Skip to page content
Home/Records & sources/Ireland newspapers, 1850
Catalogue · 27 Sep 2026

The source library

Ireland newspapers, 1850

Reported events, notices, advertisements and letters. OCR matches need visual checking; place names, vessels and matches to other surnames are excluded from Glasgow surname evidence.

0 collected reference items

← All Ireland newspapers

Coverage, survival & limitations

Availability depends on the particular repository, locality, date range and record series. We have not established complete coverage for this collection. Follow each provider link for its holdings and access terms; a missing result is not proof of absence.

Reading the evidence: an index, transcript, provider search page and original image are different sources. A recorded image link does not mean its reading or identity match is confirmed. Inspect the assessment and source page before changing a family relationship. Repository guides checked 4 October 2026.

Reviewed newspaper notices

6 distinct notices from 7 retained pages, earliest first. Reprints of the same notice are merged; 7 pages have saved inline excerpts. Open a notice for its clipping, reading and profile assessment.

How to read these notices

Cards lead with the person named in the notice; profile candidates are assessed separately. Birth cutoffs labelled “by c.” are estimates, usually assuming an adult professional was at least 18; open the birth note for the basis. Event groups are broad navigation aids built from each notice’s record type. A relationship filter identifies family wording in the notice, not a proved match to a WikiTree family.

6 distinct notices · 7 retained pages

1850Verified surname passagecoffee and tea advertisementPossible match

John Glasgow

Cookstownb. by c. 1832 adult estimate

Named among agents appointed by John Cassell in a coffee and five-shilling tea advertisement.

Birth estimate / source

Adult role: appointed agent for coffee and tea in 1850; age unstated; estimate assumes the role holder was at least 18.

Occupation / trade

Published 1850-02-22 · Belfast News-Letter · p. 3

Newspaper excerpt for 1850-02-22; reading and assessment follow
Bounded excerpt checked against the original on 4 October 2026; the issue heading is outside the crop. Source reference: Belfast News-Letter · 1850-02-22 · p. 3. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.

What the notice says

John Cassell coffee and five-shilling tea advertisement: COOKSTOWN—John Glasgow, among the appointed agents.

Evidence and identity limits

A further original advertisement in the 1848–1850 Cookstown trading sequence, including Cassell tea as well as coffee. Repeated advertisements do not provide independent family proof. John Glasgow-2058 remains compatible by name, locality and merchant occupation; no age, address, parents or uncle link appears. Identity review (6 October 2026): Cassell coffee and five-shilling tea advertisement (Belfast News-Letter, 22 Feb 1850) naming John Glasgow as Cookstown agent. He stays a possible match to John Glasgow-2058 (merchant per his son's 1856 marriage); no relationships are stated.

Who this may be

[b. before 1788; d. ?] · Cookstown retail agent for John Cassell's coffee/tea
Why this candidate?

Notice gives only 'John Glasgow', Cookstown, appointed retail agent for John Cassell's coffee/tea (a shopkeeper role); no age, street or kin. Glasgow-2058 (John, b. before 1788, father of Henry-1735 and Benjamin-2059; named 'John Glasgow, merchant' in Benjamin's 15 April 1856 First Cookstown marriage per the live profile) agrees on name, district and trade, but nothing bridges the shop agent to him: his Cookstown-town residence is undocumented, and Slater's 1846 Cookstown directory lists no John Glasgow among traders (only William, draper, and Robert, oatmeal merchant, both William St). Pigot 1824 lists a John Glasgow, publican, Cookstown, a possible earlier trading John but also unbridged.

Research draft (documentary subject)
1850Verified surname passagetrade advertisementPossible match

John Glasgow

Cookstown (trade listing)b. by c. 1832 adult estimate

listed in Cookstown as an agent for Cassell coffee and five-shilling tea

Birth estimate / source

Trade agent role establishes adult status; assuming age 18+ by 1850, age unstated.

Occupation / trade

Published 1850-03-08 · Belfast News-Letter · p. 3

Newspaper excerpt for 1850-03-08; reading and assessment follow
Approved bounded agents list checked against the original; the issue date comes from the provider page metadata. Source reference: Belfast News-Letter · 1850-03-08 · p. 3. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.
Additional excerpts from this issue — 1
Supplemental newspaper excerpt from 1850-03-08
Approved companion advertisement heading; it does not contain the newspaper masthead or issue date. Original excerpt page ↗

What the notice says

Cassell coffee and five-shilling tea agents: “COOKSTOWN—John Glasgow.” George Nesbitt at Ballyshane is a separate agent.

Evidence and identity limits

One Cookstown merchant/agent in a repeated Cassell advertisement; same documentary subject, with no proven profile identity or kinship. Identity review (6 October 2026): Repeat Cassell coffee/tea agent listing (Belfast News-Letter, 8 Mar 1850): 'COOKSTOWN—John Glasgow'. Same documentary subject; possible match to Glasgow-2058 only, no kin stated.

Who this may be

[b. before 1788; d. ?] · Cookstown retail agent for John Cassell's coffee/tea
Why this candidate?

Same subject and same reasoning as group 390556388. Name, district and merchant trade fit Glasgow-2058 ('John Glasgow, merchant' in son Benjamin-2059's 1856 marriage). There is no bridge: Slater 1846 lists no John Glasgow trader in Cookstown. Glasgow-1968 is weaker (Michigan migration); 2056 and 2537 are farmers, so weaker.

Research draft (documentary subject)
1850Verified surname passageschool subscription listPossible match

Benjamin Glasgow

CookstownBirth unknown

Named as “Master Benjamin Glasgow of Cookstown”; listed for one shilling toward support of scholars in the agricultural school.

Place / address

Published 1850-06-28 · Belfast News-Letter · p. 2

Newspaper excerpt for 1850-06-28; reading and assessment follow
Source reference: Belfast News-Letter · 1850-06-28 · p. 2. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.

What the notice says

Master Benjamin Glasgow of Cookstown is listed for one shilling towards support of scholars in the agricultural school in June 1850.

Evidence and identity limits

A donor list, not proof that Benjamin attended the school. “Master” supplies no exact age. Benjamin-2059 (reported born about 1835) and Benjamin-2566 (about 1840) are compatible young catalogue namesakes; assignment to either, or to the Drapersfield Benjamin, is unresolved. The surgeon who died in 1833 is excluded. Identity review (6 October 2026): Subscription list (Belfast News-Letter, 28 Jun 1850): 'Master Benjamin Glasgow of Cookstown' gave one shilling to the agricultural school. Three Cookstown Benjamins are compatible and none is proved; no relationships.

Who this may be

[b. c. 1835; d. 1870-02-08] · subscriber (boy)
Why this candidate?

'Master' marks a boy or youth, with no age. Glasgow-2059 (b. c.1835; aged 20 at his April 1856 marriage, son of John, merchant) would be about 15 in 1850, which fits. Glasgow-2566 (b. c.1840, son of George, farmer, Killycurragh) would be about 10, which also fits. The Drapersfield Benjamin, Glasgow-4340, was managing his father's mill from 1850 (1858 testimony), so 'Master' fits him less well, though his birth year is unknown. The 1833 surgeon is excluded because he died before this. Nothing in the list discriminates, so possible only.

Research draft (documentary subject)
1850Verified surname passagecommercial agent advertisementPrinted in 2 issuesPossible match

John Glasgow

Cookstown (retail-agent listing; residence not asserted)b. by c. 1832 adult estimate

Listed as a Cookstown sales agent for John Cassell’s coffees.

Birth estimate / source

Age is not printed; inferred only as an adult lower bound from the stated professional role (retail agent), assuming age 18 or older by the 1850 issue year.

Occupation / trade

Published 1850-08-17 – 1850-10-04 · The Sligo Champion · p. 3

Newspaper excerpt for 1850-08-17; reading and assessment follow
Faithful bounded source pixels checked against the original. Issue date and page follow the checked provider viewer; these excerpts do not show the newspaper masthead. Source reference: The Sligo Champion · 1850-08-17 · p. 3. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.
Additional excerpts from this issue — 2
Supplemental newspaper excerpt from 1850-08-17
Faithful bounded source pixels checked against the original. Issue date and page follow the checked provider viewer; these excerpts do not show the newspaper masthead. Original excerpt page ↗
Supplemental newspaper excerpt from 1850-08-17
Faithful bounded source pixels checked against the original. Issue date and page follow the checked provider viewer; these excerpts do not show the newspaper masthead. Original excerpt page ↗

What the notice says

John Glasgow is listed at Cookstown among agents selling John Cassell’s coffees.

Evidence and identity limits

The advertisement states the agent’s name, Cookstown and the coffee product. It gives no merchant title, age, street address or kin. The August and October 1850 issues document the same named agency role; repeated advertisements are not independent family proof. Glasgow-2058 remains a possible match by the wider Cookstown and merchant chronology; Glasgow-1968 remains the weaker comparison because reported Michigan migration weakens a later Irish assignment. Identity review (6 October 2026): Cassell coffee agent listing repeated in the Sligo Champion, Fermanagh Mail and Belfast News-Letter (Aug-Oct 1850) naming John Glasgow at Cookstown. Same subject; Glasgow-2058 remains possible, Glasgow-1968 weaker; no relationships.

Who this may be

[b. before 1788; d. ?] · Cookstown retail agent for John Cassell's coffees
Why this candidate?

Same subject and reasoning as group 390556388: name, district and merchant trade fit 2058 without a bridge. Slater 1846 lists no John Glasgow trader in Cookstown. 1968, 2056 and 2537 are weaker.

Research draft (documentary subject)
Original newspaper page ↗Link to this notice
Repeated notice — 2 original issues

These issues carry the same normalized maintained reading; each original page remains available.

Alternative saved issue excerpts
Newspaper excerpt from 1850-10-04; Belfast News-Letter, page 3
Faithful bounded source pixels checked against the original. Issue date and page follow the checked provider viewer; these excerpts do not show the newspaper masthead. Source reference: Belfast News-Letter · 1850-10-04 · p. 3. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.
Newspaper excerpt from 1850-10-04; Belfast News-Letter, page 3
Faithful bounded source pixels checked against the original. Issue date and page follow the checked provider viewer; these excerpts do not show the newspaper masthead. Source reference: Belfast News-Letter · 1850-10-04 · p. 3. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.
1850Verified surname passagecourt reportNo profile yet

John Glasgow

Droghedab. by c. 1832 adult estimate

Sub-constable explicitly of the Drogheda police and witness in an oatmeal-theft court report. · He found the prisoner running away with a bag of meal; he was not the accused.

Birth estimate / source

Adult estimate from sub-constable in the Drogheda police in 1850, assuming 18+; age not stated.

Occupation / tradePlace / address

Published 1850-10-19 · The Drogheda Argus and Leinster Journal · p. 2

Newspaper excerpt for 1850-10-19; reading and assessment follow
Source reference: The Drogheda Argus and Leinster Journal · 1850-10-19 · p. 2. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.

What the notice says

Sub-constable John Glasgow, explicitly of the Drogheda police, appears in a court report on 19 October 1850. He found the prisoner running away with a bag of meal in an oatmeal-theft case. John is the police witness, not the accused.

Evidence and identity limits

Occupation and police station are explicit; age, birthplace, relatives and exact service dates are unstated. Glasgow-2056, Glasgow-2537 and Glasgow-867 are adult chronology comparisons only, with no checked constabulary connection. An administrative Drogheda probate label on a different John lead is not evidence of Drogheda residence or police service. Royal Irish Constabulary service records and local directories are the next identity tests. Identity review (6 October 2026): Drogheda Argus court report (19 Oct 1850): Sub-constable John Glasgow of the Drogheda police caught an oatmeal thief. No existing WikiTree John fits a constable serving at Drogheda in 1850, and the obvious namesakes conflict.

Who this may be

No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved. Research draft (documentary subject)
1850Verified surname passagecommercial agent advertisementPossible match

John Glasgow

Cookstown (retail-agent listing; residence not asserted)b. by c. 1832 adult estimate

Listed among retail agents for John Cassell’s coffees in November 1850.

Birth estimate / source

Age is not printed; inferred only as an adult lower bound from the stated professional role (retail agent), assuming age 18 or older by the 1850 issue year.

Occupation / trade

Published 1850-11-05 · Belfast News-Letter · p. 3

Newspaper excerpt for 1850-11-05; reading and assessment follow
Source reference: Belfast News-Letter · 1850-11-05 · p. 3. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.

What the notice says

John Glasgow is listed at Cookstown among retail agents for John Cassell’s coffees in November 1850. The search had matched adjacent James Small of Ballymoney; the original agent list reads John Glasgow.

Evidence and identity limits

John Glasgow-2058, later described as a merchant in his son’s 1856 marriage, is compatible by name, trade and district. The advertisement gives no age, exact address or relatives, so it does not prove that identification or identify Benjamin’s grandparents. Other local Johns remain comparisons; no parent or brother is attached from this advertisement. Identity review (6 October 2026): Cassell coffee agent list (Belfast News-Letter, 5 Nov 1850) naming John Glasgow at Cookstown. Same subject as the other 1850 agent adverts; possible match to Glasgow-2058, no kin stated, so no relationship can be added.

Who this may be

[b. before 1788; d. ?] · Cookstown retail agent for John Cassell's coffees
Why this candidate?

Same subject and reasoning as group 390556388.

Research draft (documentary subject)
Unresolved search hits — 1 pages · 1 distinct readings

These are search leads or exclusions, not confirmed surname records.

1850reading pendingNewspaper noticeNo profile yet

Unresolved newspaper lead

Place not statedBirth unknown

Published 1850-08-23 · Belfast News-Letter · p. 3

Newspaper excerpt for 1850-08-23; reading and assessment follow
Faithful crop of the notice; the issue heading is outside the crop. The full page is linked for context. Source reference: Belfast News-Letter · 1850-08-23 · p. 3. Open for full size; inspect the original page for context.

What the notice says

On the 16th instant, in the Presbyterian Church, Orritor, by the Rev. M. M’Murray, Waringstown, county Down, Mr. David Brown, Wellbrook, county Tyrone, to Margaret Glasgow, eldest daughter of the Rev. J. G. M’Gowan, Orritor.

Evidence and identity limits

Original page visually checked. The notice names the bride “Margaret Glasgow” and calls her the eldest daughter of Rev. J. G. M’Gowan, Orritor. It does not establish whether Glasgow is a birth surname, a prior married surname, or a middle/given name with the father’s surname omitted. No profile or subject match is established; this remains pending and is not counted as a confirmed Glasgow-surname record.

Who this may be

No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved.
Excluded place, vessel and other-name matches — 3 pages · 3 distinct readings

These are search leads or exclusions, not confirmed surname records.

1850Excluded matchNewspaper noticeNo profile yet

Excluded search match

Place not statedBirth unknown

Published 1850-04-23 · Belfast News-Letter · p. 2

What the notice says

Position 3 (place): In the article “Extraordinary Combination for Trade Monopoly,” the passage says “the orders of both these gentlemen [Mr. Donnell of Strabane and Mr. M’Ginn of Omagh] having been declined to be executed by the Glasgow firms with whom they corresponded.” Glasgow identifies the firms’ city. The surrounding article discusses merchants of Glasgow and Londonderry and trade with inland Ulster towns; no Glasgow person is named. replacement capture fully loaded and legible Position 4 (place): The same trade-monopoly article says that a public meeting at Omagh adopted resolutions “denouncing the system sought to be carried into effect by the Derry monopolists and their abettors in Glasgow,” then pledging the meeting to resist it. Glasgow is the city associated with the merchants/“abettors,” not a person. replacement capture fully loaded and legible

Evidence and identity limits

Original-position final review: the quoted Glasgow/Rasharkin passage(s) on this page are classified as place, vessel, or other context, not a Glasgow personal surname. This is a passage-level result, not a claim that the entire page contains no relevant name.

Who this may be

No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved.

Place, vessel or other-surname OCR match; excluded from surname evidence.

1850Excluded matchNewspaper noticeNo profile yet

Excluded search match

Place not statedBirth unknown

Published 1850-09-10 · Belfast News-Letter · p. 4

What the notice says

Position 6 (place): Local news reads: “A child was burned to death on Sunday sen., at Rasharkin, whilst its parents were at divine service.” The abbreviation after Sunday is reproduced as visible; it is not expanded. Rasharkin is the place of the reported event. This is a passage-level finding, not a whole-page absence claim.

Evidence and identity limits

Original-position final review: the quoted Glasgow/Rasharkin passage(s) on this page are classified as place, vessel, or other context, not a Glasgow personal surname. This is a passage-level result, not a claim that the entire page contains no relevant name.

Who this may be

No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved.

Place, vessel or other-surname OCR match; excluded from surname evidence.

1850Excluded matchNewspaper noticeNo profile yet

Excluded search match

Place not statedBirth unknown

Published 1850-10-04 · Belfast News-Letter · p. 2

What the notice says

Position 2 (vessel): “The fine screw steamer City of Glasgow, celebrated for the regularity of her trips between Glasgow and New York, has been sold for £40,000 to a Liverpool house, to ply between that port and Philadelphia…” “City of Glasgow” is the steamer name; other Glasgow mentions in the same sentence refer to the route/cities. Position 3 (other): “…The Earls of Antrim, Wicklow, Meath, Glasgow, &c.” Glasgow is in a list of earldom titles, not a personal surname occurrence. The clipped wider paragraph concerns named eminent patrons/associates. Position 4 (place): “September 23, at Rasharkin, the Rev. Wm. Henry Dickson, Prebendary of …” Rasharkin is the place in a death notice for Rev. William Henry Dickson. The visible words do not show a Glasgow-surname person. Position 5 (place): Same visible death-notice line: “September 23, at Rasharkin, the Rev. Wm. Henry Dickson, Prebendary of …” Same locality occurrence as ordinal 4 is highlighted again; treat as duplicate/overlapping search position, not a second independent passage.

Evidence and identity limits

Original-position final review: the quoted Glasgow/Rasharkin passage(s) on this page are classified as place, vessel, or other context, not a Glasgow personal surname. This is a passage-level result, not a claim that the entire page contains no relevant name.

Who this may be

No profile assigned; identity remains unresolved.

Place, vessel or other-surname OCR match; excluded from surname evidence.

Collected references 0

Reference items in this project, not the total surviving archive. A reference can appear in several types or locations; several references can concern the same record. Countries are inferred from source descriptions and recorded places, so check the citation. Undated and ambiguous items remain available.

0 reference items · earliest first

No reference item assigned to this collection yet. This does not mean the archive has no relevant records.

Complete collection index — all reference links

    Saved people and pages

    Select 2 people to compare their evidence.