee agents, Cookstown](https://www.newspapers.com/image/390563426/) [Complete qualified newspaper account](/research/subjects/newspapers-irish-1800-1850/#john-cookstown-coffee). | Source | Finding | Assessment | | --- | --- | --- | | [Cookstown civil marriage return, 15 April 1856, printed p.273, entry 43](https://www.irishgenealogy.ie/files/civil/marriage_returns/marriages_1856/09507/5445820.pdf) | Benjamin Glasgow, 20, bachelor merchant, Cookstown; father John Glasgow, merchant. Jane Little, full-age spinster, Oritor Craigs; father George Little, farmer. Witnesses John Potter and George Potter. | Direct inspected register, printed p.273 entry 43; father named, no grandparents. | | [Belfast News-Letter, 22 July 1858, p.3](https://www.newspapers.com/image/390574459/) | Earlier reading, superseded on 4 October 2026 (see the correction below): the witness Benjamin was son of the late Robert Glasgow, who died in 1856; an uncle is called "Mr. Glasgow, sen.". | Does not identify John or prove his parents. |
Unresolved questions — reviewed 4 October 2026
Who were John’s parents? Follow his own merchant/deed/probate records. The mill case’s father and uncle belong to an unresolved family group and cannot fill John’s missing parents.
Source findings — Cassell tea and coffee, 4 October 2026
John Cassell coffee and five-shilling tea advertisement: COOKSTOWN—John Glasgow, among the appointed agents. A further original advertisement in the 1848–1850 Cookstown trading sequence, including Cassell tea as well as coffee. Repeated advertisements do not provide independent family proof. John Glasgow-2058 remains compatible by name, locality and merchant occupation; no age, address, parents or uncle link appears. [Belfast News-Letter, 22 February 1850, p.3](https://www.newspapers.com/image/390556388/) · [Consolidated Cookstown merchant account](/research/subjects/newspapers-irish-1800-1850/#john-cookstown-coffee).
Current conclusion — Cookstown merchant agency, additional April 1849 issue, 5 October 2026
Glasgow-2058 is compatible by name, Cookstown district and the merchant occupation independently recorded in Benjamin-2059’s 1856 marriage. None of these advertisements names relatives, age or street address. Repeated agent lists are advertisements for one trading role, not independent family proofs. John’s parents remain unknown. Glasgow-1968 remains a weaker comparison: his family histories give migration to Michigan in 1844 or 1848; the Drummeen tithe and 1850/1851 probate leads are not securely assigned to him, and probate year is not a death date. The 13 April 1849 issue repeats the Russian Company agency role; it is not a new person or independent family proof. John Glasgow, explicitly called a merchant at Cookstown, appears among John Cassell coffee agents on 30 September 1848, and again in February 1849. A separate 2 February 1849 advertisement appoints him there as agent for the Russian Company’s Caravan Tea and Arabian Coffee. This extends the inspected Cookstown agency sequence to 1848–1850. The Russian Company agent list is repeated on 13 April 1849, again explicitly calling John a merchant at Cookstown. Glasgow-2058 is compatible by name, Cookstown district and the merchant occupation independently recorded in Benjamin-2059’s 1856 marriage. None of these advertisements names relatives, age or street address. Repeated agent lists are advertisements for one trading role, not independent family proofs. John’s parents remain unknown. Glasgow-1968 remains a weaker comparison: his family histories give migration to Michigan in 1844 or 1848; the Drummeen tithe and 1850/1851 probate leads are not securely assigned to him, and probate year is not a death date. [The Sligo Champion, 30 September 1848, p.3, John Cassell coffee agents](https://www.newspapers.com/image/1256974148/), [Belfast News-Letter, 2 February 1849, p.3, Russian Company tea and coffee agents](https://www.newspapers.com/image/390559166/), [Belfast News-Letter, 20 February 1849, p.3, John Cassell coffee agents](https://www.newspapers.com/image/390559823/), [Impartial Reporter and Farmers’ Journal, 22 February 1849, p.3, John Cassell coffee agents](https://www.newspapers.com/image/1257358494/), [Belfast News-Letter, 1849-04-13, p.3](https://www.newspapers.com/image/390562652/)
Current conclusion — military and medical notices, 1816–1839; identity unresolved, 5 October 2026
Eight inspected newspaper notices document successive military-medical roles or status changes under the names J. Glasco, John Glasco, and Glasco. The 1816 J. Glasco to 1822 John Glasco connection is probable because the 1822 notice places John on half-pay of the 59 th Foot; it is not explicit. The August 1826 notice calls a retiring surgeon “John Glasco, sen.”, while the December 1836 notice names Staff-Surgeon John Glasco appointed at Liverpool after employment in Grenada. The senior 1826 retiree may be a different man from the later staff surgeon. The 1838 Liverpool subscription and 1839 half-pay retirement are compatible with a later career sequence but do not resolve all links. No existing profile is assigned. The 59th Foot: Assistant Surgeon J. Glasco was to be surgeon vice Hagan, deceased; the appointment entry is dated 8 February 1816. The entry date is 8 February, not a reported date of Hagan’s death. The issue was published on 28 February. Only the initial J. is printed. [Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser, 1816-02-28, p.3](https://www.newspapers.com/image/1050078150/) The 60th Foot: Surgeon John Glasco, from half-pay of the 59th Foot, was to be surgeon vice William Burgess Marle, who exchanged. The full name and prior 59th Foot half-pay provide a probable career link to the 1816 J. Glasco, not explicit identity proof. [Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser, 1822-10-02, p.4](https://www.newspapers.com/image/1050080149/) Under Hospital Staff, “To be Deputy Inspectors of Hospitals by Brevet,” the notice names Staff-Surgeon John Glasco. Appointment wording is explicit. The precise effective/commission date is not established; the issue date is the safe date. [Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser, 1825-06-21, p.3](https://www.newspapers.com/image/1050086323/) For the 60th Foot, Assistant Surgeon John Winterscale from the 71st Foot was to be surgeon vice Glasco, promoted; this replacement entry is dated 20 April 1826. The source shows Glasco promoted from the 60th Foot surgeon post but does not specify the promotion destination. [Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser, 1826-05-16, p.3](https://www.newspapers.com/image/1050127796/) Under Hospital Staff, Surgeon Alexander Melville, M.D., from the 25th Foot, was appointed vice John Glasco, sen., who retires upon half-pay. The printed surname wraps across a line. The qualifier “sen.” is explicit and material; do not assume this retiree is the John Glasco reported in 1836–1839. Effective date is not established beyond the notice/issue dates. [Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser, 1826-08-18, p.1](https://www.newspapers.com/image/1050043397/) Staff-Surgeon John Glasco, lately employed at Grenada, was appointed Surgeon of the Liverpool Recruiting District in the room of Staff-Surgeon Elliott, removed to Barbadoes. Full name, prior Grenada employment and Liverpool appointment are explicit. Relationship to the senior 1826 retiree remains unresolved. [Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser, 1836-12-30, p.1](https://www.newspapers.com/image/1050083649/) A £1 Curran Monument subscription list includes “Staff-Surgeon Glasco, Liverpool.” Surname only; compatible with the 1836 Liverpool appointment, but a contribution list is not a service record or independent continuity proof. [Freeman's Journal and Daily Commercial Advertiser, 1838-08-31, p.2](https://www.newspapers.com/image/1050130719/) Under Hospital Staff, Surgeon A. Sinclair, M.D., from the 25th Foot, was appointed vice John Glasco, who retires upon half-pay. Full name and retirement upon half-pay are stated; exact effective date was not seen. Links among this John, the 1836–1838 staff surgeon and the senior 1826 retiree remain qualified. [The Drogheda Argus and Leinster Journal, 1839-09-28, p.4](https://www.newspapers.com/image/1259428783/)
Current conclusion — newspaper identity review, 6 October 2026
- [The Sligo Champion, 1848-09-30, p.3](https://www.newspapers.com/image/1256974148/): John Glasgow, merchant, Cookstown (coffee and tea agent) — **possible** match. Glasgow-2058 fits by name, trade and district: he is the father of merchant Benjamin-2059 (married 1856). The Londonderry Sentinel of 9 May 1851 (transcription) reads 'At Cookstown, on the 4th inst., aged 49 years, Mr. John Glasgow, merchant', so this merchant was born c.1802. If he is Glasgow-2058, the 1788 birth estimate is wrong, and Henry-1735 (b. c.1810) could not be his son. Glasgow-1968 is weaker, since his family histories have him emigrating to Michigan in 1844 or 1848. Glasgow-2056 (1812-1898) is not the 1851 decedent. Slater's 1846 lists no John Glasgow in Cookstown trades. Sources: [Londonderry Sentinel 9 May 1851 (transcription)](https://cotyroneireland.com/surnames/glasgow.html); [Slater's 1846 Cookstown](https://www.cotyroneireland.com/slaterscookstown.html)
- [Belfast News-Letter, 1849-02-02, p.3](https://www.newspapers.com/image/390559166/): Mr John Glasgow, Merchant, Cookstown (tea agent) — **possible** match. See group 1256974148, including the lead that a merchant John Glasgow died at Cookstown in May 1851 aged 49.
- [Belfast News-Letter, 1849-02-20, p.3](https://www.newspapers.com/image/390559823/): John Glasgow, merchant, Cookstown (coffee agent) — **possible** match. See group 1256974148. Repeated advertisements are one trading role, not independent proofs.
- [Impartial Reporter and Farmers’ Journal, 1849-05-31, p.3](https://www.newspapers.com/image/1257358629/): Jno. Glasgow, merchant, Cookstown (Cassell agent) — **possible** match. See group 1256974148.
- [Belfast News-Letter, 1850-02-22, p.3](https://www.newspapers.com/image/390556388/): John Glasgow (Cookstown retail agent for John Cassell's coffee/tea) — **possible** match. Notice gives only 'John Glasgow', Cookstown, appointed retail agent for John Cassell's coffee/tea (a shopkeeper role); no age, street or kin. Glasgow-2058 (John, b. before 1788, father of Henry-1735 and Benjamin-2059; named 'John Glasgow, merchant' in Benjamin's 15 April 1856 First Cookstown marriage per the live profile) agrees on name, district and trade, but nothing bridges the shop agent to him: his Cookstown-town residence is undocumented, and Slater's 1846 Cookstown directory lists no John Glasgow among traders (only William, draper, and Robert, oatmeal merchant, both William St). Pigot 1824 lists a John Glasgow, publican, Cookstown, a possible earlier trading John but also unbridged. Competitors: Glasgow-1968 (b. c.1778; Hillsdale histories put his family in Michigan from the 1840s) weaker; Glasgow-2056 (farmer of Killycurragh, married June 1850) and Glasgow-2537 (farmer of Gortin Sources: [WikiTree Glasgow-2058 (live profile: merchant in son Benjamin's 1856 marriage)](https://www.wikitree.com/wiki/Glasgow-2058); [WikiTree Glasgow-1968](https://www.wikitree.com/wiki/Glasgow-1968); [WikiTree Glasgow-2056](https://www.wikitree.com/wiki/Glasgow-2056); [Slater's Commercial Directory of Ireland 1846, Cookstown & Desertcreat (transcription): Glasgow William, linen & woollen draper, William St; Glasgow Robert, oatmeal merchant, William St; Glasgow & Wool[s], flax & tow spinners, Draper's field; no John or Benjamin Glasgow listed](https://www.cotyroneireland.com/slaterscookstown.html); [Pigot's Directory 1824, Cookstown (transcription): Glasgow John, publican; Glasgow Robert, baker](https://freepages.rootsweb.com/~cotyroneireland/genealogy/trade/cookstown1824.html)
- [Belfast News-Letter, 1850-03-08, p.3](https://www.newspapers.com/image/390556799/): John Glasgow (Cookstown retail agent for John Cassell's coffee/tea) — **possible** match. Same subject and same reasoning as group 390556388. Name, district and merchant trade fit Glasgow-2058 ('John Glasgow, merchant' in son Benjamin-2059's 1856 marriage). There is no bridge: Slater 1846 lists no John Glasgow trader in Cookstown. Glasgow-1968 is weaker (Michigan migration); 2056 and 2537 are farmers, so weaker. Sources: [WikiTree Glasgow-2058](https://www.wikitree.com/wiki/Glasgow-2058); [Slater's 1846 Cookstown transcription](https://www.cotyroneireland.com/slaterscookstown.html); [Pigot's 1824 Cookstown transcription](https://freepages.rootsweb.com/~cotyroneireland/genealogy/trade/cookstown1824.html)
- [The Sligo Champion, 1850-08-17, p.3](https://www.newspapers.com/image/1256976506/): John Glasgow (Cookstown retail agent for John Cassell's coffees) — **possible** match. Same subject and reasoning as group 390556388: name, district and merchant trade fit 2058 without a bridge. Slater 1846 lists no John Glasgow trader in Cookstown. 1968, 2056 and 2537 are weaker. Sources: [WikiTree Glasgow-2058](https://www.wikitree.com/wiki/Glasgow-2058); [Slater's 1846 Cookstown transcription](https://www.cotyroneireland.com/slaterscookstown.html)
- [Belfast News-Letter, 1850-11-05, p.3](https://www.newspapers.com/image/390563426/): John Glasgow (Cookstown retail agent for John Cassell's coffees) — **possible** match. Same subject and reasoning as group 390556388. Sources: [WikiTree Glasgow-2058](https://www.wikitree.com/wiki/Glasgow-2058); [Slater's 1846 Cookstown transcription](https://www.cotyroneireland.com/slaterscookstown.html)Source findings
### Newspaper identity review — 6 October 2026 - Lead: Mr John Glasgow, merchant, died at Cookstown on 4 May 1851 aged 49 (born c.1802). If this is Glasgow-2058, his birth estimate of c.1788 needs revising. — Londonderry Sentinel 9 May 1851 (transcription) https://cotyroneireland.com/surnames/glasgow.html ([The Sligo Champion, 1848-09-30, p.3](https://www.newspapers.com/image/1256974148/))
Recommended correction — reading of the 1858 mill case, 4 October 2026
The earlier reading of the [Belfast News-Letter, 22 July 1858, p.3](https://www.newspapers.com/image/390574459/) in the source table above is superseded. On a full reading of the original page on 4 October 2026, the witness Benjamin Glasgow said he was the son of the late Robert Glasgow, that he had managed his father's mill since 1850, and that Robert died in 1856. His evidence mentions "witness's uncle, Mr. Glasgow, sen."; the forename William comes from the case context, not from this quotation, and the report does not say on which side of the family the uncle stood. Counsel's reference to Robert's sons supports only a qualified inference that the co-plaintiff William was Benjamin's brother. Seen as: original newspaper image. The father–son statement is direct; identifying this Benjamin and Robert with any WikiTree profile is not proved. The report concerns the Drapersfield mill family. It does not identify John Glasgow-2058 or his parents, and it does not displace John as father of Benjamin-2059, whose 1856 marriage names John and who died in February 1870, before the Drapersfield Benjamin's July 1870 action. Recorded in `research/william-glasgow-irish-newspapers-2026-10-04.md` (4 October 2026); carried into this file on 7 October 2026.
Automated parent comparison (research aid, not a recommendation)
Stored scores are preserved for audit only. They are not probabilities or genealogical evidence, and a reviewed exclusion remains excluded.
- Margaret Glasgow: 39/100 · Stored classification: weak lead
- William Glasgow: 39/100 · Stored classification: weak lead
- John Glasgow: 29/100 · Stored classification: weak lead
- Adam Glasgow: 24/100 · Stored classification: weak lead
- Rose Glasgow: 21/100 · Stored classification: weak lead
- John Glasgow: 17/100 · Stored classification: weak lead
- Older Alexander Glasgow: 15/100 · Stored classification: weak lead
- Mary Glasgow: 4/100 · Stored classification: weak lead
- Magdalen Glasgow: 4/100 · Stored classification: weak lead
- Ann (Houston) Glasgow: 0/100 · Stored classification: weak lead
Research data and downloads
Person data (JSON) · Family network
{
"id": "Glasgow-2058",
"vitals": {
"birth": {
"date": "before 1788",
"place": "Killycurragh, Derryloran, County Tyrone, Ireland",
"status": "uncertain"
},
"death": {
"date": null,
"place": null,
"status": null
}
},
"relationships": {
"parents": [],
"spouses": [],
"children": [
{
"id": "Glasgow-2059",
"name": "Benjamin Glasgow",
"relationship": "son",
"status": "unknown",
"status_label": "WikiTree tree relationship",
"basis": "tree",
"evidence_ids": [],
"tree_relationship": true,
"relationship_source": "reconstructed_parent_reference",
"tree_status": "unmarked",
"tree_status_label": "WikiTree: relationship status unmarked",
"url": "/people/glasgow-2059.html",
"json_url": "/people/glasgow-2059.json",
"network_url": "/people/glasgow-2059.network.json",
"wikitree_url": "https://www.wikitree.com/wiki/Glasgow-2059",
"claim_id": "C-309e7dd78c8b"
},
{
"id": "Glasgow-1735",
"name": "Henry Glasgow",
"relationship": "son",
"status": "unknown",
"status_label": "WikiTree tree relationship",
"basis": "tree",
"evidence_ids": [],
"tree_relationship": true,
"relationship_source": "reconstructed_parent_reference",
"tree_status": "unmarked",
"tree_status_label": "WikiTree: relationship status unmarked",
"url": "/people/glasgow-1735.html",
"json_url": "/people/glasgow-1735.json",
"network_url": "/people/glasgow-1735.network.json",
"wikitree_url": "https://www.wikitree.com/wiki/Glasgow-1735",
"claim_id": "C-3f2d3a58ca89"
}
],
"siblings": []
},
"claims": [
{
"id": "C-a8f483e9b0ce",
"type": "recorded_occurrence",
"subject_ids": [
"Glasgow-2058"
],
"claim": "John Glasgow was recorded in Killycurragh townland — Oritor/Derryloran (c.1788).",
"status": "unknown",
"status_label": "One-Tree profile lead",
"evidence_ids": [
"E-a8f483e9b0ce"
],
"notes": "Profile-stated birth: Killycurragh, Derryloran, County Tyrone, Ireland",
"provenance": "mapped_record"
},
{
"id": "C-309e7dd78c8b",
"type": "tree_relationship",
"subject_ids": [
"Glasgow-2058",
"Glasgow-2059"
],
"claim": "WikiTree currently connects John Glasgow and Benjamin Glasgow as son.",
"status": "unknown",
"status_label": "WikiTree tree relationship",
"evidence_ids": [],
"notes": "Tree structure only; no documentary conclusion is implied.",
"provenance": "reconstructed_parent_reference"
},
{
"id": "C-3f2d3a58ca89",
"type": "tree_relationship",
"subject_ids": [
"Glasgow-2058",
"Glasgow-1735"
],
"claim": "WikiTree currently connects John Glasgow and Henry Glasgow as son.",
"status": "unknown",
"status_label": "WikiTree tree relationship",
"evidence_ids": [],
"notes": "Tree structure only; no documentary conclusion is implied.",
"provenance": "reconstructed_parent_reference"
}
],
"research_assessments": null,
"shared_relationship_assertions": null,
"relationship_history": null
}