Researched biography · Glasgow-1509
James Glasgow
1737 – 1802
The research recommends recording the birth as “before 27 October 1743” and the death as “1802 as reported from that stone”. See the recommended correction.
County Antrim, Ireland
About James
Compare the Larne, Inishrush and American family reconstruction, including the alternative immediate-parent routes and their source tests.
Connected pages
Other pages on this site that name James Glasgow: family studies, places, source pages and other people's research. Open a group to see its pages.
Family and study pages 2 pages
A study page may discuss this person without placing them in that family.
Places 1 place
Sources 10 source pages
- 1773 – Birth of James Glasgow (1773 – 1831), same tombstone in St. Cedmas as William Glasgow b. 1708.
- Bigger and Hughes's Larne inscription
- Irish probate index transcription supplied July 2026, entry for James Glasgow, Diocese of Belfast, residence Larne…
- Larne/Kilwaughter congregation register chronology
- Registry of Deeds Index Project, memorial 204122 (https://www.irishdeedsindex.net/mem.php?memorial=204122), deed dated…
Show 5 more source pages
- Registry of Deeds memorial and affidavit, sworn 27 October 1773, FamilySearch image…
- Registry of Deeds transcript, lease dated 10 September 1760 and registered 24 November 1763, FamilySearch image…
- Registry of Deeds, assignment dated 28 March 1768, FamilySearch image
- Registry of Deeds, memorial of Earl of Antrim lease to William Glasgow of Larne, made in 1737 and registered in 1739.…
- WikiTree profile export for Glasgow-1509
Latest findings about this person 3 findings
- The separate memorial 173108 records James Glasgow, ropemaker, assigning a messuage to John Hill on 28 March 1768; its witnessing James Glasgow is described as…
- An 1874 indenture traces James Glasgow’s 2 October 1779 Newtown of Larne lease to a 25 February 1832 renewal to Anne and Jane Glasgow.
- Memorial 173104 records James Glasgow, ropemaker, assigning the ropewalk and workhouse to John Hill on 28 March 1768; a second James Glasgow witnesses as…
Research and WikiTree study pages 5 pages
Mentioned in other people's research 8 people
- James Glasgow (Glasgow-3986)3 sections of notes
- Adam Glasgow2 sections of notes
- James Glasgow (Glasgow-3991)2 sections of notes
- John Glasgow and Mary Arthur2 sections of notes
- William Glasgow2 sections of notes
- Alexander Glasgow1 section of notes
- James Glasgow (Glasgow-1144)1 section of notes
- Older Alexander Glasgow1 section of notes
Original evidence and remaining gaps
Source findings
| Source | Finding | Assessment |
|---|---|---|
| Connor probate-index transcription, 1803; searchable through PRONI Name Search | James Glasgow, Larne, 1803. | Plausible match to the Larne man reported dead in 1802; the index names no relatives or occupation. |
| Reported St Cedma's memorial | James Glasgow, 1737–1802, with wife Janet Shutter. | Strong identity framework, but an image or full transcription should be cited. |
| Larne/Kilwaughter congregational timeline | A James, son of Hugh Glasgow, was recorded at New Town/Larne in 1737. | Probable match; use the original or a reliable full transcription before making parentage certain. |
| Belfast News-Letter, 2 and 16 January 1761 | Advertisements report that James Glasgow, ropemaker from Belfast, had erected a rope-walk at Larne. | Direct occupation/residence if the newspaper text is confirmed; exact identity not stated. |
| Registry memorial 204122, deed 14 May 1766 | James Glasgow, ropemaker of Larne, witnessed the deed and memorial. | Direct occupation and residence; no kinship. |
| Registry of Deeds memorial image, affidavit sworn 27 October 1773; memorial registered 15 November 1773 | Mr James Glasgow of Larne, County Antrim, gentleman, aged upwards of thirty, witnessed the articles and memorial and personally proved their execution at Ballyshannon. | Strong direct match to this older Larne man. The stated age excludes Glasgow-3991; no kinship is supplied. |
| Registry of Deeds memorial 278037, FamilySearch image 437, lease dated 14 January 1784; sworn 17 August and registered 23 August 1790 | The manuscript calls the Larne witness James Glasgow, Tanner. | Direct occupation/residence occurrence in the tanner sequence; strong candidate for James Glasgow-3991, and not evidence for this ropemaker. It names no relative. |
PRONI D2977/3A/4/25/13, 1 November 1786 |
Lease to James Glasgow, tanner of Larne, for about five acres at Blackcave. | Direct occupation/residence; probably the separate tanner Glasgow-3991, not this ropemaker. The individual identity remains qualified. |
| Alexander Holmes will transcription, will dated 5 June 1799; Registry memorial 345729, vol. 527, p. 136 | Gives Jane Holmes a field held with James Glasgow and Mary Holmes ground rent from houses occupied by James Glasgow, Roper in Old Town, Larne. |
Direct local association in a derivative will abstract; likely continuity with the 1761/1766 trade cluster, though a son or successor remains possible. |
| Bigger and Hughes, Larne Parish Churchyard inscriptions, published 1899 | James, explicitly son of Hugh and Ann Glasgow, died 14 April 1812 aged 64; wife Jane died 21 July 1820 aged 79. Their daughter Ann was also commemorated, apparently dying 25 May 1832, although the OCR renders the year inconsistently. | Strong competing direct relationship and chronology. It breaks the assumed identification of Hugh's adult son with a 1737-1802 James married to Janet; Ann's year requires inspection of the plate. |
| Same published inscription, lower Glasgow stone | Jane Shutter Glasgow, daughter of William, died 21 April 1799 aged nine months; William died 5 October 1816 aged 53; wife Elizabeth and daughters Eliza and Mary are also named. | Proves the younger household. The distinctive Shutter name strongly supports, but does not alone prove, William as son of James and Janet Shutter. |
The 1779–1832 property succession
Newtown title succession — 21 September 2026
The original recital in an indenture of 25 March 1874, registered 24 August 1874, traces James Glasgow's 2 October 1779 Newtown lease to a 25 February 1832 renewal to Anne Glasgow and Jane Glasgow. The 24-foot north-side tenement was formerly John English's and bounded by Hugh Glasgow's former tenement on the west. This is direct title succession, not a stated descent. Neither the 1779 James nor the women's identities are securely assigned. James-3991's wife Jane died 1820 and cannot automatically be the 1832 Jane; Ann-3992 is only a candidate for Anne. Inspect the 1832 renewal for relationship wording and intervening assignments.
The two 1768 assignments
Two distinct assignments — 21 September 2026
Two assignments by James Glasgow, ropemaker, to John Hill share the date 28 March 1768 and registration date 2 November 1768, but concern different leases:
- Memorial 173104, p. 510, image 258 assigns the ropewalk plot and workhouse, held for 31 years from 1 November 1760 at £1 14s 1½d yearly. The witness James Glasgow is explicitly Tanner, both in the witness clause and the affidavit; John Houston, merchant, is the other witness. This remains valid evidence for the separate tanner sequence, probably James Glasgow-3991.
- Memorial 173108, opening, image 259, with continuation p. 513, image 260, concerns a messuage held on a 60-year lease at £5 2s 6d yearly. Its witness James Glasgow is explicitly Farmer, repeated in the affidavit; John Houston, merchant, also witnesses this instrument.
Both original occupation readings were independently checked. The Farmer wording does not overturn the Tanner reading in the other deed. Whether the two witnesses were the same man with different descriptions or namesakes remains unresolved. The farmer is not assigned to the tanner or to the South Carolina settler from this record alone; neither assignment supplies kinship.
What the research found
These research notes were last revised on 7 October 2026.
Summary of the research
Overall conclusion
This profile is the working identity for the older Larne ropemaker/roper,
not the monument son of Hugh and Ann now represented separately by
James Glasgow (Glasgow-3991).
It is also already separate from James Glasgow-1504, the c.1707 husband of
Sarah Murray. The catalogue must not describe 1504 and 1509 as a conflated
profile.
The 1803 Connor probate is a plausible match to a James reportedly commemorated
as 1737-1802 with Janet Shutter, but neither the complete monument nor probate
contents has been recovered.
The 20 August deed reconstruction separates this ropemaker from the contemporary Larne tanner: the 1768 ropewalk assignment names both men. The 1778 affidavit and 1786 Blackcave tanner lease therefore do not evidence this profile. The 1784 lease, sworn and registered in 1790, also calls its witnessing James Glasgow a tanner; it belongs in that separate sequence, not this ropemaker's.
An earlier deed memorial supplies a much stronger identification. On 27
October 1773 James Glasgow of Larne, gentleman, swore at Ballyshannon, County
Donegal, that he had witnessed the underlying articles of agreement and their
memorial. He expressly stated that he was aged upwards of thirty years, placing
his birth before 27 October 1743. That excludes James Glasgow-3991, whose
monument places his birth in 1747/48, and strongly supports assignment to this
older Larne James. The record also proves that James was literate and alive in
1773; it does not name relatives.
The derivative congregation chronology records a James under Hugh in 1737. That
man is chronologically capable of establishing a ropewalk in 1761, but the
original entry has not been inspected. The current uncertain placement under
William Glasgow-1505 is also chronologically plausible but lacks a direct
father-son record. These are competing hypotheses; neither is presently preferred
strongly enough to remove a useful uncertain attachment.
James Glasgow, ropemaker, is independently documented at Larne in newspaper advertisements in 1761 and as a deed witness in 1766. Alexander Holmes's 1799 will refers to houses occupied by James Glasgow, apparently a roper, proving that a Larne namesake remained there after James-1144 had died in South Carolina.
The reported 1762 marriage to Janet Shutter and their parentage of William
Glasgow-3324 are probable, not proved. William's daughter Jane Shutter
Glasgow supplies unusually specific circumstantial support. James
Glasgow-3986, born about 1773, is a plausible later son and may explain why his
former direct attachment to the much older William-1505 looked generationally
compressed.
Tested relationship hypothesis — 13 September 2026
Hypothesis: this identifiable 1737 Larne ropemaker was the father of Adam
Glasgow of Inishrush (Glasgow-3902); Glasgow-3905 is only the existing
placeholder for that father role. Adam's c.1758 birth gives an ordinary age-21
father–son interval, and Adam's proved son James (c.1794) offers limited positive
naming support. The reported 1762 marriage to Janet Shutter is four years later
than Adam's birth, so the hypothesis requires an earlier mother, a premarital
birth, or an erroneous date; Janet must not be made Adam's mother. No inspected
record joins Larne to Inishrush or names the relationship. The two 1740 local
Hugh households and the older Adam-and-Maria naming model remain alternatives.
Older Alexander Glasgow-3904 fits more naturally as Adam's possible brother
than son: James c.1737 could have been about 33 at Alexander's estimated c.1770
birth, whereas Adam c.1758 was too young for the existing chronology. This is
only a reconstruction, not a basis to merge profiles or alter attachments.
What the records show
Source findingsSource Finding Assessment Connor probate-index transcription, 1803; searchable through PRONI Name Search James Glasgow, Larne, 1803.
| Source | Finding | Assessment |
|---|---|---|
| Connor probate-index transcription, 1803; searchable through PRONI Name Search | James Glasgow, Larne, 1803. | Plausible match to the Larne man reported dead in 1802; the index names no relatives or occupation. |
| Reported St Cedma's memorial | James Glasgow, 1737–1802, with wife Janet Shutter. | Strong identity framework, but an image or full transcription should be cited. |
| Larne/Kilwaughter congregational timeline | A James, son of Hugh Glasgow, was recorded at New Town/Larne in 1737. | Probable match; use the original or a reliable full transcription before making parentage certain. |
| Belfast News-Letter, 2 and 16 January 1761 | Advertisements report that James Glasgow, ropemaker from Belfast, had erected a rope-walk at Larne. | Direct occupation/residence if the newspaper text is confirmed; exact identity not stated. |
| Registry memorial 204122, deed 14 May 1766 | James Glasgow, ropemaker of Larne, witnessed the deed and memorial. | Direct occupation and residence; no kinship. |
| Registry of Deeds memorial image, affidavit sworn 27 October 1773; memorial registered 15 November 1773 | Mr James Glasgow of Larne, County Antrim, gentleman, aged upwards of thirty, witnessed the articles and memorial and personally proved their execution at Ballyshannon. | Strong direct match to this older Larne man. The stated age excludes Glasgow-3991; no kinship is supplied. |
| Registry of Deeds memorial 278037, FamilySearch image 437, lease dated 14 January 1784; sworn 17 August and registered 23 August 1790 | The manuscript calls the Larne witness James Glasgow, Tanner. | Direct occupation/residence occurrence in the tanner sequence; strong candidate for James Glasgow-3991, and not evidence for this ropemaker. It names no relative. |
PRONI D2977/3A/4/25/13, 1 November 1786 |
Lease to James Glasgow, tanner of Larne, for about five acres at Blackcave. | Direct occupation/residence; probably this profile, but not uniquely identified. |
| Alexander Holmes will transcription, will dated 5 June 1799; Registry memorial 345729, vol. 527, p. 136 | Gives Jane Holmes a field held with James Glasgow and Mary Holmes ground rent from houses occupied by James Glasgow, Roper in Old Town, Larne. |
Direct local association in a derivative will abstract; likely continuity with the 1761/1766 trade cluster, though a son or successor remains possible. |
| Bigger and Hughes, Larne Parish Churchyard inscriptions, published 1899 | James, explicitly son of Hugh and Ann Glasgow, died 14 April 1812 aged 64; wife Jane died 21 July 1820 aged 79. Their daughter Ann was also commemorated, apparently dying 25 May 1832, although the OCR renders the year inconsistently. | Strong competing direct relationship and chronology. It breaks the assumed identification of Hugh's adult son with a 1737-1802 James married to Janet; Ann's year requires inspection of the plate. |
| Same published inscription, lower Glasgow stone | Jane Shutter Glasgow, daughter of William, died 21 April 1799 aged nine months; William died 5 October 1816 aged 53; wife Elizabeth and daughters Eliza and Mary are also named. | Proves the younger household. The distinctive Shutter name strongly supports, but does not alone prove, William as son of James and Janet Shutter. |
Source findingsFindmypast sweep — 7 October 2026
- New: the ropemaker was still trading at the Larne rope-walk in September 1768. Belfast News-Letter, 2 September 1768, p. 2 (BNA article BL/0000038/17680902/013; the same advertisement ran on 6, 13, 16 and 20 September 1768). Full-page OCR read: "James Glasgow, at the Rope-walk, Larne, manufactures in the best Manner, and sells on the most reasonable Terms, for ready Money, Ships Rigging and Cables of all Sizes, Fishing Lines of all Sizes ...". He also sold sail-cloth, sail-needles, fishing-hooks, oakum, pitch and tar, "with many other Things in the Ship Chandling Way". It is dated "Sept. 2d, 1768" and ends: "N. B. Said Glasgow requests the Favour of all who are indebted to him on or before the 30th Day of April last to pay the same to him immediately." This was five months after the ropewalk assignment of 28 March 1768. The assignment therefore did not end his rope-making at Larne. The 30 April cut-off suggests his accounts were closed or reorganised about then, but the advertisement does not say why. It names no relatives.
- New: a James Glasgow of Larne was dead by 31 May 1802. Belfast News-Letter, 1 June 1802, p. 3 (BNA article BL/0000038/18020601/043). Full-page OCR read: "NOTICE. All Persons indebted to the late JAMES GLASGOW, Larne, are requested immediately to pay the same to Mr. ALEXANDER RITCHEY, who is legally authorized to receive the same; and all Persons to whom he was indebted, are requested to furnish their Accounts to the said Mr. A. RITCHEY. Larne, May 31." This is the first contemporary record of a Larne James Glasgow dying in 1802. It agrees with the reported but unseen St Cedma's dates (1737–1802) and with the 1803 Connor probate entry for James Glasgow of Larne. The notice gives no occupation, age, wife or heir, and it does not say whether Ritchey was executor, administrator or agent. The identification with the ropemaker is therefore probable, not proved. The notice cannot belong to the tanner James (Glasgow-3991, died 1812) or to the younger James (Glasgow-3986, reported died 1831). This record was not in the research corpus before this sweep.
- Minor: the 1761 rope-walk advertisement also ran on 13 and 20 January 1761 (BL/0006140/17610113/017 and BL/0006140/17610120/022). This adds to the 2 and 16 January issues already cited.
Identity and family
Registry of Deeds identity correction — 20 August 2026The Larne deed sequence separates the ropemaker from a contemporary tanner.
The Larne deed sequence separates the ropemaker from a contemporary tanner. They must not be combined merely because both were named James Glasgow.
The record-defined ropemaker is the strongest match for this profile:
- A lease dated 10 September 1760 and registered 24 November 1763 calls James Glasgow of Belfast a ropemaker and leases him a marked-out ropewalk at Gardenmore in Larne for 31 years from 1 November 1760. He agreed to build a house at the south end of the ropewalk. William Glasgow of Larne, merchant, and James Baggs, shoemaker, witnessed the lease.
- A 28 March 1768 assignment calls the leaseholder James Glasgow of the Old Town of Larne, ropemaker, and assigns the plot, workhouse and remainder of the same 31-year term to John Hill for £50. The matching commencement date and rent identify it as the 1760 ropewalk lease.
- The 1768 deed was witnessed by a different James Glasgow, explicitly described as a tanner. That witness is treated under
Glasgow-3991. - In the 1773 memorial and affidavit, Mr James Glasgow of Larne, gentleman, stated that he was aged upwards of thirty. This excludes
Glasgow-3991, born about 1747–1748, and is compatible with the older ropemaker. - Alexander Holmes's 1799 will later calls a Larne occupant James Glasgow a roper. The occupational continuity makes this profile the best match.
The 1778 tanner affidavit and 1786 Blackcave tanner lease should no longer be used as evidence for this profile. They form a separate occupational sequence that most probably belongs to Glasgow-3991.
The original memorial 278037, image 437 now settles the former automated “turner” reading: its 14 January 1784 lease calls the Larne witness James Glasgow tanner; the memorial was sworn 17 August and registered 23 August 1790. It strengthens the separate tanner sequence but supplies no kinship evidence.
The 1790 Larne and Kilwaughter mills conveyance, witnessed by James Glasgow and Charles McGarel, is compatible with this man and includes Alexander Holmes among the executing parties. It gives James no occupation, however, so it remains probable rather than conclusive.
Relationship assessment — the ropemaker and the Lisnagaver family, 6 October 2026
The hypothesis of 13 September is unchanged: James as father of Adam Glasgow-3902 of Inishrush is a working hypothesis with no record. For the Lisnagaver family it is a collateral question. Adam, born 1757/8, is too young to be the father of John Glasgow, farmer, the probable father of Alexander Glasgow-951, if Samuel Glasgow-2908 (born about 1789 to 1791) was John farmer's son.
The routes from James to Alexander through older Alexander Glasgow-3904 and younger James Glasgow-3986 are withdrawn as routes, because each puts a different man in John farmer's place. James himself as John farmer's father is unresolved: he was born before 27 October 1743, nothing names a son John, and the link is chronologically possible only. No relationship is changed. Full comparison.
Other research notes
Newtown title succession — 21 September 2026
The original recital in an indenture of 25 March 1874, registered 24 August 1874, traces James Glasgow's 2 October 1779 Newtown lease to a 25 February 1832 renewal to Anne Glasgow and Jane Glasgow. The 24-foot north-side tenement was formerly John English's and bounded by Hugh Glasgow's former tenement on the west. This is direct title succession, not a stated descent. Neither the 1779 James nor the women's identities are securely assigned. James-3991's wife Jane died 1820 and cannot automatically be the 1832 Jane; Ann-3992 is only a candidate for Anne. Inspect the 1832 renewal for relationship wording and intervening assignments.
Two distinct assignments — 21 September 2026Two assignments by James Glasgow, ropemaker, to John Hill share the date 28 March 1768 and registration date 2 November 1768 , but concern different leases: Memorial 173104, p.
Two assignments by James Glasgow, ropemaker, to John Hill share the date 28 March 1768 and registration date 2 November 1768, but concern different leases:
- Memorial 173104, p. 510, image 258 assigns the ropewalk plot and workhouse, held for 31 years from 1 November 1760 at £1 14s 1½d yearly. The witness James Glasgow is explicitly Tanner, both in the witness clause and the affidavit; John Houston, merchant, is the other witness. This remains valid evidence for the separate tanner sequence, probably James Glasgow-3991.
- Memorial 173108, opening, image 259, with continuation p. 513, image 260, concerns a messuage held on a 60-year lease at £5 2s 6d yearly. Its witness James Glasgow is explicitly Farmer, repeated in the affidavit; John Houston, merchant, also witnesses this instrument.
Both original occupation readings were independently checked. The Farmer wording does not overturn the Tanner reading in the other deed. Whether the two witnesses were the same man with different descriptions or namesakes remains unresolved. The farmer is not assigned to the tanner or to the South Carolina settler from this record alone; neither assignment supplies kinship.
Still open
Questions the records have not yet answered, suggested next searches and suggested corrections.
WikiTree recommendations
- Retain the 1803 probate event for the 1802 Larne man as a possible identity match, but do not use it to prove a father, wife or child.
- Retain death in 1802 if supported by the memorial; do not replace it with the probate year.
- Add Larne as death place only if the memorial or another death source says so, not from probate residence alone.
- Keep Glasgow-3991 separate from this profile. Inspect the original 1737 entry, reported James-Janet monument and 1762 marriage before upgrading either the William-1505 or Hugh-1503 parent hypothesis.
- Treat the 1784/1790 James Glasgow occurrence as the separately documented tanner, not as evidence for this ropemaker.
- Retain Glasgow-3324 and Glasgow-3986 as reasonable working children, with the former assessed probable and the latter uncertain.
Suggested edit summary: Add the 1803 Larne probate match while retaining the memorial's 1802 death year.
Unresolved Larne same-name records
These memorials are useful locality and associate evidence but cannot yet be assigned to the ropemaker, tanner or younger merchant:
| Date | Record | Why unresolved |
|---|---|---|
| 1772 | Newtown of Larne lease witnessed by James Glasgow and Nathan North | James has no occupation or relationship; both older Larne men were adults. |
| 1772–1773 | Abbey Hill tenement occupied by James Glasgow | The record proves a same-name occupier in Glenarm but gives no trade or family. |
| 1781 | Assignment witnessed by James Glasgow and Samuel Weir | The witness is only described as of Larne. |
| 1790 | Larne and Kilwaughter mills conveyance | Alexander Holmes supports the ropemaker candidate, but James is only a witness and has no occupation. |
The 1795 Larne merchant and 1797 James Glasgow junior are separately recorded under Glasgow-3986 as strong but not proved matches.
Recommended correction — vital dates, 6 October 2026
Birth: before 27 October 1743 (sworn "aged upwards of thirty years" on that date in a Registry of Deeds affidavit; project reading); by about 1740 if he is the ropemaker who set up a rope-walk at Larne in January 1761. The year 1737 comes from a derivative chronology and a reported St Cedma's stone that has not been seen. The Larne monument has Hugh and Ann's son James born in 1747/8 and living to 1812, so a James born to them in 1737 must have died young if the register entry is right; the ropemaker's identity with that child is unproved.
Death: 1802 as reported from that stone (unverified); a James Glasgow of Larne has a Connor probate-index entry in 1803.
These are proposals for the WikiTree date fields and are queued for review; nothing has been changed on WikiTree.
Family and relationships
Unless a link is marked otherwise, the family links below come from the WikiTree family tree and have not yet been checked against original records.
How to read the evidence What “Documented”, “Probable”, “Possible” and “Unassessed tree link” mean.
Parents 1William Glasgowc. 1708–c. 1783
| Person and dates | Relationship | Current assessment | Why this relationship is shown |
|---|---|---|---|
| William Glasgow c. 1708–c. 1783 | father | Possible father | The maintained research assesses this relationship; the linked record and qualification explain what is established. |
Spouse or partner 1Janet Shutterc. 1740–date not established
| Person and dates | Relationship | Current assessment | Why this relationship is shown |
|---|---|---|---|
| Janet Shutter c. 1740–date not established | spouse | Unassessed partner link | From the family tree; not yet checked against records. |
Children 2William Glasgow1763–1816James Glasgow1773–1831
| Person and dates | Relationship | Current assessment | Why this relationship is shown |
|---|---|---|---|
| William Glasgow 1763–1816 | son | Probable son | The maintained research assesses this relationship; the linked record and qualification explain what is established. |
| James Glasgow 1773–1831 | son | Possible son | The maintained research assesses this relationship; the linked record and qualification explain what is established. |
Life and records
Explore the dated recordsChronology, roles and locations
Historical chronology
Birth
Subject
Life eventsChild of Hugh Glasgow at New Town / Larne
Record association
Records mentioning this personRecord detail
The derivative congregation-register chronology records James in Hugh's New Town household in 1737; later occupation and probate evidence is separately mapped.
Registry of Deeds memorial 204122
Record association
Records mentioning this personRecord detail
Named as a ropemaker of Larne in an assignment registered in 1775.
Death
Subject
Life eventsBelfast probate; residence Larne
Record association
Records mentioning this personRecord detail
James-1509 reportedly died in 1802; probate in 1803 at Larne is a strong fit.
Sources
Browse 3 source recordsReferences and source limitations
Child of Hugh Glasgow at New Town / Larne
1737 · New Town — Larne · Source association
The derivative congregation-register chronology records James in Hugh's New Town household in 1737; later occupation and probate evidence is separately mapped.
Registry of Deeds memorial 204122
14 May 1766 · Larne · Source association
Named as a ropemaker of Larne in an assignment registered in 1775.
Belfast probate; residence Larne
1803 · Larne · Source association
James-1509 reportedly died in 1802; probate in 1803 at Larne is a strong fit.
Each entry is a separately identified record. Shared URLs may represent one transcription or search page containing more than one record; they are not independent confirmations.
WikiTree comparison and complete revised profile
Open complete contentOriginal notes and downloadsNotes as written, replaced interpretations, comparisons and data exports
The material the page is built from: research notes as originally written, earlier interpretations that have been replaced, automated comparisons and data downloads. The account above is the current one; nothing here overrides it.
Research notes as originally written
Current conclusion
[Compare the Larne, Inishrush and American family reconstruction](/people/glasgow-951.html#larne-reconstruction), including the alternative immediate-parent routes and their source tests. This profile is the working identity for the **older Larne ropemaker/roper**, not the monument son of Hugh and Ann now represented separately by [James Glasgow (Glasgow-3991)](https://www.wikitree.com/wiki/Glasgow-3991). It is also already separate from James `Glasgow-1504`, the c.1707 husband of Sarah Murray. The catalogue must not describe 1504 and 1509 as a conflated profile. The 1803 Connor probate is a plausible match to a James reportedly commemorated as 1737-1802 with Janet Shutter, but neither the complete monument nor probate contents has been recovered. The 20 August deed reconstruction separates this ropemaker from the contemporary Larne tanner: the 1768 ropewalk assignment names both men. The 1778 affidavit and 1786 Blackcave tanner lease therefore do not evidence this profile. The 1784 lease, sworn and registered in 1790, also calls its witnessing James Glasgow a **tanner**; it belongs in that separate sequence, not this ropemaker's. An earlier deed memorial supplies a much stronger identification. On 27 October 1773 James Glasgow of Larne, gentleman, swore at Ballyshannon, County Donegal, that he had witnessed the underlying articles of agreement and their memorial. He expressly stated that he was aged upwards of thirty years, placing his birth before 27 October 1743. That excludes James `Glasgow-3991`, whose monument places his birth in 1747/48, and strongly supports assignment to this older Larne James. The record also proves that James was literate and alive in 1773; it does not name relatives. The derivative congregation chronology records a James under Hugh in 1737. That man is chronologically capable of establishing a ropewalk in 1761, but the original entry has not been inspected. The current uncertain placement under William `Glasgow-1505` is also chronologically plausible but lacks a direct father-son record. These are competing hypotheses; neither is presently preferred strongly enough to remove a useful uncertain attachment. James Glasgow, ropemaker, is independently documented at Larne in newspaper advertisements in 1761 and as a deed witness in 1766. Alexander Holmes's 1799 will refers to houses occupied by James Glasgow, apparently a roper, proving that a Larne namesake remained there after James-1144 had died in South Carolina. The reported 1762 marriage to Janet Shutter and their parentage of William `Glasgow-3324` are **probable**, not proved. William's daughter **Jane Shutter Glasgow** supplies unusually specific circumstantial support. James `Glasgow-3986`, born about 1773, is a plausible later son and may explain why his former direct attachment to the much older William-1505 looked generationally compressed. ### Tested relationship hypothesis — 13 September 2026 **Hypothesis:** this identifiable 1737 Larne ropemaker was the father of Adam Glasgow of Inishrush (`Glasgow-3902`); `Glasgow-3905` is only the existing placeholder for that father role. Adam's c.1758 birth gives an ordinary age-21 father–son interval, and Adam's proved son James (c.1794) offers limited positive naming support. The reported 1762 marriage to Janet Shutter is four years later than Adam's birth, so the hypothesis requires an earlier mother, a premarital birth, or an erroneous date; Janet must not be made Adam's mother. No inspected record joins Larne to Inishrush or names the relationship. The two 1740 local Hugh households and the older Adam-and-Maria naming model remain alternatives. Older Alexander `Glasgow-3904` fits more naturally as Adam's possible brother than son: James c.1737 could have been about 33 at Alexander's estimated c.1770 birth, whereas Adam c.1758 was too young for the existing chronology. This is only a reconstruction, not a basis to merge profiles or alter attachments.
Source findings
| Source | Finding | Assessment | | --- | --- | --- | | Connor probate-index transcription, 1803; searchable through [PRONI Name Search](https://apps.proni.gov.uk/ProniNames_IE/SearchPage.aspx) | James Glasgow, Larne, 1803. | Plausible match to the Larne man reported dead in 1802; the index names no relatives or occupation. | | Reported St Cedma's memorial | James Glasgow, 1737–1802, with wife Janet Shutter. | Strong identity framework, but an image or full transcription should be cited. | | Larne/Kilwaughter congregational timeline | A James, son of Hugh Glasgow, was recorded at New Town/Larne in 1737. | Probable match; use the original or a reliable full transcription before making parentage certain. | | *Belfast News-Letter*, 2 and 16 January 1761 | Advertisements report that James Glasgow, ropemaker from Belfast, had erected a rope-walk at Larne. | Direct occupation/residence if the newspaper text is confirmed; exact identity not stated. | | [Registry memorial 204122](https://www.irishdeedsindex.net/mem.php?memorial=204122), deed 14 May 1766 | James Glasgow, ropemaker of Larne, witnessed the deed and memorial. | Direct occupation and residence; no kinship. | | [Registry of Deeds memorial image](https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:3Q9M-CSH3-M72W-M), affidavit sworn 27 October 1773; memorial registered 15 November 1773 | Mr James Glasgow of Larne, County Antrim, gentleman, aged upwards of thirty, witnessed the articles and memorial and personally proved their execution at Ballyshannon. | Strong direct match to this older Larne man. The stated age excludes `Glasgow-3991`; no kinship is supplied. | | [Registry of Deeds memorial 278037, FamilySearch image 437](https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:3Q9M-CSJ4-4SJF), lease dated 14 January 1784; sworn 17 August and registered 23 August 1790 | The manuscript calls the Larne witness **James Glasgow, Tanner**. | Direct occupation/residence occurrence in the tanner sequence; strong candidate for James `Glasgow-3991`, and not evidence for this ropemaker. It names no relative. | | PRONI `D2977/3A/4/25/13`, 1 November 1786 | Lease to James Glasgow, tanner of Larne, for about five acres at Blackcave. | Direct occupation/residence; probably this profile, but not uniquely identified. | | [Alexander Holmes will transcription](https://holmes-history.com/antrim/), will dated 5 June 1799; Registry memorial 345729, vol. 527, p. 136 | Gives Jane Holmes a field held with James Glasgow and Mary Holmes ground rent from houses occupied by `James Glasgow, Roper` in Old Town, Larne. | Direct local association in a derivative will abstract; likely continuity with the 1761/1766 trade cluster, though a son or successor remains possible. | | [Bigger and Hughes, Larne Parish Churchyard inscriptions](https://archive.org/stream/ulsterjournalofa06ulstiala/ulsterjournalofa06ulstiala_djvu.txt), published 1899 | James, explicitly son of Hugh and Ann Glasgow, died 14 April 1812 aged 64; wife Jane died 21 July 1820 aged 79. Their daughter Ann was also commemorated, apparently dying 25 May 1832, although the OCR renders the year inconsistently. | Strong competing direct relationship and chronology. It breaks the assumed identification of Hugh's adult son with a 1737-1802 James married to Janet; Ann's year requires inspection of the plate. | | Same published inscription, lower Glasgow stone | Jane Shutter Glasgow, daughter of William, died 21 April 1799 aged nine months; William died 5 October 1816 aged 53; wife Elizabeth and daughters Eliza and Mary are also named. | Proves the younger household. The distinctive `Shutter` name strongly supports, but does not alone prove, William as son of James and Janet Shutter. |
WikiTree recommendations
1. Retain the 1803 probate event for the 1802 Larne man as a possible identity match, but do not use it to prove a father, wife or child. 2. Retain death in **1802** if supported by the memorial; do not replace it with the probate year. 3. Add Larne as death place only if the memorial or another death source says so, not from probate residence alone. 4. Keep Glasgow-3991 separate from this profile. Inspect the original 1737 entry, reported James-Janet monument and 1762 marriage before upgrading either the William-1505 or Hugh-1503 parent hypothesis. 5. Treat the 1784/1790 James Glasgow occurrence as the separately documented tanner, not as evidence for this ropemaker. 6. Retain Glasgow-3324 and Glasgow-3986 as reasonable working children, with the former assessed probable and the latter uncertain. Suggested edit summary: `Add the 1803 Larne probate match while retaining the memorial's 1802 death year.`
Registry of Deeds identity correction — 20 August 2026
The Larne deed sequence separates the ropemaker from a contemporary tanner. They must not be combined merely because both were named James Glasgow. The record-defined ropemaker is the strongest match for this profile: - A [lease dated 10 September 1760 and registered 24 November 1763](https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:3Q9M-CSH3-S7XZ-8) calls James Glasgow of Belfast a ropemaker and leases him a marked-out ropewalk at Gardenmore in Larne for 31 years from 1 November 1760. He agreed to build a house at the south end of the ropewalk. William Glasgow of Larne, merchant, and James Baggs, shoemaker, witnessed the lease. - A [28 March 1768 assignment](https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:3Q9M-CSJW-DDXW) calls the leaseholder James Glasgow of the Old Town of Larne, **ropemaker**, and assigns the plot, workhouse and remainder of the same 31-year term to John Hill for £50. The matching commencement date and rent identify it as the 1760 ropewalk lease. - The 1768 deed was witnessed by a **different** James Glasgow, explicitly described as a tanner. That witness is treated under `Glasgow-3991`. - In the [1773 memorial and affidavit](https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:3Q9M-CSH3-M72W-M), Mr James Glasgow of Larne, gentleman, stated that he was aged upwards of thirty. This excludes `Glasgow-3991`, born about 1747–1748, and is compatible with the older ropemaker. - Alexander Holmes's 1799 will later calls a Larne occupant James Glasgow a roper. The occupational continuity makes this profile the best match. The 1778 tanner affidavit and 1786 Blackcave tanner lease should no longer be used as evidence for this profile. They form a separate occupational sequence that most probably belongs to `Glasgow-3991`. The original [memorial 278037, image 437](https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:3Q9M-CSJ4-4SJF) now settles the former automated “turner” reading: its 14 January 1784 lease calls the Larne witness James Glasgow **tanner**; the memorial was sworn 17 August and registered 23 August 1790. It strengthens the separate tanner sequence but supplies no kinship evidence. The [1790 Larne and Kilwaughter mills conveyance](https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:3Q9M-CSJ4-331B), witnessed by James Glasgow and Charles McGarel, is compatible with this man and includes Alexander Holmes among the executing parties. It gives James no occupation, however, so it remains probable rather than conclusive.
Unresolved Larne same-name records
These memorials are useful locality and associate evidence but cannot yet be assigned to the ropemaker, tanner or younger merchant: | Date | Record | Why unresolved | | --- | --- | --- | | 1772 | [Newtown of Larne lease witnessed by James Glasgow and Nathan North](https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:3Q9M-CSHM-P6YQ) | James has no occupation or relationship; both older Larne men were adults. | | 1772–1773 | [Abbey Hill tenement occupied by James Glasgow](https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:3Q9M-CSJW-H9D2-B) | The record proves a same-name occupier in Glenarm but gives no trade or family. | | 1781 | [Assignment witnessed by James Glasgow and Samuel Weir](https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:3Q9M-CSJW-B9R2-4) | The witness is only described as of Larne. | | 1790 | [Larne and Kilwaughter mills conveyance](https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:3Q9M-CSJ4-331B) | Alexander Holmes supports the ropemaker candidate, but James is only a witness and has no occupation. | The [1795 Larne merchant](https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:3Q9M-CSH3-Q9B8-H) and [1797 James Glasgow junior](https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:3Q9M-CSH3-Q96R-C) are separately recorded under `Glasgow-3986` as strong but not proved matches.
Newtown title succession — 21 September 2026
The original recital in an [indenture of 25 March 1874](https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:3Q9M-CS54-77Q4-H), registered 24 August 1874, traces James Glasgow's 2 October 1779 Newtown lease to a 25 February 1832 renewal to Anne Glasgow and Jane Glasgow. The 24-foot north-side tenement was formerly John English's and bounded by Hugh Glasgow's former tenement on the west. This is direct title succession, not a stated descent. Neither the 1779 James nor the women's identities are securely assigned. James-3991's wife Jane died 1820 and cannot automatically be the 1832 Jane; Ann-3992 is only a candidate for Anne. Inspect the 1832 renewal for relationship wording and intervening assignments.
Two distinct assignments — 21 September 2026
Two assignments by James Glasgow, ropemaker, to John Hill share the date **28 March 1768** and registration date **2 November 1768**, but concern different leases: - [Memorial 173104, p. 510, image 258](https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:3Q9M-CSJW-DDXW) assigns the ropewalk plot and workhouse, held for 31 years from 1 November 1760 at £1 14s 1½d yearly. The witness James Glasgow is explicitly **Tanner**, both in the witness clause and the affidavit; John Houston, merchant, is the other witness. This remains valid evidence for the separate tanner sequence, probably James Glasgow-3991. - [Memorial 173108, opening, image 259](https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:3Q9M-CSJW-DDD6), with [continuation p. 513, image 260](https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:3Q9M-CSJW-DDDL), concerns a messuage held on a 60-year lease at £5 2s 6d yearly. Its witness James Glasgow is explicitly **Farmer**, repeated in the affidavit; John Houston, merchant, also witnesses this instrument. Both original occupation readings were independently checked. The Farmer wording does not overturn the Tanner reading in the other deed. Whether the two witnesses were the same man with different descriptions or namesakes remains unresolved. The farmer is not assigned to the tanner or to the South Carolina settler from this record alone; neither assignment supplies kinship.
Recommended correction — vital dates, 6 October 2026
**Birth: before 27 October 1743** (sworn "aged upwards of thirty years" on that date in a Registry of Deeds affidavit; project reading); by about 1740 if he is the ropemaker who set up a rope-walk at Larne in January 1761. The year 1737 comes from a derivative chronology and a reported St Cedma's stone that has not been seen. The Larne monument has Hugh and Ann's son James born in 1747/8 and living to 1812, so a James born to them in 1737 must have died young if the register entry is right; the ropemaker's identity with that child is unproved. **Death: 1802 as reported from that stone** (unverified); a James Glasgow of Larne has a Connor probate-index entry in 1803. These are proposals for the WikiTree date fields and are queued for review; nothing has been changed on WikiTree.
Relationship assessment — the ropemaker and the Lisnagaver family, 6 October 2026
The hypothesis of 13 September is unchanged: James as father of Adam Glasgow-3902 of Inishrush is a working hypothesis with no record. For the Lisnagaver family it is a collateral question. Adam, born 1757/8, is too young to be the father of John Glasgow, farmer, the probable father of Alexander Glasgow-951, if Samuel Glasgow-2908 (born about 1789 to 1791) was John farmer's son. The routes from James to Alexander through older Alexander Glasgow-3904 and younger James Glasgow-3986 are withdrawn as routes, because each puts a different man in John farmer's place. James himself as John farmer's father is unresolved: he was born before 27 October 1743, nothing names a son John, and the link is chronologically possible only. No relationship is changed. [Full comparison](/people/glasgow-951.html#larne-reconstruction).
Source findings
### Findmypast sweep — 7 October 2026 - **New: the ropemaker was still trading at the Larne rope-walk in September 1768.** *Belfast News-Letter*, 2 September 1768, p. 2 (BNA article BL/0000038/17680902/013; the same advertisement ran on 6, 13, 16 and 20 September 1768). Full-page OCR read: "James Glasgow, at the Rope-walk, Larne, manufactures in the best Manner, and sells on the most reasonable Terms, for ready Money, Ships Rigging and Cables of all Sizes, Fishing Lines of all Sizes ...". He also sold sail-cloth, sail-needles, fishing-hooks, oakum, pitch and tar, "with many other Things in the Ship Chandling Way". It is dated "Sept. 2d, 1768" and ends: "N. B. Said Glasgow requests the Favour of all who are indebted to him on or before the 30th Day of April last to pay the same to him immediately." This was five months after the ropewalk assignment of 28 March 1768. The assignment therefore did not end his rope-making at Larne. The 30 April cut-off suggests his accounts were closed or reorganised about then, but the advertisement does not say why. It names no relatives. - **New: a James Glasgow of Larne was dead by 31 May 1802.** *Belfast News-Letter*, 1 June 1802, p. 3 (BNA article BL/0000038/18020601/043). Full-page OCR read: "NOTICE. All Persons indebted to the late JAMES GLASGOW, Larne, are requested immediately to pay the same to Mr. ALEXANDER RITCHEY, who is legally authorized to receive the same; and all Persons to whom he was indebted, are requested to furnish their Accounts to the said Mr. A. RITCHEY. Larne, May 31." This is the first contemporary record of a Larne James Glasgow dying in 1802. It agrees with the reported but unseen St Cedma's dates (1737–1802) and with the 1803 Connor probate entry for James Glasgow of Larne. The notice gives no occupation, age, wife or heir, and it does not say whether Ritchey was executor, administrator or agent. The identification with the ropemaker is therefore probable, not proved. The notice cannot belong to the tanner James (Glasgow-3991, died 1812) or to the younger James (Glasgow-3986, reported died 1831). This record was not in the research corpus before this sweep. - Minor: the 1761 rope-walk advertisement also ran on 13 and 20 January 1761 (BL/0006140/17610113/017 and BL/0006140/17610120/022). This adds to the 2 and 16 January issues already cited.
Automated parent comparison (research aid, not a recommendation)
Stored scores are preserved for audit only. They are not probabilities or genealogical evidence, and a reviewed exclusion remains excluded.
- Sarah (Murray) Glasgow: 38/100 · Stored classification: weak lead
- William Glasgow: 25/100 · Stored classification: weak lead
- James Glasgow: 13/100 · Stored classification: weak lead
- James Glasgow: 6/100 · Stored classification: weak lead
- Susannah (Dauge) Glasgow: 6/100 · Stored classification: weak lead
- James Glasgow: 5/100 · Stored classification: weak lead
- Jane (Love) Glasgow: 3/100 · Stored classification: weak lead
- William Glasgow: 2/100 · Stored classification: weak lead
- Unknown (Mitchell) Glasgow: 0/100 · Stored classification: weak lead
- Mary (Harkness) Glasgow: 0/100 · Stored classification: weak lead
Research data and downloads
Person data (JSON) · Family network
{
"id": "Glasgow-1509",
"vitals": {
"birth": {
"date": "1737",
"place": "County Antrim, Ireland",
"status": "uncertain"
},
"death": {
"date": "1802",
"place": null,
"status": "uncertain"
}
},
"relationships": {
"parents": [
{
"id": "Glasgow-1505",
"name": "William Glasgow",
"relationship": "father",
"status": "possible",
"status_label": "Working; low",
"basis": "research_assessment",
"evidence_ids": [
"E-c6c58a9a4d60"
],
"tree_relationship": true,
"relationship_source": "wikitree_parent_field",
"tree_status": "uncertain",
"tree_status_label": "WikiTree: uncertain parent",
"url": "/people/glasgow-1505.html",
"json_url": "/people/glasgow-1505.json",
"network_url": "/people/glasgow-1505.network.json",
"wikitree_url": "https://www.wikitree.com/wiki/Glasgow-1505",
"claim_id": "C-894dd9b076b8"
}
],
"spouses": [
{
"id": "Shutter-46",
"name": "Janet Shutter",
"relationship": "spouse",
"status": "unknown",
"status_label": "WikiTree tree relationship",
"basis": "tree",
"evidence_ids": [],
"tree_relationship": true,
"relationship_source": "wikitree_spouse_field",
"tree_status": "unmarked",
"tree_status_label": "WikiTree: relationship status unmarked",
"url": "/people/shutter-46.html",
"json_url": "/people/shutter-46.json",
"network_url": "/people/shutter-46.network.json",
"wikitree_url": "https://www.wikitree.com/wiki/Shutter-46",
"claim_id": "C-91fd6f09f46d"
}
],
"children": [
{
"id": "Glasgow-3986",
"name": "James Glasgow",
"relationship": "son",
"status": "possible",
"status_label": "Working; low-to-moderate",
"basis": "research_assessment",
"evidence_ids": [
"E-dd4adc80097f"
],
"tree_relationship": true,
"relationship_source": "reconstructed_parent_reference",
"tree_status": "unmarked",
"tree_status_label": "WikiTree: relationship status unmarked",
"url": "/people/glasgow-3986.html",
"json_url": "/people/glasgow-3986.json",
"network_url": "/people/glasgow-3986.network.json",
"wikitree_url": "https://www.wikitree.com/wiki/Glasgow-3986",
"claim_id": "C-fac7f5faaf4d"
},
{
"id": "Glasgow-3324",
"name": "William Glasgow",
"relationship": "son",
"status": "probable",
"status_label": "Probable; distinctive Shutter name",
"basis": "research_assessment",
"evidence_ids": [
"E-b2e0176a337e"
],
"tree_relationship": true,
"relationship_source": "reconstructed_parent_reference",
"tree_status": "unmarked",
"tree_status_label": "WikiTree: relationship status unmarked",
"url": "/people/glasgow-3324.html",
"json_url": "/people/glasgow-3324.json",
"network_url": "/people/glasgow-3324.network.json",
"wikitree_url": "https://www.wikitree.com/wiki/Glasgow-3324",
"claim_id": "C-8861ac16ea22"
}
],
"siblings": []
},
"claims": [
{
"id": "C-f0dadaad4036",
"type": "recorded_occurrence",
"subject_ids": [
"Glasgow-1509"
],
"claim": "James Glasgow was recorded in New Town — Larne (1737).",
"status": "proved",
"status_label": "Documented derivative register",
"evidence_ids": [
"E-f0dadaad4036"
],
"notes": "Child of Hugh Glasgow at New Town / Larne",
"provenance": "mapped_record"
},
{
"id": "C-7f1c63472635",
"type": "recorded_occurrence",
"subject_ids": [
"Glasgow-1509"
],
"claim": "James Glasgow was recorded in Larne (14 May 1766).",
"status": "proved",
"status_label": "Documented occurrence",
"evidence_ids": [
"E-7f1c63472635"
],
"notes": "Registry of Deeds memorial 204122",
"provenance": "mapped_record"
},
{
"id": "C-25554ba31742",
"type": "recorded_occurrence",
"subject_ids": [
"Glasgow-1509"
],
"claim": "James Glasgow was recorded in Larne (1803).",
"status": "probable",
"status_label": "Probable probate-profile match",
"evidence_ids": [
"E-25554ba31742"
],
"notes": "Belfast probate; residence Larne",
"provenance": "mapped_record"
},
{
"id": "C-894dd9b076b8",
"type": "relationship",
"subject_ids": [
"Glasgow-1509",
"Glasgow-1505"
],
"claim": "James Glasgow was possible son of William Glasgow",
"status": "possible",
"status_label": "Working; low",
"evidence_ids": [
"E-c6c58a9a4d60"
],
"notes": "William was an adult Larne occupier by 1736 and could be James's father, but no baptism, deed, will or monument states the relationship. The 1737 Hugh entry is a competing hypothesis.",
"provenance": "surname-research/indexes/relationship-hypotheses.md"
},
{
"id": "C-8861ac16ea22",
"type": "relationship",
"subject_ids": [
"Glasgow-3324",
"Glasgow-1509"
],
"claim": "William Glasgow was probable son of James Glasgow",
"status": "probable",
"status_label": "Probable; distinctive Shutter name",
"evidence_ids": [
"E-b2e0176a337e"
],
"notes": "The published Larne monument calls infant Jane Shutter Glasgow William's daughter. This strongly corroborates the derivative 1762 James-Janet marriage and c.1763 William placement, but does not explicitly name William's parents.",
"provenance": "surname-research/indexes/relationship-hypotheses.md"
},
{
"id": "C-fac7f5faaf4d",
"type": "relationship",
"subject_ids": [
"Glasgow-3986",
"Glasgow-1509"
],
"claim": "James Glasgow was possible son of James Glasgow",
"status": "possible",
"status_label": "Working; low-to-moderate",
"evidence_ids": [
"E-dd4adc80097f"
],
"notes": "Birth about eleven years after the reported James-Janet marriage fits naturally and avoids the roughly 65-year gap created by direct placement under William-1505. No direct child record or complete shared monument has been recovered.",
"provenance": "surname-research/indexes/relationship-hypotheses.md"
},
{
"id": "C-91fd6f09f46d",
"type": "tree_relationship",
"subject_ids": [
"Glasgow-1509",
"Shutter-46"
],
"claim": "WikiTree currently connects James Glasgow and Janet Shutter as spouse.",
"status": "unknown",
"status_label": "WikiTree tree relationship",
"evidence_ids": [],
"notes": "Tree structure only; no documentary conclusion is implied.",
"provenance": "wikitree_spouse_field"
}
],
"research_assessments": null,
"shared_relationship_assertions": null,
"relationship_history": null
}